Chevron Left
返回到 恐怖主义和反恐:理论与实践的比较

學生對 莱顿大学 提供的 恐怖主义和反恐:理论与实践的比较 的評價和反饋

4.7
2,217 個評分
541 個審閱

課程概述

Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private business and ordinary citizens. And in many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security and stability. But what does this exactly mean? What is the nature of this threat? Who or what is threatened, how, by whom and why? What can be done about it or how can we at least limit the impact of terrorism and make sure that terrorists do not make headlines and manage to scare us? These are just a handful of questions that will be addressed in this course that consists of three parts. First it focuses on the essence of terrorism as an instrument to achieve certain goals, in addition to an exploration of this phenomenon and the difficulties in defining it. The second part provides an overview of the state of the art in (counter) terrorism studies. Since ‘9/11’ terrorism studies have grown exponentially, reflecting the rise in perceived threats. But what has academia come up with? What theories, assumptions and conventional wisdom has it produced that could be of help in understanding terrorism and dealing with it? The most interesting results are examined and compared with empirical evidence with the aim to either stress their importance or to debunk them as myths. The final part looks into the implications and possibilities for policy making. The course ends with a module specifically designed to address one of today's most topical issue: the foreign fighter phenomenon....

熱門審閱

LZ

May 23, 2016

This excellent, balanced course uses a great combination of concise videos and additional reading. I enrolled hoping to better understand this hot-topic and Prof. Bakker's course was perfect.

MZ

Sep 21, 2017

Useful and well done. This course is an example how to boost resilience in our society with knowledge. At the end of the day is a brick of our holistic counter terrorism actions. Thank you.

篩選依據:

151 - 恐怖主义和反恐:理论与实践的比较 的 175 個評論(共 522 個)

創建者 Lynn-Marie H

Sep 27, 2015

This is a really interesting course with current information about the state of terrorism and counterterrorism studies today and with an updated module on ISIS and what is happening in Syria at the moment. The history is an important aspect ,so having finished the course I feel I have a good overview of where we are and where we are coming from with an acknowledgement of the future. I wasn't sure that I would finish since one of the quizzes was so tricky but I got through it and learnt to revise well for the final exam. The videos are very well presented by Dr. Bakker and guests and the essential and supplementary readings very pertinent and enlarging.I wish I still had access to those materials as I didn't read everything I would have liked to but know I can at least refer to Perspectives on Terrorism online whenever I want to for current articles.

創建者 Susana T S

Aug 15, 2015

Love this couse, love how explain things.

The best is that is open all the time and i can go to school, work and then take this course.

創建者 Conrado T D J

Sep 28, 2016

This Course is totally illuminating! Great backgrounder for a knowledge seeker about terrorism like me. It became more significant & engaging because of the great materials & great Facilitator & Professor, Edwin Bakker!

創建者 Héctor G O U

Nov 04, 2015

Excelente curso. El material es bastante didáctico y bueno, así como la metodología utilizada. Además las exposiciones del profesor Bakker son muy claras y fáciles de entender.

創建者 Niels G

Nov 06, 2015

Very interesting topic given by an excellent lecturer. Readings and course video's complement one another.

創建者 Brent A

Aug 11, 2015

Great course, very interesting, I recommend it.

創建者 Galen J R

Mar 07, 2016

A very in-depth skim of the beginning of a new trend in study and how we view another uneasy subject.

創建者 LUÍS M F F G

Aug 07, 2017

Very good teacher and Theme discussion

創建者 Elvis R C

Oct 14, 2015

Is perfect curse.

創建者 Amherd D

Aug 22, 2015

Very interesting course

創建者 Darien S

Aug 25, 2015

Very informative. Great Instructor.

創建者 María M B A

Oct 24, 2015

My opinion about the course is without doubt positive. It is geared to both college-educated people and for those people without previous knowledge course. The course allows different levels of depth; both can be used to acquire general knowledge about terrorism and counterterrorism, to elaborate on specific aspects, because it offers the student a varied and useful bibliography and recommended readings.

As far as the platform is concerned, it is very intuitive and easy to handle, even an online course.

My feeling has been to meet not only the vastness of the subject, the platform can be part of the course and the ability to communicate through forums with students sharing concerns and seek solutions.

It's an easy course to follow although it online because it is well structured and has a good organization.

This does not mean that the course is exceeded without hard work, as the estimated 5/6 hours a week of dedication is pretty accurate.It is not the typical course online almost testimonial. You have to work hard if you want to get a good result.

So maybe it's the most rewarding thing I have done. From what I have learned and by the possibilities I see this field.

It has also been rewarding by Professor Dr. Edwin Baker and his team for their skill and dedication, they have been tremendously didactic. If it were not for them, I would not have been able to finish. And fellow students from all countries, from forums and debates that have exposed enriching opinions. Thanks to all.

創建者 Kris K D A

Sep 05, 2016

Este Curso es una introducción ordenada al tema. Con perspectivas interdisciplinarias. Y otorga a quién lo estudia la posibilidad de profundizar posteriormente de forma individual, el aspecto que más le interese.

Además el profesor Edwin Bakker está interesado por las diversas perspectivas según especialidades de los estudiantes. Lo cual además de interesante para una cuestión tan difícil de definir como es el Terrorismo. Es por mi parte una postura necesaria para entender mejor este fenómeno tan presente meditaticamente para la mayoría y presencial lamentablemente, para otros. Pero que ya se ha convertido en un tema de interés general.

Por mi parte no me quedas más que agradecer a la Universidad de Leiden y al Profesor Bakker por hacer accesible al público en general, un estudio tan importante como este.

創建者 Horacio L

Nov 28, 2015

Well shaped course. I can follow along without getting bored easily. Very useful and insightful into today's issues with terrorism.

創建者 Yannick G

Mar 16, 2016

Interesting, well thought, broad and deep, a must for anyone interested in the topic.

創建者 Renato F d R

Jul 01, 2017

Very interesting. Excelent teachers.

創建者 Kevin A H

Sep 13, 2015

This course, which delves into the minds of the experts, can expand your knowledge into what's really happening, not just the opinions of the media. Further, it goes deep into the 'why' in a world only interested in the 'who' and 'where'.

創建者 Rajema G M V

Oct 18, 2016

Very informative. Highly recommended to everyone! Can`t wait for the updates.

創建者 Roberto D S

Aug 26, 2015

Very interesting

創建者 Mauricio A T L

Nov 16, 2015

El curso es excelente, sin embargo la calificación es desastrosa. Coursera debería crear un sistema distinto de calificaciones para no depender el "buen ánimo" de nuestros compañeros de clase. Tuve inconvenientes con la presentación de mi trabajo escrito dado que no hablo inglés y tuve que recurrir a traductores y a mi poco conocimiento en la escritura del idioma para finalizar mi ensayo. El resultado fue que muchas personas no entendieron bien mi trabajo y me han calificado con la nota más baja. Eso hace que el esfuerzo y el intelecto de personas que no escriben en inglés (pero que si pueden entenderlo), se vea afectado y no sea reconocido. Espero que puedan idear otra forma de evaluación más pertinente y acorde con las necesidades de los estudiantes.

創建者 Chi L

Oct 20, 2016

Highly informative and engaging course!

創建者 Deleted A

Jan 16, 2017

Very clear lectures, interesting material. Learned a lot.

創建者 Bart S

Jan 12, 2016

excellent course! learned a LOT

創建者 Hilary H L

Jan 19, 2016

The prof is very good in explaining the concepts.

創建者 William G P

Mar 09, 2016

Great course, really helps get a firm grasp on the concept of defining terrorism in context to regional conflict and sociological climate.