Chevron Left
返回到 释放想象力:诗歌工作室

學生對 加州艺术学院 提供的 释放想象力:诗歌工作室 的評價和反饋

4.8
1,506 個評分

課程概述

Why just write poems when you can write better ones? This course is built on the notion that the most exciting writing begins after the first draft. It is specifically for folks who believe that writing poems just to express oneself is like using the Internet just for email. After all, poetry can change the way you and your readers think of the world and its inhabitants; it can break new ground for language; turn a blank sheet of paper into a teeming concert of voices and music. Though any of us may have the potential to make that happen, having an understanding of how several tools of poetic composition can be used (and audaciously “mis-used”) gives you more ways to try (and if we do this right, we might surprise ourselves most of all). We'll cover key poetic terms and devices by studying poems by a handful of modern and contemporary poets and then get a chance to try our own hand at writing new poem drafts from a select number of prompts. Throughout the course you will have the opportunity to workshop your poem drafts and get feedback on your work, working towards a more polished poem....

熱門審閱

ES

2022年5月4日

The professor and tasks were very engaging. I truly looked forward to tuning in and working through the lessons and assignments. My interest in poetry is further stoked and I can't wait to learn more.

SM

2020年6月11日

Loved the course. Douglas Kearney is amazing as an instructor. I love poetry and this workshop has made me happy during the times of COVID 19. I thank CalArts for the encouragement and appreciation.

篩選依據:

501 - 释放想象力:诗歌工作室 的 525 個評論(共 614 個)

創建者 AI L

2015年9月16日

Excellent dynamics.

創建者 Alexander P G

2018年6月6日

Loved this course.

創建者 Olga S

2017年2月18日

Juuuust fantastic!

創建者 Jhon E G

2015年8月25日

Just great! Thx.

創建者 Ojasvi G

2020年8月6日

I learnt so much

創建者 Debanjon M

2016年2月6日

Simply Splendid!

創建者 Gaurav R

2019年3月4日

A lot to learn.

創建者 Momo N

2015年9月10日

GREAT COURSE!!!

創建者 Myra F T

2017年9月14日

Great class!

創建者 LUIS O R G

2016年3月8日

Gran curso.

創建者 C E

2021年3月13日

Wonderful!

創建者 Djuro S

2016年11月11日

Inspiring!

創建者 MUHAMMED M K

2020年8月20日

Excellent

創建者 RobertBoucher

2017年12月28日

great fun

創建者 Ayman A

2021年5月31日

p​erfect

創建者 Diego S G

2018年9月27日

awesome!

創建者 Silvana A

2015年10月21日

¡Genial!

創建者 Luis C P D l R

2015年10月20日

Great!

創建者 Mario R P

2016年1月17日

S

創建者 Halimah A S

2016年1月3日

I

創建者 Angela B

2022年6月3日

While the content of the course was excellent, I felt that the assessment components were frustrating in that you were forced to wait until someone on the course, from whatever area of the universe, might give some feedback on your work.

I​'m sure I originally completed the work by the beginning of March and decided to cut my losses after that since I was waiting for an operation anyway.

I​ have learned a lot because the American approach is so different from poetry writing in Scotland.

I​ am simply critical of the time it took for feedback to reach me and feel that the staff from CalArts could perhaps re-think how to monitor the progress.

F​rom flagging up an issue, I realise that a lot of students did not have English as their first language. Having been a high school teacher of modern languages and now voluinteer in schools with the 826 organisation, The SuperPower Agency in Scotland, I realise that other students should be advised to be more tolerant and kinder to those whose first language is not English.

創建者 Randall S S

2020年8月17日

Really great introduction to poetry and its construction. Inspired me in a way that I did not anticipate. Douglas Kearney is both entertaining and knowledgeable. The exercises were well thought out and provided a challenge that led me to develop new skills. A couple downsides are in need of mention:

1) The expectations were fairly minimal. This suited me when I had a busy week, but left me wanting more instruction and more exercises during an average week. The expectations should be enough to require near daily writing, not a once a week process.

2) The peer review process is broken. Many of my peers did not take their reviews seriously. Instead they provided minimal, meaningless reviews or no review at all ("good" is not a review!). The course organizers should be monitoring this and asking these students to terminate.

Despite these real problems, I truly enjoyed the content and the exercises, and learned from the comments of other serious students.

創建者 Alden B

2018年3月5日

I found the course both interesting and helpful. I had always shied away from formal poetic forms, preferring free verse, but I really enjoyed writing the crown cinquain. In fact, after I wrote in that form, I also wrote a sestina (though not as part of the course). I used to be involved in theatre, and I recall how structural limitations often stimulated creative solutions; I made the same discovery when working within poetic limitations. I found most of the suggestions from other readers quite helpful and believe that they enabled me improve the poems that I submitted. The course was structured well, and the video lectures were clear. I thought the prompts were good. The only thing the course lacked was feedback from a professional poet (the teacher), but I understand that the volume of work and the finances would militate against personal attention. Thanks for the course.

創建者 Meher A

2017年10月25日

The revision process was the most frustrating and challenging part of this course. I felt that more instruction could have been provided on this process such as providing extra readings, especially on how to tell when your work is done/revised. The rhythm section was also very confusing and attempted to cram together a lot of information in one section so the course could do with being more evenly paced, rather than introducing us to complex concepts all at once. Overall though, for a course that is available for free, this was a great resource for someone interested in writing poetry. It was engaging, especially yhe videos, and inspiring, especially the poems that were used. It also made me more aware of the tools that a poet can use to make their poems better. Thank you so much!

創建者 E.m. T

2016年6月11日

The course itself is amazing. I learned so much. I used to only write prose poetry and thanks to this course I was able to write different forms. Besides the mentors' give such great comments and they are always eager to help. Also the professor is funny and choose really good poems to analyse.

The only thing that was a pity is that people post their work, but few people want to actively comment on other people's poetry. It is not as participative as it could be. However, some workshops to comment to get comments.

All in all, truly amazing course!