Chevron Left
返回到 天文科技:天文学发现背后的科技

學生對 爱丁堡大学 提供的 天文科技:天文学发现背后的科技 的評價和反饋

4.7
938 個評分
265 條評論

課程概述

"How do they know that?" Modern astronomy has made some astonishing discoveries - how stars burn and how black holes form; galaxies from the edge of the universe and killer rocks right next door; where the elements come from and how the expanding universe is accelerating. But how do we know all that? The truth is that astronomy would be impossible without technology, and every advance in astronomy is really an advance in technology. But the technology by itself is not enough. We have to apply it critically with a knowledge of physics to unlock the secrets of the Universe. Each week we will cover a different aspect of Astronomical technology, matching each piece of technology to a highlight science result. We will explain how the technology works, how it has allowed us to collect astronomical data, and, with some basic physics, how we interpret the data to make scientific discoveries. The class will consist of video lectures, weekly quizzes, and discussion forums. Each week there will be five videos, totalling approximately 40 minutes. They will be in a regular pattern - a short introduction, an example science story, an explanation of the key technology area, a look at how the technology is used in practice, and finally a look at what the future may hold....

熱門審閱

EM
2020年6月7日

After completing the course, I was able to understand better some concepts in astronomy such as dark matter and dark energy as well as the technologies that helped uncover more truths in our universe.

BJ
2020年9月22日

The course was amazing especially when the instructor was explaining by using experiment instruments above all the way the instructors has taught me has completely made me understand the concepts.

篩選依據:

26 - 天文科技:天文学发现背后的科技 的 50 個評論(共 263 個)

創建者 antonio b

2019年8月4日

Very good teaching style. Good integration of video snippet, resources, exercise. Quiz are medium difficulty, but good. Of course this course scratch the huge topic of modern astronomy: I am pretty sure that 3 to 4 courses like this might give a more that satisfactory overview of the current astronomy challenges. I will be more that willing to pay for getting an official grade on the topic.

創建者 Felipe C

2018年4月26日

Congratulations to the instructors for putting together such a dynamic and informative course. Catherine and Andy are well prepared for the lessons and talk in a very clear manner - including examples and demonstrations whenever possible. I feel like now I know the answer to most of the stuff I used to ask when learning about astronomical discoveries; i.e. "how do they know that?"

創建者 RICHABEN M

2020年5月30日

I learn number of thing from this course. I got knowledge about astronomy and astrophysics. It also have explained abou detector and telescope. In this course I learn about dark matter and dark energy which is amazing concept about universe. And also It is mystery to explaine about full concept. Thank you thank you so much for this stage. I really love this course and coursera.

創建者 Rashmi R K

2020年4月5日

This course was amazing. It gave a beautiful insight into the technology behind Astronomical studies. This course is very helpful for beginner astronomy students. I am extremely thankful to the instructors who came up with beautiful discussions. I really learned a lot of amazing things in a fun way. I enjoyed this course very much. Thank you.

創建者 OMKAR S

2020年4月23日

It's an best starting knowledge package for those who are seen the beautiful Dream for working in the field of astronomy. As this course includes very basic and essential things to perform Astronomical Discovery hunt. Thanks Coursera and the mentors Mr. Andy Lawrence and Ms. Catherine Heymans in this course for plotting the same...

創建者 Azam N

2020年5月5日

I am very happy to take this course. This course is great for anyone interested in astronomy, especially newcomers to know the technological advances used. I will always review this course to increase my knowledge. Thanks to all the speakers who are willing to teach this course online. Thanks again. With my warmest regards.

創建者 Tina A

2019年11月24日

If you wanna learn about science and technology for discovery astromical, this course its for you. On this six week's you will learn about science, telescopes, stars, black holes, galaxies, how we can see the most beautifulls images from the galaxies, dark energy and matter.

Join the course! Knowledge is never too much!

創建者 Michael M

2021年2月14日

This course clearly and succinctly explains the relationship between technology and its impact on our expanding knowledge of astronomy. As an amateur astronomer who spends a lot of time imaging various objects in the night sky, this course gave me a much better understanding of the equipment and processes that I use.

