Chevron Left
返回到 什么是数据科学?

學生對 IBM 提供的 什么是数据科学? 的評價和反饋

4.7
50,041 個評分
9,452 條評論

課程概述

The art of uncovering the insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and they accurately predicted the flooding of the Nile river every year. Since then, people working in data science have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In this course, we will meet some data science practitioners and we will get an overview of what data science is today....

熱門審閱

BB
2019年2月21日

Excellent quality content! It's a great introductory course that really gets you interested in Data Science. I would highly recommend it to anyone curious in learning about what Data Science is about.

PD
2018年7月18日

I thought this course introduced the topic of data science very well. I think I have a much better idea how to describe data science and common terms associated with the field (like machine learning).

篩選依據:

9326 - 什么是数据科学? 的 9350 個評論(共 9,491 個)

創建者 Syed A A A

2018年10月12日

Very basic

創建者 Manu k

2018年6月1日

Too basic

創建者 Harindu H

2021年9月25日

good

創建者 Julian W

2020年1月12日

Really disappointed with the whole specialisation... I am leaving this review here because probably you might not check the others courses before you start it.

Specialisation is short and it is the only good thing about it. It took me I think 10-12 hours to do it.

So first of all the whole thing is not really informative. A lack of videos - Most of the time there is only "power-point"presentation with code written on it. I don't really understand why they have narrator who just read text - no emotions almost like a machine.

Courses:

1. You will spend a lot of time learning listening to videos about how sexy is to be data scientist... and that parents start sending their daughters for data science (sic!), and that it is a new science... Plus some rather simple information which you rather know taking into consideration you want to study it online. At least it is nice to watch - there is life in it.

2. You will spend the whole course watching different notebooks like jupyter R studio etc . without really learning any useful stuff. In the end you will just click run to create some already written commands in python. Yeap that's it. I know it is intro but adding 1 +1 third time in different console...

3. You will learn some methodology - A lot of complicated knowledge read by narrator who is not making it easier or more interesting. Almost like somebody reading you technical book...

4. SQL - you will try to learn it from presentations. I think there are no proper videos just images in narrated power point presentation. I watched some coursera lectures about sql before but still I had problems with following it. To make it worst you will have to use IBM products which are FREE - other reviews are probably outdated. The problem is that materials from this course are also outdated. So they are presenting you IBM tool-set which is already different. It is a problem because they are not even trying to show how they work just where to click.

I managed, you will too but, IBM, please do better.

創建者 Hakki K

2020年7月9日

Hi,

I completed entire program and received the Professional Certificate. On the Coursera link of my certificate "3 weeks of study, 2-3 hours/week average per course" is written. This information is not correct at all, it takes approximately 3 times of that time on average! I informed Coursera about it but no correction was made. It should be corrected with "it takes approximately 19 hours study per course" or "Approx. 10 months to complete Suggested 4 hours/week for the Professional Certificate".

Here is the approximate duration for each course can be found one by one clicking the webpages of the courses in the professional certificate webpage: (*)

Course 1: approximately 9 hours to complete

Course 2: approximately 16 hours to complete

Course 3: approximately 9 hours to complete

Course 4: approximately 22 hours to complete

Course 5: approximately 14 hours to complete

Course 6: approximately 16 hours to complete

Course 7: approximately 16 hours to complete

Course 8: approximately 20 hours to complete

Course 9: approximately 47 hours to complete

This makes in total approximately 169 hours to complete the Professional Certificate. As there are 9 courses, each course takes approximately 19 hours (=169/9) to complete.

(*): https://www.coursera.org/professional-certificates/ibm-data-science?utm_source=gg&utm_medium=sem&campaignid=1876641588&utm_content=10-IBM-Data-Science-US&adgroupid=70740725700&device=c&keyword=ibm%20data%20science%20professional%20certificate%20coursera&matchtype=b&network=g&devicemodel=&adpostion=&creativeid=347453133242&hide_mobile_promo&gclid=Cj0KCQjw0Mb3BRCaARIsAPSNGpWPrZDik6-Ne30To7vg20jGReHOKi4AbvstRfSbFxqA-6ZMrPn1gDAaAiMGEALw_wcB

創建者 Laurie A

2020年8月15日

The course content is exciting and high level. In this course the student does not do any hands on data science, except the occasional introduction to an IBM tool. Instead, they are introduced to a broad range of topic, tools, and perspectives on data science. It is a good introduction to the subject, and I would likely have given this course three stars, maybe four, had there not been so many large bugs, that at the time of this writing, almost two weeks since posting in the Discussion Forums and contacting Coursera Help several times, has not been fixed.

