Chevron Left
返回到 Astro 101: Black Holes

學生對 阿尔伯塔大学 提供的 Astro 101: Black Holes 的評價和反饋

4.8
213 個評分
67 個審閱

課程概述

What is a black hole? Do they really exist? How do they form? How are they related to stars? What would happen if you fell into one? How do you see a black hole if they emit no light? What’s the difference between a black hole and a really dark star? Could a particle accelerator create a black hole? Can a black hole also be a worm hole or a time machine? In Astro 101: Black Holes, you will explore the concepts behind black holes. Using the theme of black holes, you will learn the basic ideas of astronomy, relativity, and quantum physics. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Describe the essential properties of black holes. • Explain recent black hole research using plain language and appropriate analogies. • Compare black holes in popular culture to modern physics to distinguish science fact from science fiction. • Describe the application of fundamental physical concepts including gravity, special and general relativity, and quantum mechanics to reported scientific observations. • Recognize different types of stars and distinguish which stars can potentially become black holes. • Differentiate types of black holes and classify each type as observed or theoretical. • Characterize formation theories associated with each type of black hole. • Identify different ways of detecting black holes, and appropriate technologies associated with each detection method. • Summarize the puzzles facing black hole researchers in modern science....

熱門審閱

PD

Feb 16, 2019

Great course, I thoroughly enjoyed it and learned a lot. The graphics and illustrations were fun and informative, and I also enjoyed the food scenes - helped stick it in my memory. Thanks much!

MG

Nov 22, 2019

I loved this course, because currently it is well for learn. Information about space time is the new Millennial tendency for learn. Thank's for all, and for make me better student.

篩選依據:

26 - Astro 101: Black Holes 的 50 個評論(共 67 個)

創建者 Charles R B

Nov 12, 2018

Almost perfect. 1 lecturer absolutely natural delivery, main lecturer ok, 2 lecturers need more rehearsal, but not everyone is smooth in front of a camera. Course could stand to have a little better constructed quiz questions, add more than just multiple guess, and could stand to have an exam at the end. Course has the right amount of maths, as "Physics" is not in it's title. Concepts are well presented and illustrated. Nicely done! P.S. JJDrek is NOT Star Trek.

創建者 John K H

Nov 13, 2018

Learned a lot about black holes which weren't even mentioned in my astronomy books when I first started being interested in astronomy when I was a boy as my dad (a former RAF navigator taught me to find my way round the sky) Interestingly enough the clip of the train demonstrating the Doppler effect was shot at Brandon - one of his "targets" during his training a Rivers Manitoba in 1942!

A great course which really stimulated the old grey cells and as far as I can say to be highly recommended!

John H

創建者 Marie R

Sep 06, 2018

I loved every part of this course, especially how clearly everything was explained. I also really loved the annimations, design and little props that were used to explain things more clearly. I really feel like I'v learned so much and am actually a little bit sad that I'm finished. Thanks for the wonderful oppertunity to learn about something so fascinating!

創建者 Coreen M

Aug 24, 2018

An engaging and highly entertaining course with excellent animation and presentation

創建者 Russell T F

Jun 27, 2018

I am truly delighted for a very high quality course about black holes. No doubt more will rapidly be learned in the near future about them. I would love to come to Alberta and help make the next updated revision with you. University of Alberta has the best quality and most interesting topics. Black holes are amazing and wonderful things to contemplate. Great work by a great team, the Black Holes 101 course makes me want to learn more.

創建者 Michael L

Jun 05, 2018

Cogratulations!!!! Excelent course!!! Very informative and well done video lectures!!!

創建者 Logan H

Apr 23, 2019

Great course! Very well laid out, and easy to follow!

創建者 Gary S

May 08, 2019

Course covers all the bases, both from the very basic notions, with suitable introductory material on things like how one determines the composition of a star from spectra, to the physics that allows one to understand the recent image of a black hole(without this course one might think photographing a black hole to be impossible.We now understand the time dilation effects of approaching a black hole and how one can do so safely.

Fascinating stuff

創建者 Evisa T

May 09, 2019

I really liked this course, it was extremely interesting and very well done! I liked the interactivity as well! Thank you for the very good work!

創建者 Veronica H

Apr 26, 2019

Really interesting and informative!

創建者 Muhammad E G

Apr 28, 2019

its the Best ever Course and i learned a lot things about which i have not heard before i will strongly recommend this to people who want to know about black holes.

創建者 Jack S

Jun 25, 2019

Definitely good introductory course for someone interested in black holes! The instructors are funny and really taught me things with certain detail. Like it!

創建者 Markus W

Aug 06, 2019

T

創建者 JOEL D

Aug 07, 2019

Cours très intéressant et à jour des dernières connaissances.

創建者 Tayren N B

Aug 07, 2019

I enjoyed the course. It covered all the areas necessary to understand black holes and the physics behind these mysterious phenomena. It was enjoyable and entertaining as well.

創建者 Anand K s

Jun 01, 2019

I really like to study about universe ,

Thank you Coursera

創建者 Kevin A

Aug 22, 2019

Nice informative course

創建者 Fernanda M a

Sep 08, 2019

The course was great, and teachers explained very clearly all concepts and processes involved. I 100% recommend it

創建者 Xiaocan L

Sep 14, 2019

A good introduction course.

創建者 SOUTRIK G

Sep 14, 2019

Excellent course. Each and every section is well designed and having enormous insight. Awesome knowledge contents and experience. THANK YOU!

創建者 Muhammad A N

Apr 30, 2019

I have just completed one module and besides black holes I have also learned other concepts for my general knowledge as to refresh concepts before proceeding to black hole. Way of delivering of instructors is very good as I thought I have known everything about respective topic.

創建者 Malekith-Erik D H

Sep 22, 2019

I have gained more insight into the physics of black holes, stars and galaxies alike. This class was my favourite class and I can't wait to enroll into more of this university. Special thanks to the amazing and charismatic teachers, I especially like the many food analogies!

創建者 Jorfel A O M

Sep 24, 2019

Bastante completo en todos los sentidos y los docentes son profundamente pedagogicos, lo que necesito para poder seguir triunfando en mi àrea.

創建者 Alexandra J B

Oct 19, 2019

I loved every minute of this course. It's gotten me developing my own theory about black holes and I am so sad that it's over. It's also made me seriously consider a minor or double major in astrophysics, something I may genuinely pursue. Thank you so much for this amazing journey.

創建者 Armughan A

Oct 01, 2019

Very Informative