Chevron Left
返回到 Essential Design Principles for Tableau

學生對 加州大学戴维斯分校 提供的 Essential Design Principles for Tableau 的評價和反饋

4.5
1,525 個評分
242 條評論

課程概述

In this course, you will analyze and apply essential design principles to your Tableau visualizations. This course assumes you understand the tools within Tableau and have some knowledge of the fundamental concepts of data visualization. You will define and examine the similarities and differences of exploratory and explanatory analysis as well as begin to ask the right questions about what’s needed in a visualization. You will assess how data and design work together, including how to choose the appropriate visual representation for your data, and the difference between effective and ineffective visuals. You will apply effective best practice design principles to your data visualizations and be able to illustrate examples of strategic use of contrast to highlight important elements. You will evaluate pre-attentive attributes and why they are important in visualizations. You will exam the importance of using the "right" amount of color and in the right place and be able to apply design principles to de-clutter your data visualization....

熱門審閱

SL

Jun 02, 2020

This course really changed my perspective in how to create visualization not just using Tableau but in every visualization application. I'm very happy I could take it and learned from it.

VL

Mar 11, 2018

The course uncovers the science of the design for data. It is certainly very helpful for my job where have to present a lot of data in different perspectives for senior management.

篩選依據:

201 - Essential Design Principles for Tableau 的 225 個評論(共 243 個)

創建者 Nicole B

Sep 30, 2020

Good content on Gestalt and other factors that impact how a visualization is received; however, the instructors didn't take the time to teach HOW they were getting certain results, which seems odd for a Tableau course. I wish they had broken down how they were arriving at different visual effects instead of whipping through and solely concentrating on the theories.

創建者 Mark A

Mar 13, 2018

Would like more practical application of lessons in Tableau (vs almost entirely principles/theory), particularly with the guest instructor, who is very knowledgeable but only lectures. I got bored listening to lecture after lecture without doing anything or course directed application of what is taught.

創建者 Lindsay J

Jan 09, 2019

Good course, but would have preferred clearer step-by-step instruction on Tableau. Honestly, that was the weakest part. The instructor did not explain where he was clicking, moved around quickly, like a Tableau expert. I had to look it up online and in my personal "Practical Tableau" book.

創建者 Joan C

Jun 25, 2020

I'm not from a sales background. It might be just me, but i had to learn what is profit ratio, trends and whether my calculations were actually done correctly and in the right context. Having a couple of scenarios where it can be applicable to real life work would be better.

創建者 Deaglan D

Sep 02, 2017

This course starts out really strong, but around Design Best Practices, the Govind begins to sound drunk. He slurs, exaggerates, repeats himself, and takes longer than necessary to execute tasks. This is distracting and very disappointing from UC Davis and Coursera.

創建者 Dennis M

Jul 03, 2017

Nice overview of design best practices and some more basic usage of Tableau. However, my problem with the courses in this specialization is that the material is quickly becoming repetitive. Instead of the courses building on each other, they repeat prior material.

創建者 Erin R

Jan 03, 2018

A good course if you're looking at design principles as they apply to any visualization, data specific or otherwise. There is, however, minimal practical applications within Tableau itself. This could easily fit into a graphic design or Excel specialization.

創建者 Sudha S

Jul 25, 2020

Although it is a part of the tableau specialisation, the course focus is more on design principles rather than anything to do with Tableau. Definitely interesting, but might be better to rename the course so learners know what they are signing up for!

創建者 Shubham A

Apr 27, 2018

Course is great but peer review is horrible. Clearly a professional is needed to review the work in the end. My marks were reduced because peer reviewers couldn't understand how to make visualization effective and show data without any bias.

創建者 Amy D

Jul 01, 2019

The course is very theoretical and provides great articles and for great discussion. I was hoping for more interaction, and I'd also like more video content with fewer introductions. The music gets very annoying.

創建者 Jose D L C

May 03, 2018

While the theories and concepts were good and made sense there was not enough practical content to be able to cement these ideas, meaning there is extra effort on having to retain these concepts.

創建者 Devin Z

Sep 12, 2019

Instructions for the final assignment should be more specific since I had to resubmit it multiple times before someone left feedback about using the profit ratio to gain full points

創建者 Corey G

Feb 06, 2017

The assignment for week 2 should have been the last assignment in this sequence and was not clearly explained or taught in the videos.

創建者 Lin Y

Aug 18, 2019

This course is alright, straightforward but un-surprising. Need more course material on HOW to use Tableau's functions.

創建者 sebastian s v

Aug 06, 2017

I would like to have more additional material to read..i think the videos are not enougth

創建者 Méliani

May 02, 2017

A littler redundant when you compare it to the previoud courses.

The map part is good.

創建者 Drew O

Feb 06, 2017

This course is only useful if you have no experience visualizing data.

創建者 Andrew A

Mar 13, 2020

Good backgrounder, but should have incorporated Tableau a bit more.

創建者 Laurent B

Feb 20, 2020

I think the course must be more practical and less theoretical.

創建者 Ponciano R

Mar 12, 2019

Good for an introductory course, needs more practice exercises.

創建者 Carlos S

Mar 29, 2018

its still quite basic, not many Tableau training. But i

創建者 Radosław K

Jan 30, 2018

Theory, theory and once again theory ...

創建者 Gail N

Mar 24, 2017

Content is excellent, support is not.

創建者 Nino M

Jun 30, 2019

More practice would be helpful

創建者 LUIS G

Jan 03, 2018

very subjective section.