Chevron Left
返回到 算法,第一部分

學生對 普林斯顿大学 提供的 算法,第一部分 的評價和反饋

4.9
8,138 個評分
1,671 條評論

課程概述

This course covers the essential information that every serious programmer needs to know about algorithms and data structures, with emphasis on applications and scientific performance analysis of Java implementations. Part I covers elementary data structures, sorting, and searching algorithms. Part II focuses on graph- and string-processing algorithms. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

熱門審閱

RM
2017年5月31日

This is a great class. I learned / re-learned a ton. The assignments were challenge and left a definite feel of accomplishment. The programming environment and automated grading system were excellent.

RP
2017年6月10日

Incredible learning experience. Every programmer in industry should take this course if only to dispel the idea that with the advent of cloud computing exponential algorithms can still ruin your day!

篩選依據:

26 - 算法,第一部分 的 50 個評論(共 1,610 個)

創建者 Yu H

2018年12月9日

best algorithm course I've ever seen!

創建者 1nas

2020年1月16日

Personally, I think that the assignments in this course (not in the Algs textbook) did negligible improvement in solving problem. On the other hand, writing assignments feels like doing a Java project on your own. This feels not bad since it's not easy for programming noob like me to explore and participate in projects on GitHub owing to lack of confidence : (. BTW the autograder is so awesome that it even examines your Java code style! This is pretty good for students who had learned C/C++ before to form a better code style in Java. For the videos, it's pretty good for novice (I've been confusing for a long time to find a good way to start and learn Data Structure). However, in other words, the CS knowledge taught in this course is far beyond needed. It's still necessary to drill yourself on other sites like LeetCode, and learn the relevant mathematical algorithm analysis (maybe by reading Introduction To Algorithm).

Still, I will definitely proceed with the Part 2! Genuinely appreciated, Mr. Sedgewick!

創建者 Scott W

2020年6月21日

All is great except that there are too many "um"s in lecture videos. But that's totally tolerable considering Professor's age.

Anyway, I've learned a lot from this course, especially those fabulous PROGRAMMING ASSIGNMENTS!

創建者 Natsu O

2020年5月27日

The content was easy to understand. However, the professor is not as enthusiastic as I expected him to be, and the programming assignments are focused more on applying an already implemented data structure to a problem rather than writing algorithms from scratch.

創建者 Bhavya B

2020年6月12日

No certificate issues after lot of hardwork

創建者 Hyun K

2020年11月20日

Still waiting for Kevin Wayne to appear... In all seriousness, the course was incredibly tough for me (someone who is not a compsci major) but was also very rewarding. It took me 6 weeks to complete and probably around 10 hours per problem set. Kdtrees was the most interesting pset and collinear points the least (wording was slightly confusing for me).

I would like to provide the following advice for those who are struggling but really wish to complete it.

1. Go through the lectures and try to implement the data structures yourself (unless he says it's not necessary e.g. llrb tree) e.g. in week 1, I made my own QuickFind and QuickUnion class. It doesn't have to be perfect but it helps to grapple with the idea.

2. Always look at the FAQ and command line input/output example. Coupled with reading the specification clearly should clear up 90% of the issues in what you are required to implement (unless it's the collinear points pset). If still confused, reading the discussions may be helpful.

3. Try to do the psets when your brain is working at its best. Writing something half baked late in the night will probably lead you to take longer than if you hadn't written anything at all.

4. Lastly, have patience. The fact that you're struggling so much means that you have the most to gain from solving the psets. Focus on the learning gains you will get rather than the difficulty you're having right now and you'll see it's all worth it in the end.

Thank you very much for making this high quality resource publicly available at no cost.

創建者 Vaibhav P

2020年6月4日

One of the best courses I did. I am guilty of not finishing many courses on coursera, but this one kept me hooked and motivated enough to keep coming back at regular intervals and actually finish. The actual learning from the course is more than just algorithms as we get detailed feedback on style and even some design aspects of the code we submit. The only downside of such depth assessment review system is that we are forced to use Java for the solutions, sometimes which can have its own learning curve, and hard to get 100% score because of some nitpicks which are not worth spending time to fix for a course assignment (they would be for actual production code though). Also, the specs provided are sometimes missing requirements which we only find out by submitting once and reading the assessment with failed tests.

One thing that I think should be improved is the hint system for quizzes. After we submit, in most cases the hints are not enough to understand how to solve the problem. So it leaves you less fulfilled than ideal, knowing there is unsolved problem out there and no real help.

Overall, totally recommended.

創建者 YASIR P

2020年8月13日

The course is just awesome. The course is taught by an expert in the field, and that fact reflects in the content of the course. The assignments are well designed and very involving, which helps the learner think deep, come out with a solution, improve the solution as much as possible after autograder evaluation, which is really good. That way, the learner consolidates the concept which he/she learned in the video lectures.

Also I see there are many people complaining about enforcement of the Java as the programming language for assignment submission. In my opinion, that is not a probelm at all, if you are strong in some other language, say C++, it is very easy to adapt and in the process you end up learning, not just Data Structures and Algorithms, also a new language, Java, which is a very widely used language. People should see it as a boon, since it gives double returns for your efforts. I feel very bad, because it is only because of the enforcement of Java, some people gave bad rating for the course.

