Chevron Left
返回到 Songwriting: Writing the Lyrics

學生對 伯克利音乐学院 提供的 Songwriting: Writing the Lyrics 的評價和反饋

4.9
409 個評分
130 個審閱

課程概述

There’s a songwriter lurking somewhere inside you, peeking around corners, wondering if it’s safe to come out. Now it is. This course is an invitation to let your inner songwriter step into the sunlight. All it takes is a simple “yes” and you’ll be climbing that windy hill, marveling at the view. If you haven’t written any or many songs, this course will show you an efficient, effective process for tailoring songs to express your ideas and emotions. If you have, you’ll look at your process differently, taking control of aspects of the process you may have not noticed. The course will start by examining the tools available to you, all revolving around the essential concept of prosody. You’ll learn to use your tools to enhance your message—to work compositionally at the same time you’re developing your ideas. You’ll be working both lyrically and musically, though musically it’s not necessary that you either read music or play an instrument. If you play, great, and you’ll be encouraged to play and record your musical responses to the assignments. If you don’t play, the course offers you a number of musical loops to work with. All you’ll have to do is sing your melodies over the loops. Assignments will ask you to post something for peer review—sometimes lyric lines or sections, sometimes melodies, sometimes both. None of it has to be polished. The course is about writing, not performing. Most important, you’ll have a lot of fun....

熱門審閱

SJ

Aug 31, 2016

If i could give this course more than 5 stars I would. It has revolutionized my approach to writing lyrics and given me tools and techniques that really blow my mind. Definitely recommend!

CT

Jan 23, 2017

Pat presents with a great demeanour and covers a lot of ground in this course.\n\nI'm definitely a better songwriter for it. This includes the secret to removing writer's block.

篩選依據:

101 - Songwriting: Writing the Lyrics 的 125 個評論(共 129 個)

創建者 Adrian M

Nov 17, 2017

amazing!

創建者 David H

Sep 08, 2016

Excellent course. I have been writing songs for years, some of which might be considered good. However, I always knew I didn't really know how to write songs as a craft. That's why I took this course. The course has now provided me with the toolbox to begin approaching songwriting as it really is, a craft based on skills one learns and develops. I very much would like to take a another course with Pat Pattison, because this one was huge fun! Thanks Pat, Thanks Berklee, Thanks Coursera.

創建者 José M C

Jan 11, 2017

Brilliant!

創建者 Nagy E

Sep 15, 2019

Perfect teacher, perfect lessons, perfect everything! Thank you for the experience! I'll never forget!

創建者 Elio C

Mar 04, 2019

Patt is a passionate instructor. His way of explaining is amazing. I learned so much in this course.

創建者 Wahid L

Jun 12, 2017

Great content! I learned so much, I was impressed.

創建者 Luis M R R

Apr 07, 2017

I've learned here, what I have not learned in 4 years of college: discipline.

創建者 Kevin K

Mar 11, 2018

What a great course, by an amazing teacher. I'm very grateful for the experience!

創建者 Narces V A

Aug 06, 2017

I love it, hope to get my certification ASAP!!!

創建者 Sandra L H

Aug 11, 2017

I learn so much in this course. I have won some awards and hope to lift my songwriting up a few levels. Thanks Professor Pat! I have all your books and appecaite you excellent teaching skills. Sandy Hathaway

創建者 Aurelie M

Mar 04, 2019

Incredibly good, Pat Pattinson is really great, and I enjoyed so much the freedom given in order to create my songs, with some materials and directions.

創建者 Tomas G

Apr 09, 2019

Excelente curso brinda toda la Información necesaria para enriquecer tus habilidades de composición.

創建者 Chinedu O

Aug 05, 2017

Excellent course! It has unlocked so many doors and potential I would not have been able to discover on my own! There's nothing to think about! This IS the class you want to take if you seek to truly further your songwriting skills and concepts!

創建者 Marcus

Jun 29, 2017

Great, in-depth content with an incredible instructor. Would recommend this class to any songwriter that wants to dive deeper into lyrics.

創建者 Martina R G

Feb 09, 2019

It was a great course with a highly knowledgeable instructor. Just make sure quiz answers are updated regularly, as many answers were marked incorrectly when they were correct.

創建者 Tess H

Aug 30, 2018

The only reason I didn't give the course four stars is that it is so rich, I need to take it again! When I've completed it the second time (very time-consuming) and can really appreciate all the professor has to offer, I'll raise to five!

創建者 Paola M

Oct 30, 2018

The lessons were really helpful in filling the gaps I had in my knowledge! Moreover, I was able to pick up a lot of tips that have made my songwriting process go more smoothly. Perhaps the only qualm I have with this course was the grading and rubric system for the peer reviews, in that the most minor of mistakes can result in a dramatically lower grade in an assignment. That aside, however, I had a good experience taking this course and am sure to use what I learned in the future.

創建者 Saee J

Nov 01, 2017

All the concepts were taught very well. I liked the assignment and quizzes too at the end of the week as they were really exciting and interesting to do. What I liked most was reviewing fellow peers and getting their feedback on assignments submitted by me too. I felt like I was learning along with really helpful and honest classmates thanks to the forums and online feedback from them. Although the learning process is to be done on your own it still never felt lonely because of all the forum section and the peer graded assignments especially which really helped me feel like I am a part of a community of like minded people having similar interests and passion for learning. Loved the course! Also, Thanks to our wonderful tutor, Pat, and Berklee College for making this course and the lessons so much fun and easy to understand! Cheers!

創建者 H2O

Sep 03, 2016

The course material and the instructor's lectures are excellent. However the quizzes are programmed incorrectly--marking wrong answers right and right answers wrong too often.

I gained a few skills that I now put to use when writing songs. The course also provided some insightful information on prosody, phrasing, and a little bit of history. It was definitely worth the time I invested in doing this course.

創建者 Mark B

Dec 11, 2016

A great course, learned a lot but due to not being in a position to purchase the certificate OI could not submit quizzes or assignments, such a shame as I could not get feedback

創建者 Jonathan G

Feb 08, 2018

fantastic course! I learned a lot. M

創建者 Jeff T

May 23, 2019

The principles of this course are phenomenal. Not only did I learn a ton, but the information is something that I will keep with me in my writing forever. Some of the videos are hard to follow and can be a bit confusing. Using the videos plus the reading material together really helped. The peer grading can also be a bother for I'm not sure that all of the peers fully understand what they are doing (I know I don't always). This can stop you from moving on if you don't score high enough on the quiz's in the paid version of the course A summary of key points at the end of each segment would also be helpful. Other than that, this course is truly eye opening and valuable.

創建者 Dan F

Sep 29, 2019

Lots of great thought-provoking content, decent homework assignments. Well worth it.

4/5 stars because you get very little quality individual attention. Your assignments are graded by your peers, who don't know any more than you do, and often a lot less.

It was useful to me to grade others' work, tho. It made me think about it differently.

創建者 Sweekruti M

Sep 27, 2019

Thanks to Pat for sharing his knowledge. It was a great course and I got to learn a lot. Excited to keep writing. Thank you. :)

創建者 scott s

Sep 20, 2016

A bit disorganized and rambling lectures. Good content