Chevron Left
返回到 算法,第一部分

學生對 普林斯顿大学 提供的 算法,第一部分 的評價和反饋

4.9
8,144 個評分
1,671 條評論

課程概述

This course covers the essential information that every serious programmer needs to know about algorithms and data structures, with emphasis on applications and scientific performance analysis of Java implementations. Part I covers elementary data structures, sorting, and searching algorithms. Part II focuses on graph- and string-processing algorithms. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

熱門審閱

RM
2017年5月31日

This is a great class. I learned / re-learned a ton. The assignments were challenge and left a definite feel of accomplishment. The programming environment and automated grading system were excellent.

RP
2017年6月10日

Incredible learning experience. Every programmer in industry should take this course if only to dispel the idea that with the advent of cloud computing exponential algorithms can still ruin your day!

篩選依據:

76 - 算法,第一部分 的 100 個評論(共 1,613 個)

創建者 Tom T

2016年11月18日

Brilliant! I started the Algorithms course with not insubstantial software experience. However, I last took data structures over 10 years ago and decided to give myself a 'refresher' since my area of specialization rarely utilizes structures such as BST's or hash tables.

The assignments are 'just right' in applying algorithmic concepts and real-world technical rigor. The problems are focused and contained to fit busy schedules, but, at the same time, challenging enough to provide a sense of accomplishment and to see practical applicability.

創建者 Zachary A G

2016年10月1日

I find Prof. Sedgewicks' moderately paced lectures very concise and easy to follow. His animated demo of each algorithm clearly demonstrates how the algorithm works. I find the problem sets challenging and fun, and finally finding an optimized solution as very rewarding, especially when I get the bonus scores. While this course uses Java as the programming language, I find the concepts quite easy to apply in other programming languages such as C. Thank you very much course staff for offering this excellent course for free here at Coursera!

創建者 Kor T

2020年5月23日

Thanks for offering such wonderful instructions! Before taking this course, I had spent many hours reading the text book and my progress was painfully slow. This course with its instruction videos and programming assignment allowed me to quickly master the key concepts and apply them to solve real problems. The instructions from Professor Sedgewick are among the best that I had ever received from a teacher. I am looking forward to applying the knowledge in my future projects. Thank you again! God Bless.

Sincerely Yours,

Kor Tse

創建者 Oleg G

2017年1月10日

Typical question of novice of programming: What language should I learn first?

Typical answer is incorrect, sadly.

Correct answer is: It doesn't matter. Algorithms and patterns matters. I'm not sure about patterns, but Donald Knuth and Robert Sedgewick are best at algorithms. And here you have unique possibility to learn from the best. Rush for it! And be prepared, it won't be easy.

And many thanks to Kevin Wayne for his fundamental job. Probably he is the one who we should thank for this great opportunity to learn it here, on coursera.

創建者 Amlandeep B

2017年5月6日

Great not just for the underlying basic algorithms taught, but very close to what API design looks like in the professional context. Sedgewick's lectures are concise, focused and very easy to follow. the assignments are also reflective of good design in Java, and serves as a great complement to the four-part (formerly two part) course in Algorithms by Tim Roughgarden (in which I used python for the assignments). I personally took this course After the Stanford course but would recommend the reverse if you're new/still in college.

創建者 jxtxzzw

2020年3月30日

This course tells the basic algorithms and data structures, the best place of this course is the high quality of its assignments. They not only strengthened the understanding of the algorithm, and made us konw the importance of paying special attention to the exception handling, processing, immutable data types, function calls with no side effects, time complexity and space complexity, and these assignmnets help us to think about any possible corner cases, deepened our coding ability or is benefit for future programming work.

創建者 RA

2019年7月2日

Amazing course! Loved the video lectures, the material is tough but the logic of lectures and the course itself is very clear. Also there is a book where you can find more details. I also loved the assignments, they were tough as well but very interesting. Don't afraid if it is your first experience in Java, if you know the basics you can pass them (also there is real help in forums). So I recommend this course for everybody who wants to learn some practical applications of algorithms and to know the basic theory. Thank you!

創建者 李迎

2016年10月24日

I really like this course. I think the pace of video is appropriate, clearly explaining the main knowledge of each part but not digging into details too much. for me,

I never learned algorithm or java before, but I can mostly grab the lecture content. Another reason I like about the course is the amazing programming assignment part. Each assignment is a little bit challenging but not overwhelming and you can exactly know how well you did through the precisely computing grader system. Thanks for such a wonderful CS course!

創建者 Polina G

2017年10月9日

Very well structured course. Amazing booksite and the full book with a bunch of practical exercises available. Lectures do not simply repeat what you can read in the book but concentrate on the gist and give advanced explanations and live demos of the most important concepts.

Programming assignments are designed in very capturing manner. I was challenged to solve interesting practical task meanwhile algorithm itself was only a tool to do it. And very detailed auto-grading tests ensured me that I used that tool correctly.

創建者 J.D. D

2017年4月1日

Fantastic hands-on course that helps you explore algorithms. You should be pretty comfortable with programming in Java (comfortable with creating linked data structures) to get the most of out of it.

Assignments are incredibly well designed and allow you to make progress without much instructor. The discussion board is pretty responsive from other students in the course.

A great supplement if you have taken/are taking an algorithm course without any programming assignments (or poorly structured programming assignments)

創建者 Guibao W

2019年7月6日

Great course for two reasons: 1) if you look at the reference code in the slides and extended materials, you will be amazed at how simple (and elegant) the implementations are. It's definitely a good point every serious programmer should strive for; 2) Each programming assignment were designed very very carefully. If you download the project zip files, you will see ton of testing datasets for debugging. Apparently they (the test data) had been chosen to help correct your solution, which are often very hard to obtain.

