Chevron Left
返回到 Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

學生對 加州大学圣地亚哥分校 提供的 Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners 的評價和反饋

4.5
stars
739 個評分
200 條評論

課程概述

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

熱門審閱

DL

Apr 18, 2016

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

HL

Aug 16, 2017

I learned a lot from this difficult and time-consuming course! It covers biological concepts using Python. It made learning Python more interesting for me, since I have always loved biology.

篩選依據:

151 - Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners 的 175 個評論(共 195 個)

創建者 Paul J

Jul 27, 2017

First time coding, so found some parts challenging, but worked it all out in the end!

創建者 Daniel H

Feb 12, 2019

A very interesting course, but perhaps not necessarily for "begginer" programmers.

創建者 Michael E L

Jul 04, 2017

Great intro course even if tedious for those who know next to nothing about coding

創建者 María J F P

Nov 14, 2018

This is definitely NOT a beginners course. Very interesting and useful, though.

創建者 Helena C P d A B

Jul 31, 2016

It's good, but I would prefer that the python was taught within the course.

創建者 Abraham M E

Jul 01, 2018

It is a little bit basic, but a great introduction to bioinformatics

創建者 María A B

Feb 17, 2019

I have learnt a lot, but sometimes I missed some help or feedback.

創建者 David G

Jul 18, 2019

Very interesting course. Thanks for putting it together.

創建者 Jixiang P

Sep 16, 2019

The course is too easy even as a beginning level course

創建者 Yash G

Jul 10, 2019

A lot to learn, but still not very east for sure

創建者 IDIR A

Dec 27, 2016

I really enjoyed this course, thanks to coursera

創建者 Xue, L

Oct 23, 2019

lecture video will be better than words

創建者 高文强

Aug 15, 2019

循循善诱,解释较为清楚,但感觉对于编程初学者并没有特别友好。

創建者 Fikrat T

Jan 01, 2017

The course was amazing!

創建者 david h

Oct 10, 2016

very challenging course

創建者 Michelle B V

Jul 27, 2019

It was a great course!

創建者 Mario E S

Jun 23, 2016

VERY GOOD. CONGRATS!

創建者 Nabisubi P

Oct 24, 2019

tasky

創建者 Miles D R

Jul 31, 2019

Fun!

創建者 Helena M

Dec 19, 2019

This course is pretty interesting, but I wouldn't say it's a course for beginners. It gets into some quite complex algorithms without a huge amount of explanation and expects you to do a lot of extra work in CodeAcademy (though if you have programming experience, you can obviously skip this). With the work in CodeAcademy, I'd say this course takes 2-3 times longer than it recommends. I'm not a computer scientist so did find some sections quite hard to follow, and the explanation isn't always great (I couldn't figure out one of the answers in the final quiz, even after going through all the explanation and FAQ again). However, the content is very interesting and I found the videos really useful.

創建者 Roger T

May 01, 2016

This is not a beginner's course unless you already have previous programming experience. The Python lessons are just samples taken from a completely different curriculum on Codecademy and poorly integrated into the bio-centric course content. The lessons are disjointed, taken out of context, and some of the examples are using the wrong version of Python and missing parentheses. It would be a lot better if they took the time to actually craft custom Python lessons designed specifically for this course instead of using ill-fitting lessons from other classes.

創建者 Joseph B

Oct 23, 2019

This is billed as a course for beginners, but it leans heavily on one's prior skill in programming. If you're not familiar with Python syntax or you are a coding neophyte, a lot of the concepts will likely go over your head. The biology is fairly cursory and easy to pick up along the way, or simply ignore if you don't have a strong background in molecular biology/genetics.

創建者 Nethraa K

Jun 14, 2017

It's a great course for people who know Python or have some sort of a background in coding. However, for starters, it is not only tedious to learn both Python as well as this but is quite challenging and time consuming as well. Please mention Python as a prerequisite for this course-- it would definitely get 5 stars then.

創建者 Xiaoyu L

Mar 31, 2018

The content is interesting, but the staff does not provide helpful feedbacks, and I really do not like the fact they assume the test case is always right, where it might not be. Quite frustrate when struggling on one question when the code is absolutely right.

創建者 Prashant M

Jul 23, 2017

Further reference material needs to be added in my opinion. There can be participants from only Computer Science background and there can be students from only biology background. Hence i think reference materials could aid a participant's understanding a lot.