For anyone going into the course, please take screenshots of all quizzes and assignments you complete. If you experience the same issue I have, and hundreds of others are having, than your progress data may get erased. I should have received my badge for completing this course two weeks ago but it is still saying I have "overdue" items and that I've completed everything at the same time.

I am sad to give this one start rating, but so it goes. I hope they fix this as soon as possible, and it may end up affecting people's billing.

創建者 Svyatoslav A

2021年2月11日

Has too rigid an understanding of a complicated field. The track would be better off without this class, as it's just confusing. Videos of "real people talking" are a big waste of time. Videos and material contradict themselves multiple times. Quizzes test memorization, and not actual understanding of the material (as in, only ST types will do well on MBTI typology spectrum, but SF, NF, NT that have better understanding will achieve worse grades, at least give challenging questions that apply knowledge learned, not just ask people to define terminology), peers literally copy paste answers for the final exam portion. Basically, just horrible and a waste of time all around, so at least make it just one hour.

Final project being in academic format is the worst, as data science projects in the real world are usually in the form of dashboards, presentations, or products... so this academia bs is literally useless in preparing people.

創建者 Fabien M

2021年2月21日

This course is overall very vague and too long. The whole content should be summarized in 3 pages of text. It is also a bit confusing. For example, it gives two different definitions of big data. There is also a whole paragraph about regression without defining what it actually means.

The risk is that this course gives the impression that anybody can become a data scientist, just by imagining some vague concepts and it will all be ok. The course could emphasize that data science is actually a science. It requires a tremendous amount of very detailed work, with some very difficult tasks.

This course would benefit from reducing the number of interviews and introducing data science concisely. Or, if the authors wanted to actually keep as much detail as there currently is, every concept should be defined properly.

創建者 Angel Z

2021年8月10日

BUYER BEWARE. You will have to pay coursera, then you will have to provide your credit card number to IBM to do any assignments. IBM is charging you to use their cloud services to complete assignments for this course. Once you PAY COURSERA, they WILL NOT refund you after you find out IBM is charging you again immediately upon signing up for the course. Double-dipping SCAMMERS on BOTH ENDS. There is ZERO warning or disclaimer that they will be charging you again to do your assignments. Report them to the Department of Justice for charging you a subscription fee for a class you cannot use without supplying your credit card info to yet another company on a link inside the coursework. IBM obviously just provided the class to get people onto their cloud services platform. It's BS.

創建者 Ivan K

2020年8月25日

A complete waste of anyone's time who knows anything about data science and would seek the data science specialization on this site. Further, the course material thus far appears to be a paid-for repackaging of free instructional materials offered by IBM at bigdatauniversity.com. Why I had to sit through this material is beyond me in the context of a data science skills tract. Please, stop wasting professionals' precious time and money with this material. This material took me merely a weekend to get through, not 3 weeks, the framing of which seems questionable at best. Please remove this from the overall specialization. My experiences thus far make me feel that I may not continue with this set of courses if this is the level of quality I can expect.

創建者 Nishant

2021年9月11日

Why do I need to know which publication said a particular thing about a topic. Why do I need to remember in what year something happened? Why do I need to remember who quoted a particular thing. The course was amazing. The quizzes were set by some idiot who had absolutely no understanding of the course. Rather than testing the knowledge they chose to test unnecessary details. Frankly, the quizzes were not enough, they needed more questions and all needed to be relevant and not pulled out of a hat at random. Absolute trash questions in the quiz. This is my first IBM course and if this is the kind of questions being asked I am very sorry to say that the course is way below average in the quizzes. However, I did like the actual course and videos.

創建者 Garrett G

2019年5月26日

I am subscribed to and paying for the IBM Data Science Professional Certificate and when I attempt to submit a quiz within the "What is Data Science?" course the submit button displays "Upgrade to submit". When I attempt to go through any of the customer service or chat windows which themselves are hard to find, the chat window does not display properly or function in the slightest. This was also the case when I attempted to submit a support request or create a ticket within the mobile app. Terrible and frustrating experience. At this point I'm unsure as to what to do besides cancel my subscription and give up on the money I have already payed as they seem to be instant on not allowing you to contact any customer service representatives.

創建者 arafat i k

2020年6月28日

There should be an option to rate zero stars !

I am CS graduate, and also has deep understanding of learning algorithms. Isn't it's a huge waste of time, spending three weeks to recite the definition of data science and data scientist ? I believe most of the students in this course are somewhat from CS or equivalent background. And for them its just a trash!

