Chevron Left
返回到 双语大脑

學生對 University of Houston 提供的 双语大脑 的評價和反饋

4.6
419 個評分
95 條評論

課程概述

This course explores the brain bases of bilingualism by discussing literature relevant to differences in age of initial learning, proficiency, and control in the nonverbal, single language and dual-language literature. Participants will learn about the latest research related to how humans learn one or two languages and other cognitive skills....

熱門審閱

JS
2021年1月19日

Amazing and I have learned a lot. I am a Bilingual myself and it really sheds light on how the brain works in terms of learning and being proficient in two languages or more for others.

ZR
2018年1月17日

This course helped me in understanding various aspects of how brain and mind works and how we can use these knowledge for studying different languages and also when we multitasks

篩選依據:

76 - 双语大脑 的 95 個評論(共 95 個)

創建者 Elena A

2017年5月4日

Very good context, yet the modules could be better distinguished.

創建者 Carolina A V S

2018年6月8日

Very interesting information. Good course.

創建者 Angelina L

2017年2月15日

Very useful and scientific oriented

創建者 Claudia A M

2019年3月5日

It was interesting.

創建者 Djana R

2018年6月1日

Good course.

創建者 Timo C

2017年6月19日

The information in this course is excellent, and the lecturer and his assistant explain things very clearly. As a bilingual person and teacher of bilingual students, finding out about what research tells us about how the brain operates when using more than one language is super interesting.

I would give this course more stars, but the problem is that the interactive features of the course are dead. There is a weekly forum, but posting there will not result in a reply, neither by students nor by the professors. There are weekly 'office hours' videos, but these reference questions from an earlier run-through of the course, so that feels a little strange to watch. Other areas for improvement are that there are no reading materials at all, though lots of research is referred to (Prof. Hernandez is very knowledgeable in his field). Also, the quiz/exam system becomes very predictable, and someone taking notes in a smart way can easily score 100% on the exam, provided questions 53 and 56 are fixed. At the moment, it is not possible to score higher than a 98% in total for the course.

創建者 Anna D

2018年8月16日

Interesting insights to the (hypothetical) works of a bilingual brain; however, not practical enough and not giving insights into actualization of the second language or indeed any practical implications whatsoever. I'd much prefer a practical course on how to work with multilingual children and adults, developing their skills and deepening their ability.

創建者 Olga D

2017年2月26日

Thanks for providing lots of interesting materials! As for me, i would prefer having more advanced tests and tasks as the given ones did not really help me remember the materials. I would also appreciate having some additional materials on the brain areas in this course, since this area was completely new to me.

創建者 Carla L R

2017年11月27日

While the topics in this course are very interesting and Arturo Hernández does an excellent job explaining each topic in great detail, the tone of voice in the lectures can be a bit unpleasant and so the focus of attention may vary sometimes.

創建者 Anna C

2018年4月21日

When it comes to the material, the presentation, the structure of the course I really liked it. However I would prefer different tasks for weekly quizzes not just questions and their repetition at the final exam.

創建者 Hannah D

2020年4月23日

The videos were interesting, but the quizzes were not useful as they just involved memorising the questions at the end of each video.

創建者 Mariela

2020年3月26日

Lacks a lot of information, the lectures are just one person speaking, making it hard to really focus and sustain the focus.

創建者 Maite

2020年8月9日

La información que se facilita es interesante pero la metodología es monótona

創建者 Fleur V

2018年6月4日

Nice to get basic information. For me it was a bit too basic.

創建者 olivier h

2018年2月24日

The subject taught in this course impassionates me. Maybe it's the reason I'm so disappointed by the course. Please consider this highly negative review as an sting, an encouragement for the authors to make it better !

In my opinion, the course lacks some material, I would expect more links to external articles or sources.

Then I would expect more interesting videos : most of the time, Prof Arturo Hernandez speaks to the camera, and there is almost no illustration to support the discourse, and when there is some, it is sometime difficult to understand or even to read. The course could have as well been offered as an audio podcast!

Asking a question after each video is a good thing, but unfortunately, I had many times the feeling that it could have been better chosen or formulated. I would rather have first a quiz testing if the student understood and memorized the main facts presented, to then have maybe questions requiring more thinking. More disturbing: there seems to be some errors in the final quiz (which is easy to spot because the questions are the same as those in the intermediate quizzes each week), those errors have been reported in the forum one year ago, and are still there! No staff seem to actually read the forum/

But the most disturbing in the course is the lack of a good solid structure. Some videos last 1 minute , others 19 minutes, it give a feeling of inconsistency. When Prof Hernandez lectures, he seems sometimes not fully prepared, as if improvising, hesitating ... He too often cites research papers or refers to studies results for adding then that the results were inconclusive, subject to caution, questionable, or even rebutted by some later study. What's the conclusion then?

One thing I liked are the office hours videos! Interesting questions addressed in a more natural and agreeable way.

創建者 Ema N

2018年3月2日

I think the subject matter is fascinating and am imagining that Dr. Hernandez's research in the field is cutting edge. However, he isn't a very good lecturer (rambling and not very clear). Sometimes his message is not clear (even listening a few times and reading the transcript), and it was difficult trying to locate the original research that he's talking about, because no written references are provided and one can't even really be sure of how the authors' names are spelled.

Having taken several Coursera courses, I was also severely disappointed in the lack of interaction with other learners. The forums are mostly abandoned, and there appear not to be any humans behind the running of the course. It's like on autopilot since after its first run in 2014.

All in all, I think the content would be most interesting if presented better, but it was a disappointing, if not downright frustrating, Coursera experience. I do hope the University of Houston System considers updating and improving it.

創建者 Irena B

2020年10月1日

A very interesting topic, but highly unstructured course. No papers to read or write doesn't help either. This is a subject I have a burning interest for, so I kept learning as much as I could from the videos. Unfortunately, quiz would not always correspond to what was being said, or demanded knowledge which was impossible to retain from just the spoken word. Please, include some articles or chapters from a book in the course, and a bibliography list for those who want to continue learning.

創建者 Marysol R P

2021年5月27日

El curso es muy bueno pero los videos de las conferencias son demasiado largos y tediosos, se podría modificar y hacer presentaciones mas creativas y colocar el contenido de una manera mas concisa y mas abreviada.

創建者 Chantelle N

2018年4月25日

I would have given a 4 star rating but there's a glitch with 2 answers in the final exam. You'll be marked incorrectly even if you answer correctly. According to discussion forum posts, this problem has been going on for at least 10 months. Hopefully, this one star review will make someone notice and and fix the problem. Otherwise, it's an informative and interesting course.

創建者 nuriabb b

2021年3月8日

Pensaba que me aportaría más.