Chevron Left
返回到 Write A Feature Length Screenplay For Film Or Television

學生對 密歇根州立大学 提供的 Write A Feature Length Screenplay For Film Or Television 的評價和反饋

4.7
60 個評分
33 條評論

課程概述

Write a Full Length Feature Film Script In this course, you will write a complete, feature-length screenplay for film or television, be it a serious drama or romantic comedy or anything in between. You’ll learn to break down the creative process into components, and you’ll discover a structured process that allows you to produce a polished and pitch-ready script by the end of the course. Completing this project will increase your confidence in your ideas and abilities, and you’ll feel prepared to pitch your first script and get started on your next. This is a course designed to tap into your creativity and is based in "Active Learning". Most of the actual learning takes place within your own activities - that is, writing! You will learn by doing. Here is a link to a TRAILER for the course. To view the trailer, please copy and paste the link into your browser. https://vimeo.com/382067900/b78b800dc0 Learner review: "Love the approach Professor Wheeler takes towards this course. It's to the point, easy to follow, and very informative! Would definitely recommend it to anyone who is interested in taking a Screenplay Writing course! The course curriculum is simple: We will adopt a professional writers room process in which you’ll write, post your work for peer review, share feedback with your peers and revise your work with the feedback you receive from your peers. That's how we do it in the real world. You will feel as if you were in a professional writers room yet no prior experience as a writer is required. I'm a proponent of Experiential Learning (Active Learning). My lectures are short (sometimes just two minutes long) and to the point, designed in a step-by-step process essential to your success as a script writer. I will guide you but I won’t "show" you how to write. I firmly believe that the only way to become a writer is to write, write, write. Learner Review: "I would like to thank this course instructor. It's an amazing course" What you’ll need to get started: As mentioned above, no prior script writing experience is required. To begin with, any basic word processor will do. During week two, you can choose to download some free scriptwriting software such as Celtx or Trelby or you may choose to purchase Final Draft, the industry standard, or you can continue to use your word processor and do your own script formatting. Learner Review: "Now I am a writer!" If you have any concerns regarding the protection of your original work, Coursera's privacy policy protects the learner's IP and you are indeed the sole owners of your work....

熱門審閱

MM

Sep 28, 2020

This course, its instructor and many peers keep you motivated to write with joy, meaning and structure, especially in these uniquely turbulent times of socio-political flux with a pandemic on top.

DM

Jun 24, 2020

Great course well recommended i did the Transmedia writing course before taking Write A Feature Length Screenplay For Film Or Television and have enjoyed them both

篩選依據:

26 - Write A Feature Length Screenplay For Film Or Television 的 33 個評論(共 33 個)

創建者 Shoxista

Aug 11, 2020

zXZXZXZX

創建者 Sathish k Y

Jul 28, 2020

better

創建者 Paula M

Sep 14, 2020

Yes, this course was rewarding as I got to the finish line, but during the writing process from beginning, middle and end was a times somewhat frustrating. The new script format that I chose was Trelby and its application did take a while to get comfortable with. I took a college screenwriting course a couple of years ago and had use final cut in the past.

Overall, I did appreciate the course because its direction was fairly easy to follow, and the course provided a good outline that motivated me with its requirement of submitting 10 pages per week. I think I finished my script a couple weeks before the deadline. My ideas for this script existed a while back, so I used a condensed script of under 20 pages that I was happy to have been unable to expand into 110 pages. This is my first full-length screenplay, so it felt very rewarding upon my completion--- Thank you for your direction through the videos/ written info and the nicely laid out way of uploading my on-line submissions for review. Being able to give and receive feedback was a little time consuming, but much appreciated in the end.

創建者 Blessing R

Sep 23, 2020

Great to keep you accountable and consistent. Really great to interact with other writers. We just don't receive feedback from any mentors or coaches, or get more in terms of format. But this is a good place to start.

創建者 ASHNA G

Jun 14, 2020

I t is good enriching course and happy to learn new skills

創建者 Kim M J

Jun 02, 2020

It got me to write, so that's been great.

But there have been three instances now of trying to upload submissions and being unable to because of technical issues on your end. I tried to extend the course so I could address these issues and finish up, but it only gives me an option to "rate" the course. I'm frustrated putting in countless hours and not having the technical capacity to finish. It would be great to have a text to accompany the course so one could learn the actual technical aspects of screenwriting. Do you have texts you recommend (besides Syd Field?).

創建者 Gregory K

Sep 18, 2020

An entertaining course, with serious deficiencies. The professor takes a minimalist approach to his lectures that borders on the lazy and is not to everyone's taste. (Personally, I found it refreshing to have a professor who did not like to hear himself talk.) For the most part though, the course depends upon peer interaction - and this is where the course fails miserably. Though you are encouraged to work in groups, the Coursera platform provides no functionality to support group formation or group interactions. Some who did form groups using other social media platforms did all their work on those other platforms and never posted anything back to Coursera, thus defeating the entire purpose of the course. It doesn't help that Coursera divides people into walled communities using some algorithm of its own so that we cannot see the work of all the learners, but only the learners in our community. There were also technical problems with the GUI that prevented learners from submitting their work to 4 of the 20 assignments. Although this problem had been flagged for more than six months it was never fixed. The one plus of this course is that unlike creative courses from Wesleyan and other universities, with the Michigan State course you can participate in all the peer review activities without buying a certificate - and the peer reviews you get in this course are no worse (but no better) than what you get elsewhere. In summary, if you pay attention to Professor Wheeler's lectures you will get a nice introduction to screenplay writing, but be prepared to put in a lot of work and don't expect too much help from the platform.

創建者 Vianne

Oct 09, 2020

I am trying to unenrol from the class, and it won't let me. I don't find all these peer review elements useful, and they are just a big time issue. How do I unenrol and also delete my screenplay pitch? I liked the instructor in the video, but it just seems like it's not enough of him, and too much simplistic reviews from inexperienced students.