Chevron Left
返回到 Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

學生對 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Computational Thinking for Problem Solving 的評價和反饋

4.7
781 個評分
266 條評論

課程概述

Computational thinking is the process of approaching a problem in a systematic manner and creating and expressing a solution such that it can be carried out by a computer. But you don't need to be a computer scientist to think like a computer scientist! In fact, we encourage students from any field of study to take this course. Many quantitative and data-centric problems can be solved using computational thinking and an understanding of computational thinking will give you a foundation for solving problems that have real-world, social impact. In this course, you will learn about the pillars of computational thinking, how computer scientists develop and analyze algorithms, and how solutions can be realized on a computer using the Python programming language. By the end of the course, you will be able to develop an algorithm and express it to the computer by writing a simple Python program. This course will introduce you to people from diverse professions who use computational thinking to solve problems. You will engage with a unique community of analytical thinkers and be encouraged to consider how you can make a positive social impact through computational thinking....

熱門審閱

J

Dec 19, 2018

Excellent course for beginners with enough depth, programming and computational theory to increase their computer science knowledge to a higher level. It builds a good foundation of how computers work

AW

Feb 04, 2019

The course is very well-designed and it helped me develop understand how to apply computational thinking in solving various types of problems as well as acquire basic skills of programming in Python.

篩選依據:

26 - Computational Thinking for Problem Solving 的 50 個評論(共 264 個)

創建者 Henry C

Aug 31, 2019

Enjoyed the learning and the structure of the course. Felt like I got a good introduction to Python. Learned a bunch about algorithms. I marked a star off because the online grading sometimes was vague. Additionally, it took a while to get feedback. I had a bit of programming experience, so I didn't have a huge challenge, but I can imagine if you are totally new, the assignments are really hard. It would be difficult to get the help and feedback that you need on their online forum system.

創建者 Matthew M

Aug 09, 2019

the auto-grader for programming assignments can be a bit unforgiving at times, but the course is challenging and thorough for a month-long course. Would recommend. To improve experience with the auto grader some more hints in the assignment page could help, for example offering some explanation of the return function before, rather than after, a quiz that required its use.

創建者 Joseph R

Jun 28, 2019

The course is great. I learned a lot. The support for the course is SUPER slow. It's hard to get any direct help for any questions or issues that you are having. Beware of assignment 4.7!

創建者 Tomas L

May 25, 2019

Great! I learned the value of planning before coding. However, I would like this course to be more challenging.

創建者 Renée F

Mar 08, 2019

could benefit from more active assistance with assignments, especially section 4

創建者 LUO Z

Apr 25, 2020

The content is good. But it's hard to get feedback from TA.

創建者 Anna C

Jun 10, 2020

This was definitely a very frustrating course. Most, if not all, assignments were not built on the video lectures. The phrasing of questions and instructions were confusing at times. I think the most frustrating thing of all was the time it took me to google all the "knowledge" that were necessary to complete the assignments, because they were not taught in the course at all. This was an introductory course to see if I would like the Master's degree that they are offering, but after this course, I don't think I would enjoy it. I think it is a good course, but there is definitely room for improvement.

創建者 Mohammad H

Jul 05, 2020

Although I do appreciate the high quality of the videos, pdf documents, and resources in the course, I have to rate the course 1 star.

First and foremost, the first week was doable for me personally, as an absolute beginner in computer science. However, the course quickly ramps up its intensity.

I found that a lot of the exercises and assignments were way beyond the level of the information taught and discussed in the video lectures.

I understand that as future developers and computer scientists, we are to try to look things up and understand things on our own, but I cannot help but feel that the gap between the lectures and the actual assignments is way too wide for an absolute beginner.

I think that if this course was targeted for an intermediate learner, it would deserve four to five stars, most definitely. However, for an absolute beginner, it's a bit too much to handle the assignments.

