Chevron Left
返回到 Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

學生對 加州大学戴维斯分校 提供的 Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know 的評價和反饋

4.7
4,042 個評分
986 條評論

課程概述

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

熱門審閱

ZM

2017年7月17日

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

DK

2020年9月23日

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

篩選依據:

101 - Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know 的 125 個評論(共 986 個)

創建者 Ramya P

2020年5月14日

We know how vast the material science filed is. This course is the one of the best and effective way to gain insight of important materials science aspects for the engineering applications

創建者 洪崧貿

2018年4月20日

I'm an engineer with material science background. This course reminds me a lot of knowledge with simple way and make things clear. I hope that i can use these useful knowledge on my work.

創建者 MOHAMED M P

2020年6月28日

It was very nice experience for me in reviewing so many basic thing and that are very much important in my professional job as working in the field of inspection of pipe lines

創建者 Yulei F

2019年2月14日

pretty good, the professor deliver the lecture in a very vivid way and what really surprise me is that I can get so much knowledge from this short course.thank you, professor.

創建者 Muhammad J A

2016年1月23日

The Course is designed so well by the UC Davis and Coursera. And the discussion forum is also really helpful for me while studying this course. It's really a great experience.

創建者 MACCHA D K

2016年1月10日

its been an awesome experience through the course. The topics have taught interestingly with relevant examples throughout the lecture's. Finally my sincere thanks to Mr.James

創建者 Jayadevan P C

2021年2月8日

It is a very good course for all mechanical engineering fellows.. For other disciplines too, no need of any basic fundamental understanding, this course will give you that.

創建者 noli e

2020年7月5日

I learned much about this course. with the simple but detailed discussion of dr. James Shackelford, I got more interest to pursue he study materials science and engineering

創建者 Jessalyn C G

2020年9月13日

As aspirant Materials Scientist I learned to understand and emphasize how the history of materials influences its structure and the material's properties and performance.

創建者 Gavin H

2016年12月8日

As and organic chemist working in a materials company, mainly adhesives, I found this course to be an excellent introduction to material testing and material science in ge

創建者 Mohtashim A

2022年3月15日

It was a great course and a must-do for engineers. Its great the way it explains all the outline of Material Science and important concepts in an easy and precise manner.

創建者 Steffen C

2020年10月19日

Great course, very manageable with the concept of splitting it over 5 weeks of learning. Especially the introduction of the "Big Four" mechanical properties is well done.

創建者 Moez B

2016年7月12日

Excellent course on the basics of properties of materials. It is a well-designed, well-delivered course on the essentials in materials science. Thanks for a fun course.

創建者 Dr. Y D

2020年5月10日

I want to join much more courses as given by James Shackelford Sir.

I want to pursue my Post Doctoral studies under his spuervision at UCDavis extension at Kemper Hall.

創建者 THIRUMAL P

2020年4月9日

This is excellent course,this way we are increasing our knowledge,checking our potential and correct our mistakes easily.I enjoyed this season,thanks a lot to coursera

創建者 Ann R

2021年2月15日

It was a great refresher learning for me. I would recommend this to aspiring beginners for Material Science and those who wants to shift career to Material Science.

創建者 011 A Y

2020年9月28日

I learnt a lot of new and amazing stuff from the course regarding metals ,ceramics, how structure leads to property , how temperature affects the metals properties.

創建者 Dhandhukia J A

2020年7月14日

This is one of the best course for each engineer to know the fundamentals of material science. It will definitely help everyone for their future engineering career

創建者 r u

2020年5月12日

This course is very good and most useful to undergraduate , post graduate, faculty, and also research scholars. Without material science there is no manufacturing

創建者 Hamed K

2020年4月16日

A good and straightforward course giving enough fundamental knowledge for engineering students of any track. The professor also explains the topics quite clearly.

創建者 Zainul

2015年12月10日

Nice, this is by far my most exciting course, i am only 17 and in my country i don't learn a wide range of science in my syllabus. This helps me understood a lot.

創建者 Hepin g

2021年9月29日

Truly amazing experience after completion of course. The depth of course and amount of content covered is well planned and helpful at applied science industries.

創建者 Manivel M

2020年4月3日

The course was taught with practical applications and some illustrations to understand easily. I thank the course Instructor a lot for his effort in this regard.

創建者 Nishant C

2017年7月23日

The entire course is very well planned and advances very systematically. It has been of very help in strengthening my practical as well as theoretical knowledge.

創建者 Aditya B

2017年9月9日

A very useful and informative starting course for practicing engineer like myself. I would really like to thank Dr. James Shackelford and UC Davis course team.