創建者 Alex M

2020年6月16日

This is an excellent course. The video lectures are well made and highly informative, explaining the theory behind each algorithm, demonstrating the algorithm in action, and providing snippets of code for implementation. The assignments are quite challenging, especially if you're new to Java like me, but with some effort they are doable. Just be patient, read the output from the autograder, and don't be afraid to seek help on the forums. This course wil absolutely make you a better programmer and computer scientist.

創建者 Aman C

2018年6月25日

Just by completing this course, doesn't mean now you know "Algorithms" you have to keep on revising and the content in this course is really deep for which you have to come back again to this course just to fulfill your thirst to understand algorithms. In my opinion this course is really great and the assignments are also kind of brain twisters, by which you will learn a lot not just about algorithms but about the language in which you are writing your code in this case it is Java. 5 stars from me to this course

創建者 KINER B S

2018年10月29日

This course is a really good intermediate-level course. The course content is really good and interesting. It covers all the points which are necessary to study algorithms. I particularly found the assignments most interesting and challenging. The most interesting was the autograder. It tested each and every case and deducted the points if any case failed. So to score full, one has to work really hard.

I thank the instructors for this wonderful course and also to the mentors who actively supported on the forums.

創建者 Mrunmoy S

2019年8月14日

I wanted to refresh my algorithms to get ready for more challenging work. This course is awesome! It gave me a head-start to start tackling programming problems.

I am grateful to the instructors to make such a course available for people like me who are not only physically far but also have less time each week due to full time work commitments. I am glad I took this course and diligently attempted the assignments. Courses like these makes me a better programmer. Next, I am headed to Algorithms-II. Cheers!

創建者 Dávid S

2017年8月19日

The course is absolutely awesome! A lot of practical information about methods and about general thinking approaches that are essential for anyone who has to write efficient code for solving various problems.

I also want to highlight the very high quality slides and presentations, it is clear that the creators of the course made a lot of effort in it.

Finally, I really liked the programming assignments and the way they gave feedback about the correctness of them!

Thank you very much for your work!

創建者 Oscar R

2020年8月30日

The course taught me how to think differently about algorithms and using the computational resources at my hand. It was a real challenge to keep up with the strict performance requirements of the assignments. Having only taken a few introductory programming courses, I was not accustomed to thinking about the performance of my programs, but only about they providing the correct result. I believe this course has trained me to really use computational tools to obtain effective and efficient results.

創建者 张佳乐

2018年3月25日

3 month later, i'am come back, and finally complete this well-known course.

If you just familiar with java, i strongly recommend you don't enroll this course, accomplish at least 80 problems in Leetcode before take the course, the explore -> learn -> tree category helps me understood recursion.

This course is a big challenge to me, but when i finish it, i not only learnt algorithm knowledge, but also debugging skills.(I understand why some people use "println" instead of "breakpoint")

Thank you...

創建者 Hinanawi T

2019年9月2日

The course is easy to understand and its prerequisite is acceptable to high school students. Thanks to R.Sedgewick and other authors.Though English is not my first language, but the course formulated the algorithms and data structures by a comprehensive way that could be learnt by a people without much exps. BTW, the programming assignments have a complex online grader, finishing those assignments will greatly develop your ability of applying algorithms and debugging as well.

創建者 Joshua M

2018年3月6日

Thorough introduction to the study and application of Algorithms. Assignments are challenging yet achievable. Entertaining and informative lectures.

For those considering taking the course; I had no previous experience with Java, and only high-school level Math (barely). You can get through. You may better appreciate some of the material with more Mathematical maturity, but it isn't absolutely necessary - don't let the maths discourage you, pick it up as you need it.

創建者 Patrick M

2020年9月1日

I appreciate the learning by doing in this class through lab assignments. And the labs themselves were involved and relevant to the topics. I think I gained a grasp on introductory algorithms and data structures, through the lectures, practice, and labs. And I got comfortable with topics that previously intimidated me such as recursion. Additionally, I feel relatively comfortable with Java through this experience, a language that I haven't used before the course.

創建者 Achim W

2020年10月9日

An outstanding course! The videos explain the data structures and algorithms very well. The animations help a lot to understand how they work. I especially like the real world examples that show what these algorithms and data structures can be used for (applications). The exercises are tough but doable and help for the material to sink in. Thank you very much, Robert Sedgewick and Kevin Wayne! One can really see how much effort you put into this course.

創建者 Katarina C

2020年9月19日

This is a very good course for people who want to learn about basic algorithms (or refresh their knowledge) and interesting real-world/scientific applications. Good explanations and intuitive proofs. Assignments are good exercise and force you to consolidate what was introduced in lectures. It is in Java, but you can learn the required amount of Java in a day if you are somewhat familiar with object-oriented programming. Not for complete beginners.

創建者 Dan P

2018年2月18日

Fantastic course. Great in-depth discussion of various algorithms, and the hands-on approach to implementation is a welcome change from pure theory classes (although you get plenty of that, too). The programming assignments were a real eye-opener as to the power of carefully designed algorithms.

The full potential of the course is best realized with the accompanying textbook and the huge amount of material available on the booksite (which is free).

創建者 Bhavya N

2018年1月25日

I simply loved this course a lot. I tried to start and finish this atleast 5 times previously, but never was I able to go past 3-4th video. But then I decided to do it one time by whatever means possible. And when I did finish it, I started to love Data Structures and Algorithms. I am now having some knowledge about how we use DS n Algos to solve some of the most trivial problems. Thanks a lot to the creator of this course, You are a GOD to me.