Chevron Left
返回到 Write Your First Novel

學生對 密歇根州立大学 提供的 Write Your First Novel 的評價和反饋

4.1
95 個評分
41 條評論

課程概述

WRITE YOUR FIRST NOVEL From Inc.com - The 30 Most Popular Online Courses of 2020 "Write Your First Novel" made the list at #15 https://lnkd.in/gZqscmn If you’ve ever had the dream, the desire or even just a vague notion that you would like to write a novel, this course is for you. Whether you are a full-time student, have a full-time job, a family to take care of or all of the above, you can do it. Really! And I will help you get there. In this Course, you will write your first novel. Many people say they have often thought about writing a novel and are planning to do it someday, but very few ever actually do. However, in this course, you will do it. You will learn how to form a basic idea, any idea, into a structure and discipline that will allow you to create, write and complete a fully-realized novel ready to submit for publication. If you have any concerns regarding the protection of your original work, Coursera's privacy policy protects the learner's IP and you are indeed the sole owners of your work. Here is a link to a trailer for the course. To view the trailer, please copy and paste the link into your browser. https://vimeo.com/385761391/c5e7f873cf Learner review: "It was a great experience, I really enjoyed it." In Write Your First Novel, you’ll learn to break down your creative endeavor into components and you’ll discover a process that will allow you to do what few have done: produce and complete a full-length work of fiction in the form of a 50,000-word novel. Learner Review: "You teach storytelling like no other teacher. I cannot put in words how much I appreciate it. This daily writing, and the product that comes with it, have been a great mental support during the pandemic time. Art is a support for life, as Stephen King said, and thanks to you I experienced it first-hand during this time. I think I will keep writing 500 words per night for the rest of my life. I owe it to you. You taught me how to write a novel, and it works every time. Huge thanks, and wishing you all the best." I am a proponent of experiential learning (also known as active learning). My lectures are short and to the point, designed in a step-by-step process essential to your success as a writer. I will guide you, I will show you how to get there, hopefully I will inspire you. You will learn through your own activity - which is writing! I firmly believe that the only way to become a writer is to write, write, write! Learner review: "As a published author, I took this course to relearn the skills. I thoroughly enjoyed each and every lecture and quiz. This course was very, very helpful and the videos were very well executed. Cheers!" Writing fiction is a truly beautiful thing. Putting your own words on a page to tell a story which enters your readers minds and allows them to share the thoughts, emotions and lives of your characters is a very satisfying, rewarding experience. Learner review: "BEST TEACHER EVER! LOVE THE COURSE."...

熱門審閱

PP
2020年5月1日

This course helped me as a writer because of the teacher. He was not a quick talker, but he was not a slow talker. He was very understanding. I really would love to get teached by him again.

CB
2021年1月26日

This made me realize how much potential i really do have in writing and it made me find out that I love writing and reading books.

篩選依據:

1 - Write Your First Novel 的 25 個評論(共 42 個)

創建者 Joy T

2020年10月23日

This course does nothing to teach me how to write a novel. "Write an idea. Write a logline. Write a character description. Write chapter one." Yeah, I can manage that without somebody telling me. It teaches me NOTHING about plot development, character interaction, how to create any obstacles or conflicts that echo or feed the plot. There isn't even a mention of using things like character development templates. We are supposed to write chapters with nothing but a logline and a character description to base it on.

This is not a class, it's just a set of assignments with no useful instruction or support. I am very disappointed.

創建者 Mare

2020年5月12日

No teaching and no deadlines. Didn't work for me.

創建者 Tommy D

2020年4月14日

Fantastic course! The lectures are easy to understand and they give all the necessary information needed to make your first novel! You don't just listen, you actually learn and do activities. You can also get great feedback from your fellow peers and aspiring authors. Definitely worth joining!

創建者 Gabriela H

2020年6月15日

First 2 weeks of the program were great, really god. But after that, the teacher repeated the same stuff. I would ONLY RECOMMEND the first 2 weeks.

創建者 Shikha P

2020年6月1日

This was one of the worst classes I've ever taken. Interacting with other students was difficult and I couldn't drop the class when I got sick and fell behind. I had all these reviews to catch up on and never managed to. The stress made it very difficult to try and fix things when my file wound up getting deleted. I enjoyed all his other classes and this is the first I've had problems with.

創建者 Leonie V

2020年8月4日

Non-existant content, lack of usable feedback from peers, writers' group mechanism is not workable on this platform, and long periods of time that a section cannot be completed (if at all) because there is nothing to review.

