Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Data Science in Python

學生對 密歇根大学 提供的 Introduction to Data Science in Python 的評價和反饋

4.5
23,655 個評分
5,311 條評論

課程概述

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

熱門審閱

PK
2020年5月9日

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

AU
2017年12月9日

Wow, this was amazing. Learned a lot (mostly thanks to stack overflow) but the course also opened my eyes to all the possibilities available out there and I feel like i'm only scratching the surface!

篩選依據:

76 - Introduction to Data Science in Python 的 100 個評論(共 5,234 個)

創建者 Nicole B

2020年9月26日

This course is for knowing what you can do with python in Data science, definitely is not a course to learn python or for people like me who only had basic knowledge of python.

創建者 Tural H

2020年3月5日

Very fast pace, no clarity of the scope and poor leacturing

創建者 RobertD

2020年3月6日

The autograder wars made this a bad experience

創建者 Wei L

2020年7月16日

Introduction to searching Stackoverflow

創建者 Andrew

2019年2月11日

Not nearly enough reference content in lectures. It needs to be made clear students coming from the Python for Everybody course (other Umich course) has a book which I was used to referencing for all of my questions (the class was pretty well self contained and did not require much looking up of concepts). I tried to learn this class the same way I did for the previous one and that totally did not work - I spent wayyyy too much time on my first pandas assignment thinking all of the answers were in lecture/notes. The lecture and notes were very very scant and not well explanative about data structures that are very complicated. Please either write a book or make it more clear how students should learn. Yes, the teacher tells us about stackover flow but I didn't know he was implying for us to use those resources. He should say something like "we don't offer a book with this course so use online resources" and not tip toe around the topic because people paid money to learn so take responsibility and make these changes please. I passed but it was very frustrating at first.

創建者 Kelam G

2019年1月17日

It was informative but i felt the assignment part needed more clarification. I faced the problem that even though my solutions were right the autograder gave me lesser marks. I figured out that we must not print to the console. If that was clearly mentioned life would be easier.

創建者 Trish P

2019年4月29日

Solid course. I definitely would not recommend it to someone who doesn't have advanced beginner to intermediate python knowledge, though - while it does a good job at a review level for the necessary python, it really moves through the code details quite quickly.

創建者 Ainur A

2020年11月28日

The course was undoubtedly challenging (which in itself is a good thing), but at times it was more challenging than it had to be because of some little errors, inconsistecies, wording in the assignment, etc. Sometimes some files wouldn't be where they were supposed to be. Sometimes it took me more time to actually understand what I was supposed to do than actually doing it, because it wasn't really clear what was required. Ok, English is not my first language but I am quite good. Besides, lots of other students complained about confusing wording, so it's not just me. Sometimes some instructions were missing and you'd only realise that after digging through the discussion forums for hours. So, basically there were a few things that made the whole experience more difficult than it had to be, and they weren't about knowledge or skils but about the course "infrastructure".

Before I started this course I'd already taken a few courses on Python programming (on a different platform), including numpy and pandas, but the assinments in this course were still qute difficult for me. You have to do a lot of searching online to get to the solution. In general, I'm all for the idea of having to do more self-learning but the online format is already more challenging than face-to-face learning, so I think it would help to have a few guided exercises between the lectures to understand the material better. Maybe if I had more experience with Python and programming, it would be easier.

One thing that disappointed me was that they recommended a book (optional reading), but you would have to purchase it. Now, if we were studying on campus then we would have access to the university library where we could borrow this book (probably), but as online students we don't have that option. I understand that they can't just upload copywrited books for anyone to access but maybe they could come up with a system that would allow students to somehow access the books temporarily, or make just a few necessary chapters available. I think that's for Coursera to manage, not for the University of Michigan though, because the university can only take advantage of whatever technology coursera can offer (at least that's my understanding).

On a positive note, the discussion forums were quite helpful, and the teaching staff were quick to answer most of the time. I suggest, if you take this course, then take full advantage of the discussion forums.

I also liked that there were two types of assignments (multiple choice quiz and programming). I think that's a great idea.

So, overall, if they made a few improvements to the course, it would be a great one.

創建者 Pragyan

2020年9月21日

Overall the course is fine. Much of the work is left out to the user, which would be a good thing if the lectures actually spent time discussing a topic. The instructor picks up a topic and shows us one example and is done with it.

I was disappointed with the teaching style. That being said, I did learn a lot in this course. I learnt a lot of stuff, but I wasn't taught much. Some of the topics were really interesting but they are concluded in 5 minutes max.

I really wish the programming walkthrough were more comprehensive and not just "here's how you do this thing, let's move on".

The assignments are challenging, but are poorly worded. Half the time I had to figure out myself what the assignment was asking me to do.

創建者 David R Y R

2020年11月2日

The course is very task oriented so most of the learning comes from the assignments solution, not from the lectures. Succeeding in the course demands a lot of time for the assignments and quite often you would need to google " pandas how to...". If you want a self-contained course, this is not a good option. However if you want a realistic approach to data science, it may be a good choice.

創建者 Marcel K

2019年4月19日

It would be nice if Coursera could update the Python environment used for the exercises and assignments to something recent. The version they're using (0.19) is fairly old. Every single assignment that I had running against 0.24 had to be altered in some way to work for 0.19.

