Chevron Left
返回到 Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

學生對 卫斯连大学 提供的 Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot 的評價和反饋

4.7
4,320 個評分

課程概述

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

熱門審閱

LB

2018年11月15日

Great information about plot and scene structure. The information about revision was entirely new to me - thank you! The exercises were good and difficult in a good way that helped me hone my writing.

SD

2020年7月13日

It seems easy at the start; give it a week or two and you will be very surprised -- with yourself and your reaction to the feedback.

The instructions are easy to follow, the insights are priceless.

篩選依據:

1426 - Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot 的 1450 個評論(共 1,459 個)

創建者 Justin S

2020年9月9日

the grading system could improve star selection process such as grammar; clarity; congruency; originality; captivation may broaden the critque of the story

創建者 katherine l

2018年4月2日

Materials were engaging. Some assignment direction was a little vague. Some professional interaction or review would help to supplement the peer review.

創建者 Youssef A

2020年6月10日

What's most beneficial about this course are the assignments rather than the videos. I do wish though we got some feedback from the instructor himself.

創建者 S. J W

2016年2月27日

Someone needs to review/proofread the final part and assignment. Many students were/are confused about the final assignment. Revise the video too.

創建者 Paul C

2018年10月28日

Too many interviews without delving into the core of the subject. There were some good tips but left feeling disappointed.

創建者 Jesica M E D B

2016年8月22日

The course is nice and informative. Unfortunately one can not do any of the pear rated assignments or pear reviews.

創建者 Fatema R

2021年12月25日

Very basic overview of plot, great for giving amateur writers a push in developing their stories.

創建者 Nima Y Z

2020年11月8日

The course was very practical and I learned very useful content and tips.

創建者 Mariana C

2020年3月28日

Good morning. How can I unenroll? It is not what I expected. Thank you.

創建者 priya v

2016年12月21日

it would have been great if the final assignment had been grade

創建者 ahmed i

2017年1月17日

it seems good and hopefully will be valuable in my context

創建者 Digant K

2016年3月27日

So overly simple with a lack of details in the steps.

創建者 Michael K H

2021年5月26日

Very very good assignments. Peer grading was poor.

創建者 Zamzam A

2020年3月19日

I feel we need professional assignment reviews.

創建者 Mohammed A

2016年8月18日

Nice, informative, but basic and short.

創建者 David K

2021年8月12日

I didn't get any feedback

創建者 Juliana C

2021年2月17日

The course is interesting, but the videos are not enough. The instructor is charismatic and friendly. I received very poor feedback from peers ('yes/no/good' answers without any useful information). I did get some useful feedback. And on the last assignment, the program algorithm doesn't match a reviewer which could force you to pay another month, just to get the last review and the certificate. The course is worth the $50, but the review/feedback system is terrible. I will not proceed with the remaining 4 courses (which would mean spending an additional $200). This is very sad, as I was excited about taking writing classes online. Maybe they can limit the number of participants and add a few TAs/mentors to give more valuable feedback.

創建者 Joe F

2022年1月27日

While the content of the course itself is potentially helpful, I found the feedback from peers abysmal. I invested in thoughtfully reviewing the work of others and got back blather as feedback; nothing actionable. And peer feedback is the main reason I would pay for a subscription! I could get comparable or better content from a book, blog, or free online videos.

After viewing comments on the "Community," where concerns go unanswered by Coursera staff, I realized poor feedback is something of a norm now. It's too bad. This platform had potential.

I'm going to cancel before the 7-day trial ends. Simply not worth my time or money.

創建者 Nikole H

2022年6月3日

I felt like the instructional videos offered a pretty general introduction to the concepts, and didn't feel sufficiently prepared to complete the different assignments. The "What's Up, Doc?" assignment felt like it was the one with the clearest instructions and structure, so expectations were clear. For the others, it was very challenging to understand what we were supposed to write. I think it would be helpful to provide more examples (like in the "What's Up, Doc?" assignment) to provide clearer instructions for students.

創建者 Neha J

2021年7月28日

I​t was a well paced course. Though for people who are reviewing the stories, i find that i wasnt very helpful when it come to evaluating the story and i felt those who rated my stories were not very critcal. they probably didnt know how to be. I feel for a course like this there should be an instructor evaluating the assignments. otherwise this course isnt very useful!

創建者 Veronica K

2021年7月19日

The videos are useful, but the peer-graded system of assignments is not. I don't think that the feedback from people with the same (or worse) writing skills is in any way helpful. I've had to review very poorly written pieces, and I don't think that being reviewed by their authors in return can enhance my writing skills.

創建者 Sofía G M

2020年8月6日

I feel like, even though it is a course about PLOT, they should give you suggestions and advice when it comes to developing other parts of your story (characters, for example). Also, I think there should be multiple SHORTER activities for us to practice more instead of just one HUGE assignment at the end of each lesson

創建者 Jennifer G

2020年8月16日

The pre-recorded lessons were good, but the assignments were unhelpful, as the peer critique process is highly flawed. Students need opportunities for professional critiques and face-to-face encounters with a cohort or associate professor...someone with some credentials or skin in the game.

創建者 Paulo S

2016年3月29日

I hope the instructions were cleary and not too vague that it was open to many interpretation. An example would have helped and the rubrics/criteria for grading should have been shown beforehand so students would be guided what points they would consider when making their piece.