創建者 Deep B

2020年6月15日

I recommend this course to all the budding astronomers who want to gain more knowledge in this field. The course is slow placed, which gives you plenty of time to do extra research on particular topics and the quizzes are just perfect, as it covers all the knowledge you gained in that weekly session.

創建者 David G

2022年1月2日

P​rofessors Andy Lawrence and Catherine Heymans make it a joy to learn more about the science and technology of astronomy, especially in this current era of the James Webb Space Telescope. I highly recommend this course to anyone interested in astronomy. Thanks so much. I really appreciate it.

創建者 Burhani T S

2020年6月29日

The course is very informative, detailed and the presenters are funny too.

Though a physics graduate student would know basically 90% of the course, there are some misconceptions which can be cleared by this course. Being taught by experts in their fields is always fun and exciting. Thank you!

創建者 Gustavo D A S

2020年10月24日

Excellent instructors, videos, teaching strategy.

I was looking for a course with this material for a long time and this one is my favorite between all of them. Congratulations to the University of Edinburgh, this course producers, instructors and all the team who made this course.

創建者 VIGNESH.P

2020年4月8日

Loved this course a lot. Very interesting course and excellent teaching giving an overall idea and perspective of an astronomers real hardwork. Gained some knowledge of the technology behind astronomy and also the difficulties faced by astronomers. Looking forward to learn more.

創建者 Ashish p

2020年5月13日

course content was great. You have covered most of the topics I was expecting. But I was also expecting some more detailed learning of each of the topic. I would like if you make one more course which much more detailed study and some mathematics. Thanks for making this course

創建者 Emille G

2018年3月5日

Outstanding! I've gained a greater appreciation for physics and a far greater understanding of the role that it plays in observation and the technology developed. I feel confident to pursue further studies along these lines. Thank you for creating this wonderful course!

創建者 Deleted A

2020年10月11日

Just Awesome, The Additional Materials provided was excellent because for the freshers they get to know the best websites to view the information regarding Science.

You can pretty sure gain knowledge about the latest technology behind the Astronomical Discoveries.

創建者 Antonio L A

2021年10月11日

Excellent course . Guives the basis of astronomical technology, covering the main subjects, and teached by two very good professors. At the level guiven, are not missed none word, and so, none in excess. The quids are o well graduated in difficulty. Thanks

創建者 Fathima t

2020年8月31日

It was an amazing 6 week through wonders. The class was well organized .It's tending me to discover more and more ,after all I'm doing my graduation in physics . hope to work in astrophysics in future. a great thanks to Coursera and University of Edinburgh...

創建者 Violeta G

2021年7月25日

​I have really enjoyed the content and the way the lecturers explained and laid out the material. Workload was more than doable when having other commitments. There are great links to resources after each week's lectures to follow up. Definitely recomend it!

創建者 Jorge S

2019年10月27日

My congratulations for the course. It has taken me much longer than I thought, but I always enjoyed it. The selected topics were excellent and the test questions were adequate. I will be waiting for a second part of the course.

Greetings from Lima, Peru.

創建者 Josh C

2017年8月15日

This course is so good. It covers high level concepts but got me super interested in aspects of astronomy I didn't even know existed. The information is brief but really useful and gets one thinking about the broader picture. Thanks for a great course!

創建者 Rocio N O C

2020年9月28日

Este curso es genial, te permite aprender tantas cosas acerca de la tecnología que esta tras los descubrimientos astronómicos con una explicación sencilla y accesible para cualquier persona, muy interesante, gracias a los maestros y a la universidad.

創建者 Kinnari S B

2020年5月5日

Too good!Andy and Catherine don't just explain us things they make us feel like we are actually doing them especially the detector technology and spectroscopy part.I would surely recommend this course to one who is an astrophile + a tech enthusiast.

創建者 Carla P M N

2017年5月31日

It gave me a more deep notion about how some of the most important space discoveries have been done and I'm truly amazed by their beautiful complexity and ingenuity, it also let me with the feeling that there is still so much more to understand.

創建者 Sai G P

2020年5月11日

Great explanation and teaching! learnt a lot of new things and clarified my doubts. I would recommend this course to any budding Astronomer to under how do the devices work which are used to capture and understand the ever-expanding cosmos.