Chevron Left
返回到 释放想象力:诗歌工作室

學生對 加州艺术学院 提供的 释放想象力:诗歌工作室 的評價和反饋

4.7
797 個評分
287 個審閱

課程概述

Why just write poems when you can write better ones? This course is built on the notion that the most exciting writing begins after the first draft. It is specifically for folks who believe that writing poems just to express oneself is like using the Internet just for email. After all, poetry can change the way you and your readers think of the world and its inhabitants; it can break new ground for language; turn a blank sheet of paper into a teeming concert of voices and music. Though any of us may have the potential to make that happen, having an understanding of how several tools of poetic composition can be used (and audaciously “mis-used”) gives you more ways to try (and if we do this right, we might surprise ourselves most of all). We'll cover key poetic terms and devices by studying poems by a handful of modern and contemporary poets and then get a chance to try our own hand at writing new poem drafts from a select number of prompts. Throughout the course you will have the opportunity to workshop your poem drafts and get feedback on your work, working towards a more polished poem....

熱門審閱

JK

Aug 22, 2016

Wonderful, learning about writing poetry here is IT! I will always use this to go forward and once in a while come back to freshen up. Thank you, there's nothing else out there like this class!

AR

Nov 02, 2015

I have learned so much and I love D's energy and the avid participation of the other students. Will definitely pass on what I've learned. Can't wait for more courses like this in the future! :)

篩選依據:

226 - 释放想象力:诗歌工作室 的 250 個評論(共 283 個)

創建者 Jasroop B

Nov 22, 2018

It's a great course for learning about poetry in depth

創建者 Jason S

Nov 27, 2018

Engaging on a new level. I like the workshop format on a MOOC.

創建者 Clara R

Oct 01, 2018

Kind of magic and fun :D

創建者 Balaji V

Apr 18, 2019

Such an eye opener course.

Beautifully presented.

The whole course was a poetry by itself :)

Thank you Doug - California Institute of the Arts - Coursera

創建者 Geiber E P C

Apr 22, 2019

Very nice, very nice. Doug is great!

創建者 Siddhi D

Jun 15, 2019

This was an amazing course that made me learn a lot about poem writing and completely changed the way I perceived poems. My skills have improved greatly thanks to this course. It was probably the best I've ever taken.

創建者 Atena

Jul 01, 2019

Great tutors and folks in the course. I improved my skills in poetry writing.

創建者 Betty P

Jul 02, 2019

This course seemed so pithy I thought it might be short on content. It wasn't. It was loaded with learning - tips, cautions, terms, examples, short quizzes, and prompts. No wasted words or wasted time here. I especially like that you could listen and read the lesson at the same time. I liked the examples and the quick easy references to outside sources. This was my first online course and I found it difficult to get my work into the forums for feedback. That was a process foreign and unfamiliar to me.

創建者 katie w

Aug 01, 2019

The instructor is great and we get to read some really awesome poetry. The prompts are fun and creative!

創建者 Melle S

Nov 02, 2019

I loved this course. It has expanded my vision for my own writing. I found it helpful to receive feedback from my peers. I now can go back to previous works and revise with confidence.

創建者 Pooja R

Nov 04, 2019

Doug is so good with poetry and makes each poem come alive, This is such an enriching experience.

創建者 Christine C

Sep 05, 2019

This is an excellent course - well designed - very interesting. Strongly recommend it for poets really wanting to improve their skills. The feedback component is useful and the mentors are terrific.

Wish, wish, wish there was a Part 2.!

創建者 Matthias D

Oct 09, 2019

I enjoyed this course

And what a great course it was

Didnt expect such

fun and love when I signed up

No remorse, so do not pause

創建者 Leeland J

Oct 08, 2019

The instructor in very engaging. I am learning poetry to have a stronger understanding of voice and style, and I believe I will get infinity more from this course.

創建者 Swati B

Nov 22, 2019

Excellent course !! Previously I had never read or appreciated poetry much. This course has been an eye opener. The course is very well structure! And I learnt a lot from my peers too!

創建者 Aude L

Oct 18, 2019

Very well structured - engaging videos - good feedbacks to build on - everyone is really passionate about poetry in this course, it is contagious!!

創建者 Warren D L

Nov 08, 2019

This course did a wonderful job of introducing me to the basics of poetry. I feel that I have a much better understanding as to how a poem should be structured

創建者 Rohini M

Jan 16, 2019

I Just loved this course. I learnt a lot of things about poetry. Soon i wish i would publish a book on poetry by writing and incorporating the lessons learnt in the class.

創建者 Shwetha

Jan 22, 2019

Great course! Recommend everyone who wants to write poetry to take this up!

創建者 Laurie D

Mar 08, 2019

I appreciate the practicality of assignments and delivery of concepts for writing poetry. I learned some skills and it gave me structure. The conversation between students is less accessible.

創建者 Adrienne P

Mar 15, 2019

This was an excellent workshop to help me brush up on poetic forms. Actually having to write, and revise was more useful than simply studying.

創建者 Benedick G

Jul 07, 2016

Very fun instructor.

The peer review as a workshop is perfect.

I just wish that there are more poems to study and that it's longer or it has a continuation.

創建者 Kajol B

Oct 18, 2015

Peer reviews can be a gamble. But the professor is excellent. Helpful to get started with poetry or get over writer's block.

創建者 Dr.Halowine C

Jun 29, 2016

It is a riveting

創建者 Raj K B

Nov 21, 2016

Very interesting course; the only issue I had was with the students grading each other's poems. I would have preferred the teacher or the mentors to be grading them since they are presumably well versed with the art of poetry and the various techniques involved in their creation. While the grading process might enhance the learning of the students, it should not come at the cost of one's grades due to the obvious limitations or biases of the student graders.