Chevron Left
返回到 International Law in Action: A Guide to the International Courts and Tribunals in The Hague

學生對 莱顿大学 提供的 International Law in Action: A Guide to the International Courts and Tribunals in The Hague 的評價和反饋

4.8
942 個評分
187 條評論

課程概述

International Law in Action explains the functions of each international court and tribunal present in The Hague, and it looks at how these institutions address contemporary problems. On the basis of selected cases, and through interviews with judges and lawyers, you will explore the role of these courts and tribunals and their potential to contribute to global justice. The first module of the course will investigate how judicial settlement is different from other more political forms of dispute settlement, such as negotiation and mediation. It offers a brief historical overview and introduces the judicial and arbitral bodies based in The Hague. In the remaining modules you will learn about the functions of these courts and tribunals, and some of the challenges and prospects that they face. Three cross-cutting themes tie together all of these modules: (i) The interaction between law and politics; (ii) The continuing role of State consent; and (iii) The ability of international courts and tribunals to protect the public interest and global values. This course offers you an opportunity to gain a better insight into the functions and features of the courts and tribunals present in The Hague. You will gain a familiarity with each court or tribunal. You will develop realistic expectations of their capacity to address contemporary problems and an awareness of their limitations. You will also be able to discuss some of their most prominent cases. If you would like to have a better understanding of international law in action in The Hague, this is definitely the course for you! This course is free to join and to participate in. There is the possibility to get a verified certificate for the course, which is a paid option. If you want a certificate, but are unable to pay for it, you can request financial aid via Coursera...

熱門審閱

MV
2019年4月28日

It was good overview course about three main international courts in The Hague. The lectures were good structured and clear. Interviews were impressed and made international court practices "real".

TD
2019年3月23日

Very informative and quite challenging\n\nThis course has provided me with material and resources to be able to think about larger ideas and the extent to which International Law is important.

篩選依據:

151 - International Law in Action: A Guide to the International Courts and Tribunals in The Hague 的 175 個評論(共 184 個)

創建者 Mohsen L G

2016年10月11日

good

創建者 Ricardo J O

2016年1月24日

I will give it a 4, but 3.5 would be my review if the 3.5 mark would be available.

Strenghts of the course: Solid and elegant presentations, good readings, and the interviews presented with the ICJ judge and the PCA secretary added value.

Weakeness and Opportunites: No slides, excessivelly short course in video resources (discounting the interviews, it had about 20-40 minutes of videos, what is clearly insuficient, when benchmarking with other offerings in the MOOC 'arena') and allowing quizzes to be taken on a 2x per hour is not in my opinion adequate. It makes it too easy and fast to finish the course and does not create an incentive to review the materials. Leiden should focus in presenting more specializations in the educational fields that it has reputation - Law, Tax Law, International Studies, in order to capture more value from the current lack of offerings of specializations in that niche markets.

Threats: There is a lot of offerings on the MOOC space, with a finite time availability to make choices. By having courses that are very short, there is the risk that people become inclined to chose other offerings that offer more video resources and other materials.

Besides my opinion - I am a critic by design, thank you for continuing offering courses in this platform.

I wish you luck.

Ricardo Oliveira

創建者 Beng K J L

2019年11月19日

Only into week 2 of course syllabus and to discover the extremely knowledgeable and powerful ways of how international laws have the effects on the relativity of states and our modern society. The contents of the course were at the same time intriguing to direct and guide on how international laws can protect and serve justice towards peace and understanding. This course also enhances ones ability to understand "personal rights" and how the courts and laws can aid in these current times. Points out the flaws and the ugly side to the realities of the functions of modern warfare and it's dirt!

Clearly astonishing!

創建者 Ashley B

2017年2月11日

The course itself was well designed and presented, however, there was sometimes too much information included in each sentence for someone who was unfamiliar with the topic. I had to watch several of the videos more than twice in order to note down and clarify the information that was presented. Also, some of the quizzes included information that was briefly mentioned in the videos but not clearly elaborated resulting in some confusion when it was time to complete the evaluation.

創建者 Oliver B

2017年7月13日

This course is an excellent introduction to the various courts based in The Hague. It is introductory, but has a wide scope and sufficient detail as such. The mode of examination is not too difficult, so it doesn't feel 'prestigious' or anything, but this also means it is low pressure and accessible. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in the institutions.

:)

創建者 Sarah P

2020年5月25日

This course was a fantastic introduction to International Law for me. I found some of the readings challenging, but the videos helped create a great framework to work from. I am hoping to take the other MOOCs in this wheelhouse!

創建者 Budulla T F M

2017年1月24日

A great course with a very good overview on the international courts and tribunals of the hague and is very helpful to the better understanding of internationals tribunals specially for law students in their first years.

創建者 Carmelo M

2016年2月15日

A very informative and valuable learning experience. Highly recommended for the global citizen striving to navigate the often complex halls of international power and justice.

創建者 Pedro M

2016年8月30日

Excellent course! I have learnt a lot about international justice tribunals, arbitration and international law. Highly recommended for general knowledge and for law students.

創建者 Jose A C R

2016年5月20日

Excellent introduction to the International courts system. More details on Investor-State Arbitration or perhaps a course exclusively on the topic would be great!

創建者 Neira D

2018年2月12日

The course was very informative, with repeating themes that embedded the information into my memory. Would recommend if you have an interest for the topic.

創建者 Aram O

2017年1月3日

The course is rather interesting. However it is worth mentioning that the course is very initial introduction without detailed materials in the topic!

創建者 Mohamed A

2018年2月25日

This course was really helpfull to build a basic understanding of international courts and tribunals that are based in the Hague

創建者 Sarah A S

2016年2月28日

Very interesting and thought provoking course. Well balanced with wonderful references and recommended readings.

創建者 Alireza R

2016年5月15日

All tribunals and courts in the Hague are mentioned in this course but the Iran-United States Claims Tribunal.

創建者 Pedro V F S M

2016年2月27日

Amazing course! A great to tool for anyone interested in International Law.

I felt i learned a lot. Thanks!

創建者 Amirhosein M

2016年12月29日

This course was very good and i hope to see you in leiden university in summer school. thank you

創建者 Luis M X d C

2016年9月21日

Interesting course but was expecting something sligtly different.

創建者 YI-FANG Y

2016年9月1日

Basic understanding. Recommend to those under graduate students.

創建者 Hélène J d G

2016年10月2日

The course is excellent for beginners in international law

創建者 Geordie K

2018年2月23日

Good course to learn the basics of international courts.

創建者 Julie R

2017年5月25日

Very interesting course with good examples.

創建者 Hun L

2017年9月22日

Thank you for the wonderful modules.

創建者 Rahul B

2019年1月16日

Good reading and reference material

創建者 saumya s

2020年5月21日

generally a informative course..