People, maybe high school kids may say oh no its such a good course, i never knew data can be such impactful bla bla bla, they might find this course little bit useful than just googling : "what is data science ?"

And the quizzes, lol that's just joke. You have to recite salary figures from supplementary pdf so it might make you feel good! who knows !

創建者 Luciana B

2021年7月6日

I've invested a few day intensively doing the first 5 weeks of the course which were merely Data Science propaganda but no real content. I went for this course first because it focuses on Python, while I already have some experience on R. Luckily I've thought of trying a different course (same total length) and on the first 2 weeks of content I've learn A LOT, sadly it's on R. Also tests for this course are of very little use, asking precise anecdotic information like who said something, mostly from the last part of the texts, to test whether you've read till the end I guess, but not useful for learning Data Science.

創建者 Olga L

2021年5月16日

I am absolutely not happy with the course. The material is plain; the quality of videos is low; the concepts are mostly described by a robot with automated voice. Assignments rely on the fact that a student does not think on her own but finds the related phrase in the text and copies it. Peer reviews are unfair - I got a lower grade in spite of the fact my answer was in full accordance with the criteria, however was not a 100% copypaste, I dared to use my own words.

Really a pity - I was hoping to complete the specialization. Will probably search for something of better quality and fairer community.

創建者 Marci M

2020年10月1日

Lost quizzes that I took multiple times, weeks after I'd completed the course and issued a certificate, Coursera web site now saying that I didn't complete it, and the certificate is missing. Many others have posted in Coursera forums reporting the same issue. We have reported to support and keep getting the same answer "our team is working on it". No timeline for resolution, no updates on progress. Nobody can complete the program and obtain the Data Science Professional certification if this class is not marked as complete.

創建者 Paola E

2021年9月1日

I can't even pay for it! It's not the course's fault, but the Coursera platform, but I'm desperate, I can't even try to pay for it anymore because it appears canceled and it's not even on my cart anymore.

About the course itself, the first 3 weeks marked are all about selling the course to you. there isn't much data science learning.

At this point, I'd rathe take another youtube free course where I can actually access it completely

創建者 Mope F

2020年2月21日

This is not a course. I was upset when a subscription was renewed and I immediately cancelled. I tried to get a refund but coursera would not allow. You will learn more from youtube. This is a gross waste of time and money, and goes on to show how superficial our fixation on certificates are. The course is an insult. I could have taught the three weeks on an A4 paper, instead of watching some uninspired students.

創建者 DD

2019年8月1日

Don't pay for this course, it's useless. For example: What's Data Science? It's what data scientists do. And at the exam you should have answered exactly like that, even if you don't have any idea on what's the meaning of "data". And this should be a "Professional" certificate. Try to answer like that to someone about whatever question you can think of and they will burn you alive.

創建者 Cong F

2021年1月11日

The worst MOOC I have taken by far, the material being taught is all over place. For example, during the lesson on git command line prompt. The instructor was showing git commands BEFORE showing you how to actually linking the SSH and your github account to your computer. I read the review forums and it doesn't seem to get better, for python section either. Dropped the class.

創建者 Lyn S

2019年8月15日

Useless BS Fluff class. Make some of this optional reading in another class, but don't make is seem like it has any value. You risk loosing people in different cert programs. It makes a cert program look inflated, such as 9 classes...with this being one of them it's really only eight classes. Then you start with this BS and you question the value of the entire program.

創建者 Reuben R E

2021年10月7日

IBM Modules and IBM cloud account sign in are buggy. Student is left to find round about way to access materials. I managed to complete by going through multiple forums on how to access IBM materials on external net. A Paid course shouldn't be expecting this out of a student. The study material is amazing but please please make it easy for students to access it.

創建者 Wolfram B

2021年6月30日

If you want to know what newspaper publisched in wich year about data Science and what are the names of talking persons about data sciene from different companies (questions of the test) and that you keep doing good in math class and informatics (I am Senioner Engineer) this is a course for you. If you want to learn technical skills about Data Scince skipt it.

創建者 Deleted A

2019年12月24日

Too basic, useless and total waste of time and money. You get nothing out of this course except for some basic information about data science that you could have easily learned from various free online sources out there. I agree with other reviewers that the only purpose of this course is to drag out the certification process so that it costs you more money...

創建者 Олимпиева Н В

2019年1月27日

During this course, be prepared to wade through the huge paragraphs of the text. There are not so many practical exercises, just two, so most of the time you will play the game is true-false. The final assignment is not much about practising big data or data science technologies. I hope there will be increasing of the number of practical tasks.