創建者 Lorenzo V ( R P

2021年1月7日

The assigments' questions were not always clear, but the real issue were the reports from the automatic checks on the answers one submits: puzzling, sto say the least. The rest of the course is OK.

創建者 Alejandro A M V

2020年11月7日

This course was really challenging, I had to look for information per hours, besides I wanna thank the forum debate. I gave 3 stars because they could improve the teaching techniques.

創建者 Michael P R

2019年3月21日

Good course overall, but more material is required to be learned outside of this class for the required assignments than what is actually taught in the class by a very wide margin

創建者 Daniel S

2021年1月18日

Very limited gaining of knowledge based on course materials, most of the effort is self-learning, internet searching, and lots of readings. Inefficient.

創建者 Ran R

2020年11月29日

Lots of useful content, and a promising structure. But, the overall level of polish was distractingly low, especially in assignments (unclear & buggy)

創建者 Erico L

2019年3月1日

I don't think I've learned much along the course. I had to pick a few concepts here and there, but I don't think that the way in which those are explained would stick.

Also, the course seems rushed: I'm not sure what the end game of these courses is, but I think it's an incredible wasted opportunity when it comes to MOOCs, as there could be more lengthy videos and more and better ungraded exercises (something that in this particular course do not exist) and much, much better explained assignments (I guess adding there the info from the forums by the teaching stuff would not hurt).

For being a course of intermediate level, the videos and explanations are too short; there are even places where things are left totally unexplained.

Even if it's supposed (and even encouraged) that the students seek information on their own, the lack of context in some places makes it rather difficult. this is specialy more so with the questions that are interwined in the videos, as normally in order to answer them corretly you have to go out and find the related info (something that totally disrupts watching the videos).

finally, the assignments are a wreckage; some of the questions are incredible difficult to understand, if not out right impossible. The fact that there's a lot of information added to the forums by the etaching stuff, up to the point that the more complicated questions are easily answered with that same infromation, proves this.

I do think there are examples of courses in Coursera: I recently completed "Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra" and even thought I don't think it's not without its issues, I find it a much more challenging, entertaining and fun course, that covers in a good way its subject.

I have to commend the people from the teaching stuff that are in the forums, thought, as it's the only course in which I found people from the teaching area activelly participating, and helping the students.

創建者 William B

2020年11月25日

Was not a fan of this course at all. The first assignment is completely on regex which I understand that it is an important topic, but that's a fairly advanced topic in data science so to have as the first assignment of the first course in this specialization seems a little ridiculous. Not a single question on the assignment was on numpy which we spent the vast majority of the week learning. I did not get much out of the other assignments either. Dr. Brooks is really not the best teacher. Very knowledgeable, but not good at relaying that knowledge to others in a clear manner. If I could go back a month I wouldn't have taken this course.

創建者 Aaron B

2019年3月19日

Really appreciate this course. Got me started in Python, Pandas, and Jupyter. First week felt like magic. I am giving it a low score because the assignment questions were so ambiguous that it required constant resubmits an scouring the forums. The ratio of learning of course content to required Stack Overflow internet research was way off balance.

I learned a lot but was extremely frustrated and burned a lot of time it what I felt was all the wrong places.

Still grateful for this opportunity. I think the questions can be better explained and tightened up.

創建者 charles

2020年5月25日

The assignments are fine, they are pretty tedious at times, but it is this kind of situations that forces me to self taught myself. Something really bad about this course is the lectures. They assume we know everything, I wouldn't be able to follow if i haven't done python in data analysis before, g, so they go fast and doesn't explain how everything/every function works. But if they assume we know everything, there is no need for the lecture videos. Just give us the assignments and just ask us to look at stackoverflow. The videos are 90% useless.

創建者 Daniel A

2018年8月20日

This is not really a course. 2h of lectures in total. I have been in longer one-day university lectures. You have to attend other courses in order to be able to complete the assignments because 90% of what they ask is not in the lectures. This is a compilation of exercises, not a course.

On the other hand, the assignments and exercises are OK, that's why I gave it 2 stars.

創建者 Mahmoud F

2020年3月4日

the course speed is very highand assuming high level of knoweldg

創建者 Saeed V

2020年9月19日

This course is a real waste of time! Please avoid!!

The lecturer in general teaches nothing. He explains some basic concepts. You can learn them in a 5 minutes YouTube video. Then, you should answer the detailed/technical coding assignments. The assignments have nothing to deal with the lectures. The lectures have zero to very limited coding explanation. Then, there is an outdated picky auto grader that grades your work. You will spend hours finding out that your code is correct, but the auto grader works with libraries very old versions. I learned nothing from the lectures but I passed the assignments with 90, thanks to StackOverflow and online resources.

I am wondering who gives this course 5 stars. Fake reviews?

創建者 Deleted A

2016年11月19日

The jupyter notebook made this a horrid experience. Plus Coursera really doesn't want you to bother them with your silly questions, relying on peer-forums. If you scroll through the week's discussion forums, many student posts go ignored.

You can't drop the course past the second (I guess) week so the system will keep on keeping on long after you've given up on trying to figure out the janky notebook thing.

Will not return to Coursera for any reason. Breathtakingly bad experience.

創建者 Shreya B

2020年10月4日

The course lectures hardly covered what was asked in the assignment. For someone who has a full-time job scouting through discussion forums is extremely time consuming.