If I have to learn from other online sources and use other platforms to get and give feedback on my and my peers' writing, why bother doing this course?! And I made the mistake of paying for the course - total waste of money.

創建者 Ian F

2020年3月1日

Great format. I'm already making progress. Some discipline to write certainly helps but I like the presenter's style.

創建者 R R

2020年7月28日

The lectures are nothing more than the “instructor” stating the next assignment. It is a free course, so I suppose this shortcoming falls under the heading of “you get what you pay for”!

創建者 Judy P M

2020年8月26日

I received so many great comments form other the writers. I tried to give uplifting positive advice in return. I am so glad I took this course. Thank you to all the writers who read my work. My debut novel, Still Crazy is coming April 1, 2021. I can't wait to post my certificate from Michigan State University on all of my social media accounts. Thank you for your dedication to our writing careers. Best, Judy Prescott Marshall.

創建者 George F

2020年11月2日

The course is a catastrophe and demonstrates the parallel of coursera's new policy of barring unenrollment.

創建者 Phoebe

2020年5月2日

This course helped me as a writer because of the teacher. He was not a quick talker, but he was not a slow talker. He was very understanding. I really would love to get teached by him again.

創建者 Deleted A

2020年4月20日

BEST TEACHER EVER! LOVE THE COURSE.

創建者 Growlithe

2020年6月16日

It's a very good course, it has a set structure that helps me stay dedicated. It also provides feedback for your work via peer reviews. Peer reviews are great because so many people are helpful and thoughtful, additionally you don't need to wait that long to get reviews. Overall I think its a great course but I would have liked more assistance in terms of writing/character development.

創建者 Mary H

2020年9月11日

I would lessen the peer review number we have to do. Reading 5 chapters a week is a bit much for someone who has to write, work, family, and other things going on. Otherwise, I really enjoyed the course.

創建者 Rebecca M

2020年11月19日

This course felt very unguided I didn't even know what I was suppose to do it was a jumble of text with different options and no clear guidance as to what I was suppose to do no video no clear start page etc. There is literally no teacher. Didnt like it I didnt even start it as I could tell it would be very complicated and confusing.

創建者 Dee K

2020年8月1日

I like the course structure and the videos. But, I am lacking feedback for my work. This is frustrating after putting in a lot of effort to complete the assignments. I have also seen claims in some of the discussion forums that plagiarism is occurring. This is troublesome. I would appreciate some guidance from the instructor about my concerns.

創建者 Ayan C

2020年9月21日

It is a course which teaches you punctuality, time table/ Daily routine management, and ofcourse helps you to write a good novel. The course format is very easy to understand and its elements like peer reviews, weekly work submission, table read round helps the learner in the best possible way. I would highly recommend it to those who want to be a part time or a full time Author. I learned a lot from this course. Thank You!

創建者 Danial S

2020年10月3日

This novel writing course was impressive where I have learned how to use my creativity to convey to others what I want to share as a writer with them. I took this course with pleasure through the entire step-by-step process that helped me complete a full-length piece of fiction in English. Of course, this process helped me write my novel. Writing regularly helps to keep yourself in good shape, teaches to be disciplined and promotes orderliness. Without a doubt, I will use these tools and techniques in the future in my writing and teaching practice. Thank you for such a thoughtful and quality course.

創建者 Bianca

2020年6月28日

Exactly what I was looking for. A challenging, yet mellow course to start me on my way.

I was enjoying the lectures right from when the instructor, David Wheeler, spoke his first hynotizing sentence. I know I picked the right choice and look forward to putting such good advice to work in my future endeavors. Thank you!

創建者 Valen P

2020年10月20日

Being a full-time student was not a problem in achieving the goal that the course offered. The technique and tips taught will always remain in my mind for the next time I write. Awesome course! 100% recommended.

創建者 Cherry B

2021年1月27日

This made me realize how much potential i really do have in writing and it made me find out that I love writing and reading books.

創建者 Muhsina K I

2020年10月10日

A wonderful course. Received writing tips from a very talented instructor. Thank you so much sir.

創建者 Meghann M

2020年12月7日

Great course to get you to the end of your first novel. The platform is a little frustrating sometimes. But, if you stick to it, and write every day...you WILL have a finished book at the end of the course! (Albeit unedited, of course.) :) I highly recommend this class to anyone struggling to finish a project. Thank you!

創建者 Jennifer A P D

2021年1月22日

I would prefer the professor to review my writings during the course.

創建者 Anwita P

2020年4月28日

It was a great experience ,I really enjoyed it.