Also, the instructions for the assignments are very long and drawn out. It's hard to begin working on an assignment when it's asking so many things of you all at once. Many of these assignments, I feel, could have been split up into mini-assignments instead. It was too overwhelming and often times I had to figure out where to find the information that I needed in order to proceed.

I was excited to get to the part which actually runs through python coding, however, I too found this part to be too overwhelming and difficult.

The course goes from 0-100 real quick, and in my opinion, is much more suitable and doable for intermediate learners of the subject, not for beginners.

創建者 Harsha v P

May 23, 2019

please go with more technical and logical thinking.

創建者 Jim C

Nov 19, 2018

The instruction -- as well as production quality -- of the course was outstanding, the course was very well paced and laid out, with each new week building upon learned concepts from the previous. I had done some online tutorials in various coding languages in the past, but this course is different in that it devotes the majority of the time to really break down a problem and think about it -- computationally -- before writing a single line of code. This made the final portion of the course, implementing the solution in Python, so much more rewarding, enjoyable and fun. It all came together and I just felt so satisfied seeing the results.

The instructors (Chris Murphy and Susan Davidson) did a truly outstanding job explaining each concept and walking through examples to reinforce -- and both even threw in some humor for good measure, which helped to soften a very scientific and stereotyped field.

This course was a great intro for those questioning whether or not they are truly interested in Comp Sci, as it makes you take a simple everyday problem and think about it in a computational way. There are thousands of coding tutorials online but I would highly recommend taking this course first as it acts as almost a primer to getting your thought process in the right mindset before even looking at a programming language.

創建者 Jennifer M

Aug 19, 2019

The first three weeks of the course were excellent, especially the way in which algorithms are explained. Students then have the opportunity to gain experience via various assignments. The issue for me came in week 4. While the assignments at face value were not overly complex, completing them took more time than they should have. That is due partially to having to conduct research outside of the course materials in order to accomplish the objective. If this was made clear in the instructions it would have been less of an issue. Otherwise, I thoroughly enjoyed the instructors, and the TA was very responsive to questions/problems.

創建者 Holland D

Nov 27, 2018

This course is perfect for introducing those without a Computer Science background to the world of CS! By the end of the course you will be writing your own code. The professors are absolutely AMAZING and the effort put into designing this course is evident in each Lesson. I found that the material was clear, easy to understand, and incredibly useful. It teaches how to think in a computational way that is both holistic and streamlined. Overall, this was a fun, informative, and motivating course that I would HIGHLY recommend to everyone! I would take it again if I wasn't so excited to learn more Python!

創建者 Reza K G

Jul 17, 2020

This course is a beneficial and practical course for people who do not have any prior knowledge of computer science. The course covers the essential concepts of thinking as a computer scientist, in other words thinking in a logical way to solve a problem accurately.

This course is not only useful for the novice but also it is an excellent refreshment for any computer science graduates or even professionals to review the foundations of computer science and programming in an attractive way that a decent university such as Penn offers.

Both professors are amazing, and I have learned a lot.

Thank you,

創建者 Colby C

Jul 30, 2020

Overall, this was an awesome class and I was able to learn quite a bit. Having a background in IT, but not in computer science, I was able to learn the process behind computational thinking and how applications can be broken down and solved in steps. I had taken a few programing class while in undergrad but hadn't been taught the four pillars of computational thinking. Getting an introduction to Python was great as well and I plan on working with it in more detail. This class has really sparked my interest in all things computing and I plan on applying to the MCIT online program.

創建者 Riccardo M G

Apr 29, 2020

Excellent course for anyone with no prior experience in programming (or very basic, as was my case). It shows how to apply structured thinking to problem-solving, whether in a computational or an everyday situation. The assignments and exercises were great, and in some cases, you learn by reviewing other people's work. I finally learned how to program in Python (at least the basics), something I've been wanting for a long time! Congratulations to the University of Pennsylvania for creating this high-quality online course. Now I hope to keep learning more about this subject.

