Chevron Left
返回到 数据库管理精要

學生對 科罗拉多大学系统 提供的 数据库管理精要 的評價和反饋

4.6
2,466 個評分
609 條評論

課程概述

Database Management Essentials provides the foundation you need for a career in database development, data warehousing, or business intelligence, as well as for the entire Data Warehousing for Business Intelligence specialization. In this course, you will create relational databases, write SQL statements to extract information to satisfy business reporting requests, create entity relationship diagrams (ERDs) to design databases, and analyze table designs for excessive redundancy. As you develop these skills, you will use either Oracle, MySQL, or PostgreSQL to execute SQL statements and a database diagramming tool such as the ER Assistant or Visual Paradigm to create ERDs. We’ve designed this course to ensure a common foundation for specialization learners. Everyone taking the course can jump right in with writing SQL statements in Oracle, MySQL, or PostgreSQL....

熱門審閱

AS
2020年6月28日

Very good to every beginner out there trying to get into database management , tasks are really educational , only the normalization section needs more clarification. but as a total it is awesome

DN
2020年9月21日

The course is well structured and the tools used for building the conceptual model are quite user friendly. The course has given a better understanding of the database management systems.

篩選依據:

551 - 数据库管理精要 的 575 個評論(共 592 個)

創建者 Brian M

2016年5月4日

The specialization is great, and the course breadth and topics described in each is equally good. For this course, however, I felt like I could have covered what was taught by myself with a book, i.e. I didn't feel like it was class room level engaging with the explanations.

I realized this is a one way MOOC, but I've taken courses off and on since they came out, and some others felt more interactive. This was more of here's a slide, I will read what's on the slide and explain some topics. The assignments were not bad, but definitely took more time than stated (just keep that in mind). The other thing that would help immensely is having TAs in the course. It's possible that they may get some later, but I've felt I learned/got feedback a lot more in courses with TAs.

That said, this is an excellent introduction to databases course, and there's not many of them out there. If I had to go it again, I would, and I also paid for getting the cert - if anything for career advancement and having it on your LinkedIn profile as a starter DB course.

創建者 Matko V

2016年7月10日

Nice introductory course for database management. Assignments are challenging enough for beginners like me but I like that. If I'm already 'investing' my time into something I expect to learn something in return. This course gave me that kind of reciprocity. Course would benefit from radically different approach to video-lessons. Reading from power-point slides which are written in the same manner, have identical structure tends to become tedious after a while. Professor seems nice and knowledgeable but a bit more relaxed and/or engaging approach would be beneficial to many. Oh, and peer-reviewed grading, wherever possible, should be replaced with an auto-grader. That's not a critique, though. Not quite sure if it's even possible with this kind of material.

創建者 Noel S

2016年10月23日

The material is fine but the course isn't taught well. The instructor tends to start talking immediately in subject jargon and abbreviations without first giving students an intro or explaining foundation material first. It seems a lot of material is left out of the lectures and slides on purpose and forces students to buy the instructor recommended text book (which is also authored by the instructor). After each lecture I'm forced to Google search a lot of what was mentioned before I even understood half of what the instructor was talking about. I didn't pay to listen to something that forces me to Google search everything.

創建者 Thomas M

2020年6月29日

Assignments are well paced and easily digestible. There is an issue with assignment marking though- It seems that people are submitting answers that aren't there own work, presumably to get the certificate at the end. This may erode the perceived value of the certificate and therefore the value of the course. I also noticed that my assignments weren't marked to the highest standard either (Ie. I had mistakes and they weren't picked up by either marker). Rectify this and it may improve the legitimacy of the cert. Otherwise, I learned a lot! Thanks for a well designed course :)

創建者 Jason L

2016年5月7日

Pros: Information is perfect for anyone looking at Business Intelligence as a career field, or already in the career field itself. I found the first week to challenge my on-the-job knowledge of a fuller set of concepts and general terminology.

Cons: The wording on the quiz questions, in some cases, seems much different than the PPT slides and the instructor's language. UPDATE: The wording is a significant challenge, even when advancing into the more complex topics. I have had many differences of opinions on the solutions based on wording in the requirements.

創建者 John E G S

2020年9月28日

The course is very good. However, I think the explanations could be better, with better examples.

Other thing, the subtitles in some ocassions have a lag respect to the image in the video. For people like me whose first language isn't english, we use the subtitles for a better understanding, the lag makes hinders our learning. Anyway, the course it's good to improve the knowledge in ERD's, queries, some tools and DBMS.

創建者 Cristy R

2020年6月9日

This course has great content, but the peer review process is lacking structure. I found that most of my peer reviews were marked less than 100 with no guidance of what errors I had made, just the comment 'good'. There were also many mistakes in the answer keys, but no clear way to notify the instructor of the issues there were found.

創建者 Harshit S

2017年10月17日

Start of this course was very good. But after week 5, assignments became very repetitive and most of the assignments were based on developing an ERD in a tool called ER Assistant. I feel like this part could be covered in 2 weeks time and more stress could have been given to the SQL part of the course.

創建者 Ajay J

2019年6月12日

Though content is good slides and delivery style could be better. More comparison with latest technologies can be provided. Need for more interactive quizzes so as to make it more relevant to fast-changing database world.

創建者 STEVEN V D

2018年5月16日

Good course with a lot of hands-on assignments. Sometimes the lectures could be brought in a more intuitive way and were a bit 'over-theorized', which made relatively simple concepts seem more complex than they were.

創建者 TylerOtto

2016年8月16日

Great content, horrible technical support from Coursera and the team that runs this program (since it is clearly obvious that Michael Mannino just recorded the videos and is not part of the class anymore).

創建者 Xiyu F

2016年6月15日

The course was clear, I had difficulties to find course materials, especially examples were used in the video class, I wish they had been put in more obvious places.

創建者 Manasa T

2020年11月7日

This is a good course for beginners out there. The examples make you understand the concept partially only. It tends to steer towards the boring side a little.

創建者 Arushi D

2020年5月3日

The instructors were really helpful throughout the course. Although this was a basic course, but it was informative and very much helpful.

創建者 Donatien L

2016年1月27日

Interesting, I would have liked to deepen SQL knowledge and practice. The conceptual parti seems a little bit too important.

創建者 Saatvik N

2020年10月28日

Good for the most part, but some parts were covered too fast, and normalization was covered without adequate explanation

創建者 Rana Q U Z

2016年9月2日

This course is really helpful About Database Systems.

創建者 Cesar O M

2016年1月3日

I wish to have more contact with the academic crew.

創建者 Amber B

2016年10月5日

Need more lessons on nested queries and subqueries

創建者 Ayush J

2020年5月14日

You can give a better explanation of ERD concepts

創建者 Madhusoodhan S

2016年11月18日

A free book to read would have been nice.

創建者 HYEOK K

2020年6月20日

not enough explanation about tools

創建者 Aditi

2020年1月3日

Baaic understanding about Database

創建者 Marcel N

2016年9月13日

Peer Review is sub-optimal

創建者 Meena V

2018年12月13日

Very time consuming.