Chevron Left
返回到 Astro 101: Black Holes

學生對 阿尔伯塔大学 提供的 Astro 101: Black Holes 的評價和反饋

4.8
308 個評分
95 條評論

課程概述

What is a black hole? Do they really exist? How do they form? How are they related to stars? What would happen if you fell into one? How do you see a black hole if they emit no light? What’s the difference between a black hole and a really dark star? Could a particle accelerator create a black hole? Can a black hole also be a worm hole or a time machine? In Astro 101: Black Holes, you will explore the concepts behind black holes. Using the theme of black holes, you will learn the basic ideas of astronomy, relativity, and quantum physics. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Describe the essential properties of black holes. • Explain recent black hole research using plain language and appropriate analogies. • Compare black holes in popular culture to modern physics to distinguish science fact from science fiction. • Describe the application of fundamental physical concepts including gravity, special and general relativity, and quantum mechanics to reported scientific observations. • Recognize different types of stars and distinguish which stars can potentially become black holes. • Differentiate types of black holes and classify each type as observed or theoretical. • Characterize formation theories associated with each type of black hole. • Identify different ways of detecting black holes, and appropriate technologies associated with each detection method. • Summarize the puzzles facing black hole researchers in modern science....

熱門審閱

PD

Feb 16, 2019

Great course, I thoroughly enjoyed it and learned a lot. The graphics and illustrations were fun and informative, and I also enjoyed the food scenes - helped stick it in my memory. Thanks much!

MG

Nov 22, 2019

I loved this course, because currently it is well for learn. Information about space time is the new Millennial tendency for learn. Thank's for all, and for make me better student.

篩選依據:

76 - Astro 101: Black Holes 的 99 個評論(共 99 個)

創建者 Ian T

Feb 01, 2019

very good high level introduction

創建者 Thiago d S V

Jan 27, 2019

very best course that I have seen

創建者 Xiaocan L

Sep 14, 2019

A good introduction course.

創建者 Kevin A

Aug 22, 2019

Nice informative course

創建者 Vivekanand

Jan 11, 2020

BEAUTIFULLY EXPLAINED

創建者 Armughan A

Oct 01, 2019

Very Informative

創建者 Markus W

Aug 06, 2019

T

創建者 Hussain Y

Dec 25, 2018

=

創建者 Robert C C

Nov 01, 2018

G

創建者 Miranda H

Jan 05, 2019

Very interesting course. Between the colourful backgrounds of the speakers, simple imagery and the food analogies, they made astronomical theories and evidence much easier to understand for those who do not come from a physics background. Perhaps minor issues here and there with sound and when the speaker was not looking directly at the screen it could be a little off-putting, but other than that, it was an amazing course. I come from a biological sciences background (specifically health sciences) and I found this quite easy to understand. Tests were also fair as they were based on theories and confirmed evidence rather than equations, and weren't too difficult if you paid attention to the videos. Even if you didn't 100% understand a concept, the images presented to you stick quite well in your mind to the point you are able to answer the test questions easier. Coming out of this, I now have a greater understanding of some of the greatest physics concepts from Newton, Einstein, and so on. I have also expanded my knowledge of astronomy and the universe, as I have been studying it since I was a little girl, but was unfortunately able to pursue it due to my strong dislike for physics (you know, boring plain Earth physics). This helped me to continue on my passion for astronomy while also avoiding those icky physics courses. Thanks to the UofA and their group of astronomers for putting this together for anyone needing their astronomy fix.

創建者 p v k

Mar 02, 2019

With professors who can shrink astronomical distances and explain concepts in time, space and cosmology with such lucidity and more importantly joy, this course was bound to be one ,which in literal sense, has transformed the black hole into a living vibrant entity. The team has rekindled the joy of learning in me and am sure in all students. Heartfelt thanks .

創建者 Amanda S

Feb 11, 2020

I took this course mainly as a refresher course for myself. I learned some new things that I enjoyed! I know this was a beginner course but I would have preferred the instructors showing how to calculate the few equations that they talked about at least. I feel a lot of information was spoken about briefly and not depthfully enough to fully grasp.

創建者 John B

Mar 22, 2019

Great pace and great teachers! Would have loved more math-based problems to practice the formulas and calculations, but that's just me. A must-take course if you're starting out on your quest to understand the Universe.

創建者 Steven G

Jul 10, 2019

An excellent introductory course into the physics of black holes. I only gave it four stars since I felt it could have had more mathematics content for students that want to dig a little deeper into the material.

創建者 Kirubarani.T

May 16, 2020

Super course...there are many informations about black holes are presented. and their communication language was easily understand to all..thank you so much for offer the course

創建者 Mikaeel S

Sep 16, 2019

It was a fun course, however it would have been more fun if there was more interactive stuff to do.

創建者 keith b

Jul 02, 2019

taught me the latest theories on black holes and some physical principles of related science

創建者 Abdessamad M

May 10, 2019

Good course, it introduced me to the black hole theory in a easy way.

創建者 Joy S

Sep 03, 2018

Fascinating. Plus they get into Star Trek. Pretty technical, though

創建者 Kaustuv L

May 28, 2020

Could involve a little more mathematics.

創建者 Oleksandra O

May 10, 2020

All movies were cool.

創建者 Marc B

Jan 26, 2019

This course is very well produced and interesting. However, it is not challenging enough. It should at least propose a weekly set of problems (possibly on a voluntary basis) requiring a modicum of physics and math skills. As it stands, it tells a pretty story but does not allow a student to grasp how the story was put together. I gained much information about BHs and other celestial objects, but zero new skill. In addition, I find that lecturers reading prompters make for lifeless presentations that are not clearly superior to being assigned to read a transcript or book chapter. I thought that the staff engaged very effectively with the students on the forum.

創建者 Salman A N

Dec 23, 2018

A good course, with satisfactory content, good for physics undergraduate students and others fascinated by the beauties of the cosmos.