創建者 Zachary T

Sep 21, 2020

I overthought several parts towards the beginning just based on my experience, and wish a couple of questions were more clear (e.g. is modifying a variable and reassigning a variable to a different value the same thing? in part 3). I had had someone grading it that was more experienced and spoke my language natively (and I'm sure the feelings are mutual!) but even though I've been studying Python for a few months I learned a few things, especially in the parts on machine language, and also that putting ideas in flowchart form is a good way to impose rigor on one's ideas.

創建者 Bo-yun L

Apr 22, 2020

I've done several intro-level courses In Python programming before but this Is by far the most systematic Introduction to programming I have taken. Even though we didn't do any real programming until week 4 of the course, everything leading up to actual programming was every bit as valuable as learning the actual strokes of programming Itself, If not more valuable as It recalibrates ones brain to break from the normal patterns of Intuitive thinking. I can't wait to begin using what I learned on the job and learn more programming concepts.

創建者 Gaurav K

Aug 11, 2019

A well-structured course to explain computational thinking which can be applied to any complex problem in life (not just IT related). A good lesson on computer architecture to get an understanding on how computers work (was fascinating to know what binary number system means that is used to develop all these complex systems/apps we are surrounded by). It also covers basics of python programming language (Quizzes on them were challenging but exciting part of the course). Look forward to further computer science learning

創建者 Wenfei Z

Oct 01, 2020

Unlike other MOOC programming courses offered, this one teaches you how to think instead of how to follow step by step tutorial. Background in programming would be a very nice thing to have, and homework and projects would be quite challenging for those without prior exposure. The course could be really improved by offering more programming exercises and perhaps more test cases to debug student assignments. Overall, I think this is a good intro course, even for those who already have a background in programming.

創建者 Kimberly O

Nov 14, 2019

This is an exciting course to take and if you are persistent you shall succeed. It really made me flex my brain muscles. This course made me realise how much I love the IT field and gives me motivation to return to this field professionally. I look forward to taking more courses with UPenn. Also, the Teaching Staff gave excellent advice on solving one of my issues in coding. It required no clarification once I took a second revisit at his comments. Thank you for this experience.

創建者 Caleb B

Jul 21, 2019

Compelling lectures paired with practical implementations to reinforce computer science concepts forwarded by Professor Davidson and Professor Murphy makes this course truly stand out among my 5 years of graduate education. The online context allows for both efficient and expedient learning accessible to anyone with an internet connection. I've already began to contrive solutions to real world problems I face daily as a physician using the knowledge acquired from this course. 5/5.

創建者 Holden B W

Nov 12, 2018

Computational Thinking for Problem Solving is one of the best courses I have taken thus far on Coursera. The course is extremely organized, yet challenging (for non-CS majors) and forces one to learn a multitude of concepts that are prevalent in our world today. Hats off to the team at Penn Engineering for creating such a transformative, creative and intuitive approach to computational thinking, and applying the lesson material to real-world problems and solutions.

Best,

Holden

創建者 Pauline A G H

May 19, 2019

Even just after finishing week 1, I have noticed an improvement in how I go about the challenges in my work as I was already able to apply the basic concepts of computational thinking. The simplicity of their lectures even as they go through detailed explanations has helped me in understanding the concept and application of this course. I would definitely recommend this. In fact, I already did recommend it to some of my colleagues as I was taking it.

創建者 Greg C

Sep 20, 2019

This was an exceptional course, I learned a lot about the basics of computational thinking, how to break down problems into smaller problems and tackle them one step at a time. You don't realize how much you actually use computational thinking in real-life until you take this course. It progressed to more difficult topics throughout the course but as long as you read the instructions thoroughly you will be able to complete everything without help.

創建者 Andrew H

Jul 05, 2020

This is a challenging course, with a high volume of assignments. I would suggest doing this course by itself (not working on other courses at the same time.) Good progression of instruction and easy explanations. The week 4 programming assignments are challenging and sometimes frustrating, but that goes with it being new. I was able to complete them all within a week without extra assistance, checking the forum a few times.