Chevron Left
返回到 Mountains 101

學生對 阿尔伯塔大学 提供的 Mountains 101 的評價和反饋

4.9
853 個評分
300 個審閱

課程概述

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

熱門審閱

SK

Dec 23, 2017

So interesting! So well made, every lesson is thought out the interactive mountain map was a joy to complete each time! Incredibly thoughtful and sensitive to every aspect that touches the mountains.

KC

Apr 27, 2019

Absolutely loved every second of it! Reignited my love for geography and the outdoors with sleek, informative- documentary styled lectures. I found the course holistically enriching and fun!

篩選依據:

201 - Mountains 101 的 225 個評論(共 297 個)

創建者 George G S

Oct 18, 2017

Such a great presentation. I went straight through the entire course in two long evenings. Truly outstanding.

創建者 Elías B E

Aug 18, 2017

A really interesting and entertaining course. As a ranger in a national park in Iceland it also benefited me in my work.

My only complaints are that sometimes you can feel that the audio needs to be remastered. The sound quality of the lecturers voices vary during a single lecture and there is only one song used (which is too dramatic in the first place and already over used in week 2). Also, the prime minister ending was too much. It felt like having a desert that's way too sweet and you want to vomit.

But these are negligible factors. The course was great, thanks a lot!

創建者 Robert H S

Mar 24, 2017

Excellent course, very interesting material and great presentation - love the tech-tips.

創建者 Aurimas S

Jul 29, 2017

Not being from the mountainous country myself, I truly enjoy visiting and watching mountains. This course provided me with a lot of useful and interesting information, that will allow me to enjoy mountain even more in the future. The course is really nicely organized, the pictures and videos of mountains during lessons make them more entertaining (sometimes during lessons I needed to go backwards to re-listen to what was being told, because I focused my attention too much on the picturesque backgrounds :) ). The teachers were great, and the interviews throughout the course provided even more variety of information. Overall, one of the best and most professional online course I have taken over the years! Amazing job!

創建者 Radha J

Feb 24, 2017

Absolutely a must for anyone who is fascinated by nature and earth.

創建者 Andrei M

Jun 04, 2017

Definitely a good, multidisciplinary course. Would recommend it to others!

創建者 amit a

Nov 02, 2017

This course gave me a holistic understanding of the various aspects of mountains viz. historical,cultural, geological and ecological. The course is very well researched and the speakers are well acquainted with the subject. I would thank University of Alberta and Coursera for such a wonderful experience. I am looking forward for future courses which cover Himalayan mountains in detail. Thank you.

創建者 Yamil G

May 05, 2017

It was full of very interesting insights and general enough for everybody to take something out of it.

創建者 Camilo A G M

Aug 01, 2017

Excellent course, it's very complete and it reaches several disciplines, making it an integral course. Besides, it's interactive and it gives a lot of examples. Thanks for such a great course!

創建者 Pat B

Apr 03, 2017

If you enjoy the great outdoors, stunning scenery or learning about a variety of plants, animals and geological processes, this course could be for you! Not only does it explain how mountains are formed and degraded, it also teaches us about glaciers, the water cycle, and why mountain habitats change as the elevation increases. Mountain ecosystems are visited and adaptations of plants and animals to life in the cold, rugged landscape and sparse atmosphere are described. The effect of climate change on the world’s mountains is discussed. As well, each week features a short video with practical tips on a different aspect of hiking and camping in the mountains.

An interactive world map is available most weeks to locate mountains and ranges discussed in the course videos, and the weekly course notes are a handy memory-jogger of many main points. Specialists in many fields provide short segments and there are even visits from two well-known public figures. Although it is a 12-week course, the weekly time commitment is not large.

I thoroughly enjoyed this course.

創建者 Dimitra R

Jun 03, 2017

Excellent course, fascinating and incredibly well prepared and well researched. Thank you!

創建者 Elena B

May 29, 2017

Great in-depth, high quality course! I thoroughly enjoyed it throughout!

創建者 Brice P

Jan 27, 2018

Really good content and very interesting. The tech tips are a little vapid for the average outdoors person, but a good try to add something different.

My favorite was the module on altitudes effects and adaptations on humans

創建者 Kristopher A

Apr 04, 2017

This course was one of the best produced ones that I have seen on Coursera. The production quality of the videos is very professional and they interview experts in many different fields(history, literature, meteorology, biologists, etc.) to provide a very interdisciplinary view on the topic of the course. The quizzes aren't very challenging but they suggested plenty of supplemental material for those that want to learn more about the subject.

創建者 Deleted A

May 16, 2017

Excellent course! The quizzes are challenging and that is a plus!

創建者 Theresa W

Sep 23, 2017

Very interesting. Gives one a whole new perspective on Mountains.

創建者 Emily M

Jun 09, 2017

Very well planned, fascinating course. While the curriculum only has the tip of the iceberg, it was enough to get me interested in certain subjects to go research them on my own. I like that they have a section of Suggested Reading in the notes, it was nice to be able to have a direction to go when I wanted to read more on the different subjects. Great starter 101 course, had a lot of curriculum that I was pleasantly surprised to see!

Also, the videos were gorgeous, lots of beautiful mountain landscapes. Made it very enjoyable to watch!

創建者 Deborah M

Aug 27, 2017

I really enjoyed this course. I have learned a lot from this course. I am starting Intro to Physical geography at Wilfrid Laurier in Sept 2017 and surface of the Earth - geology course in Jan 2018, though a program called Access to University, with the faculty of Arts and The working Centre for non traditional students to pay for 5 courses and books. I will be 53 this year and most courses I took were medical courses, biology, anatomy... some engineering and electronics. I took this course to prepare myself as I go into an area completely unfamiliar to me. Who knows perhaps I will develop a new passion and continue on in Geography and possibly do the geomatics option. I think this course is a wonderful course to help prepare a student, everyone was very knowledgeable and all looked excited to share their knowledge. I think the only complaint I would have is that after 12 weeks I was getting tired of the opening music and wished for something different; therefore if that is the only complaint I have you know that you will enjoy this course. I have never been out west and now I more then ever want to travel there.

創建者 Ophelia

Oct 03, 2017

I found the course to be informative with just the right amount of difficulty, requiring me to pay close attention to the lectures and those interviewed. I was amazed over how much I learned and the absolute necessity of mountains and the ecosystem!

I commend the lecturers and the interviewees for their obvious devotion and commitment to the preservation of mountains and their habitats.

Without hesitation I give the course 5 Stars!

創建者 Carol B

Apr 29, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed the course information and presentation

創建者 Pedro C D L C

Jul 28, 2017

Extraordinary MOOC experience. Thanks to University of Alberta and all who made this course possible.

創建者 Michala

Jun 14, 2017

Another wonderfully interesting course from the University of Alberta. And a surprise cameo by Justin Trudeau too?! I need to go hiking immediately.

創建者 Virginia N F C

Sep 19, 2017

thank you very much for thic curse. I connected to mountain environments even more. tahnk you for taking the time for preparing this course and leaving it open and free for the world.

創建者 Stefan V

Feb 22, 2017

A very nice course for people who are clueless about mountains. It made me appreciate them more than before.

創建者 Valeria M

May 21, 2018

Excellent material and information. Very well done videos and assignments. The teachers have an ability to deliver 'class' in an interesting and entertaining way. The guests and interviews were very adequate to the subject and helped expand the information given in the course. Great quality content all around.