WINNERS TRAIN, LOSERS COMPLAIN

創建者 Benjamin W

2019年5月11日

I have taken several online courses, mostly on Coursera, which I've enjoyed and learned a great deal from. However, I would have to say that this is the best online course I've taken so far. The subject matter revolves around some of the most fundamental algorithms for computer science and emphasizes the importance of data representation. The choice of Java as a programming language for this course helps emphasize the distinction between data structures and abstract data types. The lectures relate the material to concrete and interesting real-world applications but also occasionally mention related open problems in computer science. The instructor is very clear in his explanations, which often make use of excellent and helpful visualizations. Lastly, the assignments are challenging but rewarding and the feedback provided by the automated grader, which accounts not only for correctness of the submitted APIs and their implementations, but also for coding style, timing, and memory use, is an invaluable learning tool.

創建者 Henry L

2020年8月28日

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and learned a lot about algorithms and data structures. Before taking this course, I found algorithms to be a very dry topic but somehow this course made it very interesting. The lectures covered a lot of real-world applications, which gave insights into some of the things which happen 'under-the-hood' of computers and databases. The 'war stories' were particularly entertaining. The assignments were at the right difficulty level (although there was the initial hurdle of learning Java from scratch).

創建者 Ajinkya D V

2020年7月4日

Pretty dope course. A lot of knowledge about DS and Algorithms contained along with a few Java things here and there. Fairly challenging assignments as well. Would recommend building the Data Structures & Algos up before having a look at the codes provided in the lectures for thorough understanding. This part will help with the actual implementation of Data Structures since the assignments are application centric. Ample resources available for debugging and identification of flaws in interpretation.

創建者 Kevin J

2020年7月20日

Excellent course that covers both the implementation and use cases of common algorithms and data structures, as well as the mathematical theory and analysis of run-time. I would highly recommend this course to anyone interested in learning more about algorithmic design, and I look forward to taking part II.

創建者 Edward A R C

2020年7月20日

I love this course. From its content until its assignments I used many algorithms and data structure that was new for me. Honestly, I didn't know anything about Tilde Approximation, Percolation (Dynamic connectivity), when a sorting algorithm is Stable, Geometric Algorithm, and so. Thank you so much!

創建者 shobhit g

2020年6月24日

I believe the most exciting part of this Course was the superb assignments given after each week .Solving them really posed a challenge and it was fun to resolve them ,which bears the fruit of improvement in the marks.

創建者 Kyle K

2020年6月24日

Really enjoyed this course, the instructor, the explanations, and visuals are fantastic. The homeworks are challenging but the course provides great resources for visualization and testing and I learned a ton.

創建者 Gabriel A P S

2020年7月21日

It's a very good course! I've learned Java and I had to think outside the box to get the most efficient solutions! It has many interesting and complex problems to solve.

創建者 pradeep v

2020年7月23日

excellent. exceptional way of teaching. the student needs to listen carefully all the words spoken, as the lecturer pinpoints every detail or touches them.

創建者 Erik U

2020年7月21日

Challenging, but informative. I learned a lot and will think about programming algorithms and data structures much more carefully now.

創建者 Mohammed A S

2020年1月19日

Awesome course. The instructor is one of the best in the business. It gives you a proud feeling to be taught by someone who himself has contributed so much to the tech world in terms of Algorithm and Data structures. Though sometimes it does get a little frustrating as the topic is so hard. My only complain about this course is as the course is in java for people trying to implement the Algorithms in other languages like c++, python it gets a little hard to find the alternatives of language specific features in other languages so i wish some help was given on that regard. Overall great course. A big thanks to the instructor for making this course.

創建者 Gavin F

2020年6月30日

A very well made and informational course. However, it is quite difficult, specifically the projects. Even as a CS undergraduate, this really was not easy at all. This certainly also requires a lot more time dedicated to it than suggested.

創建者 Justin C

2017年8月13日

Lectures are pretty good and material is fairly well explained. Be warned that significant knowledge of Java is expected and it isn't taught here.

創建者 Serhiy

2017年3月28日

Topics are interesting, explanation is boring

創建者 LETICIA D A

2019年1月13日

É ruim pq o curso é em ingles, e pelo menos a legenda deveria ser em português, e até a legenda ta em inglês também, pra quem está iniciando e não tem nenhum conhecimento em inglês é péssimo.

創建者 Ufuk D

2020年9月21日

Too much detailed first assignment containing open-ended irrelevant tasks. Got bored.

創建者 Alex E

2017年5月21日

Great course with appropriately challenging assignments! Clearly a lot of effort was put into designing them in such a way that the API and code-tester forces you to implement precisely the algorithm they're talking about, but you still have to write all the interesting code from scratch. Difficult, but a ton of test clients and other resources are provided to help you out. I felt really rewarded for each assignment completed.

I was taking this as a refresher (took Algorithms in college), and found the lectures much more interesting this time around. For example, the way Red-Black trees were explained as an implementation of 2-3 trees, made the algorithm much easier to understand than how I learned it before, which was that a red-black tree is a binary tree maintaining such-and-such invariant blah blah blah. As a result I retained more about how the algorithm works, and the invariant actually makes sense to me now.