Chevron Left
返回到 Race and Cultural Diversity in American Life and History

學生對 伊利诺伊大学香槟分校 提供的 Race and Cultural Diversity in American Life and History 的評價和反饋

4.6
253 個評分
119 條評論

課程概述

Learners will deepen their understanding and appreciation of ways in which race, ethnicity and cultural diversity have shaped American institutions, ideology, law, and social relationships from the colonial era to the present. Race and ethnicity are ideological and cultural categories that include all groups and individuals. Hence, this course is designed in significant part to take a broad look at the ideology of race and cultural diversity in America’s past and present. The primary focus is on the historical and social relationships among European Americans, Native Americans, African Americans, Latino/as, and Asian/Pacific Americans. Issues of race and ethnicity are examined across different ethno-cultural traditions in order to interweave diverse experiences into a larger synthesis of the meaning of race and ethnicity in American life. In this course, we conceive of “race” and “diversity” as references to the entire American population, even as we recognize that different groups have unique historical experiences resulting in distinctive and even fundamental cultural differences. We treat race and ethnicity as dynamic, complex ideological and cultural processes that shape all social institutions, belief systems, inter-group relationships, and individual experiences....

熱門審閱

EJ
2020年11月18日

I felt Dr Anderson did an excellent job and I enjoyed hearing from the other resources and speakers as well. I would be interested in other similar courses and also other classes from dr Anderson.

CL
2020年12月1日

This course was outstanding. The video presentaions, additonal readings, and peer reviews allowing insight into other students perspectives was a definite plus. Will recommend to other co-workers.

篩選依據:

101 - Race and Cultural Diversity in American Life and History 的 119 個評論(共 119 個)

創建者 Maria P

2020年6月22日

I find the course to be informative, I am taking the course as part of my staying at home while on Covid 19. I am not taking it as a credit course but that I am interested in everything that I have read so far, I would like to read on, if possible. I've seen all the videos read the articles. I like to ask permission to go on.

Thank you, MariaP.

創建者 Pablo J B

2020年7月12日

The videos by Professor Anderson are very good. I would be great if the Professor or his team would be available for answering questions on the Forums, as well as students are indicated that the Forum is not to ask for their papers to be reviewed, but to exchange ideas and thoughts. The Faculty should have a more active role on the Forum.

創建者 Gabriel P O

2020年7月15日

The course was good in regard to information and easy to digest. The at your own pace and supplemental readings were nice. Assignments were a little confusing in regard to description and expectations. It would be beneficial to see the rubrics along with the assignment guidelines.

創建者 Elvina C

2020年7月14日

The content itself is interesting and well-presented

However, the issue arises with the given tasks. the mark scheme is only available once submitted yet is necessary to complete the task as it routinely differs in key ways from the task outline

創建者 Chelsea D

2020年7月10日

This was a great, and very educational course. My only constructive criticism is a lack of clarity for the assignments. Some of the instructions weren't quite detailed enough to understand the depth of what was being asked for.

創建者 Lydia B

2020年7月20日

This was my first experience with a Coursera class and it left a very positive impression. I learned, I felt engaged with the curriculum and the assignments, and I had to invest time/energy into the work weekly.

創建者 Mildred M

2020年6月24日

I want to unenroll the course. I am having a hard time because it's too taxing for me... I really like the course but I cannot cope up... Thank you

創建者 Heather L

2020年7月29日

I found this course both educational & compelling. I learned a lot. It would be nice to have news clips or video examples embedded in the course,

創建者 Lori D

2020年10月9日

Great class! I walked away with a wealth of knowledge about race and prejudice and the history of that particular topic. Great class!

創建者 Ty K

2020年7月10日

Very interesting content. Final research papers were interesting. Caught someone plagiarizing and reported them.

創建者 Lisa S

2020年7月6日

I learned a lot and although the assignments were challenging for me, I am very glad I completed the course.

創建者 Rodney B

2020年7月22日

Great course. A lot of work for a free course, so might as well pay for it and get the cert!

創建者 Maria L C

2020年7月23日

self study, self discipline,

materials were great. keep on learning

創建者 DR. N K

2020年7月12日

good know this things around you

創建者 Timothy D

2020年7月9日

Enjoyed the content and found the additional resources to be fantastic! However, the assignments left much to be desired. The assignments themselves were vague and the rubrics (IF provided) were not clear. The course also has a peer review system, which would be fine, but grades seemed totally random. One week I received two 100% markings and one 30%!!

創建者 Karen N

2020年7月14日

Very easy to follow. Very informative, particularly Week 4. It's what I needed now for information and reasoning. Thank you for the clarity of issues.

創建者 Yvette D

2021年1月5日

you shouldn't have to purchase the certificate to submit your quizzes to get scored.