Chevron Left
返回到 Astro 101: Black Holes

學生對 阿尔伯塔大学 提供的 Astro 101: Black Holes 的評價和反饋

4.8
886 個評分

課程概述

What is a black hole? Do they really exist? How do they form? How are they related to stars? What would happen if you fell into one? How do you see a black hole if they emit no light? What’s the difference between a black hole and a really dark star? Could a particle accelerator create a black hole? Can a black hole also be a worm hole or a time machine? In Astro 101: Black Holes, you will explore the concepts behind black holes. Using the theme of black holes, you will learn the basic ideas of astronomy, relativity, and quantum physics. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Describe the essential properties of black holes. • Explain recent black hole research using plain language and appropriate analogies. • Compare black holes in popular culture to modern physics to distinguish science fact from science fiction. • Describe the application of fundamental physical concepts including gravity, special and general relativity, and quantum mechanics to reported scientific observations. • Recognize different types of stars and distinguish which stars can potentially become black holes. • Differentiate types of black holes and classify each type as observed or theoretical. • Characterize formation theories associated with each type of black hole. • Identify different ways of detecting black holes, and appropriate technologies associated with each detection method. • Summarize the puzzles facing black hole researchers in modern science....

熱門審閱

SK

2020年7月30日

i love this course, everything from knowledge to the visual and scientific data, this course amazed me.

i thanking to all the person in this course to sharing this knowledge in such an amazing way

DB

2020年7月26日

It is an Excellent course , with no math assignments, if you want to learn Black holes Definitely, this is the course for you , i am looking for another course from same team. Excellent Team Effort.

篩選依據:

276 - Astro 101: Black Holes 的 300 個評論(共 306 個)

創建者 Emily N

2020年11月4日

The instructors made the concepts very clear and understandable. I've just started year 13 and I ended up learning about Newton's Law of gravitation on this course at the same time as I was learning it in class so I would really recommend this course to GCSE or A-level students who want to deepen their enthusiasm for the subject. Also can't believe how much I didn't know about black holes until I completed this course.

創建者 Gunnar B

2021年6月26日

A lot of fascinating information which shaped my perspective on stars, binaries, creation of heavy elements as well as, of course, the anatomy of black holes. In terms of instruction, I hesitate to critique with the UCP doing its best to kill of the U of A, but I muted Dr. Morsink and Dr Gladstone and read through their lectures because as speakers they tended to put me to sleep.

創建者 p v k

2019年3月2日

With professors who can shrink astronomical distances and explain concepts in time, space and cosmology with such lucidity and more importantly joy, this course was bound to be one ,which in literal sense, has transformed the black hole into a living vibrant entity. The team has rekindled the joy of learning in me and am sure in all students. Heartfelt thanks .

創建者 Amanda S

2020年2月11日

I took this course mainly as a refresher course for myself. I learned some new things that I enjoyed! I know this was a beginner course but I would have preferred the instructors showing how to calculate the few equations that they talked about at least. I feel a lot of information was spoken about briefly and not depthfully enough to fully grasp.

創建者 Manish K

2020年7月30日

This course is pretty good. It helps in developing intrest about black holes. One drawback about this course is that If you want to understand all the mathematics including black holes and general relativity then this course is not for you. Otherwise this course is fantastic as they teaches using computer graphics and images.

創建者 Sumeet N

2020年11月18日

Ross is the best trainer among the four of them (even without comparison). The 4 rating is for the knowledge in the course and of the trainers. Some points and some mathematics could have stressed more. For someone like me who is allergic to mathematics, those principles escape before being understood.

:-)

創建者 Rubén M R

2021年1月7日

It's interesting but the lack of (elemental) formulas and graphics to illustrate some simple concepts make the course a little "boring". Too much (interesting) speeches. The professors make a great effort to transmit the subject. Good for them!.

創建者 Chris S

2020年12月30日

This course gives a thorough analysis of Black holes which includes examining other phenomena such as the Big Bang, neutron stars, pulsars, space time and the effect of gravitation on light. A comprehensive look at the universe.

創建者 John B

2019年3月22日

Great pace and great teachers! Would have loved more math-based problems to practice the formulas and calculations, but that's just me. A must-take course if you're starting out on your quest to understand the Universe.

創建者 Steven G

2019年7月9日

An excellent introductory course into the physics of black holes. I only gave it four stars since I felt it could have had more mathematics content for students that want to dig a little deeper into the material.

創建者 Shivanshu K

2020年7月5日

This is a pretty good course give you a really good insight into the Black holes. The only problem I had was that most of the queries are unanswered, which is a little problematic in cementing the foundation.

創建者 Kirubarani.T

2020年5月16日

Super course...there are many informations about black holes are presented. and their communication language was easily understand to all..thank you so much for offer the course

創建者 Edmund C

2022年1月23日

If time dialation is infinite at the event horizon, other than by the warping of spacetime itself, how could anything actually cross the horizon in less than infinite time?

創建者 Lionel L R Q

2020年7月5日

Pretty decent course for an introductory level. However, the teaching assistants aren't that responsive so you got to wait a little longer. Overall a satisfactory course.

創建者 Harry B

2020年9月5日

Lots of interesting information about black holes and ongoing research about them. Only very rudimentary math needed for the course.

創建者 Simone A R

2020年12月28日

This is an incredible course through all the different aspects of black holes. I recommend it to anyone interested in astrophysics

創建者 Mikaeel S

2019年9月16日

It was a fun course, however it would have been more fun if there was more interactive stuff to do.

創建者 keith b

2019年7月2日

taught me the latest theories on black holes and some physical principles of related science

創建者 Vincent L

2020年7月26日

Prof. Morsink and team, very educational and easy to understand course.

創建者 Abdessamad M

2019年5月10日

Good course, it introduced me to the black hole theory in a easy way.

創建者 Joy S

2018年9月3日

Fascinating. Plus they get into Star Trek. Pretty technical, though

創建者 Pattadon N

2020年6月15日

I think the lecture should have pictures and colors.

創建者 KAUSTUV L

2020年5月28日

Could involve a little more mathematics.

創建者 HARI Y

2022年5月12日

T​He Subject was Amazing