Chevron Left
返回到 Write A Feature Length Screenplay For Film Or Television

學生對 密歇根州立大学 提供的 Write A Feature Length Screenplay For Film Or Television 的評價和反饋

4.6
74 個評分
38 條評論

課程概述

Write a Full Length Feature Film Script In this course, you will write a complete, feature-length screenplay for film or television, be it a serious drama or romantic comedy or anything in between. You’ll learn to break down the creative process into components, and you’ll discover a structured process that allows you to produce a polished and pitch-ready script by the end of the course. Completing this project will increase your confidence in your ideas and abilities, and you’ll feel prepared to pitch your first script and get started on your next. This is a course designed to tap into your creativity and is based in "Active Learning". Most of the actual learning takes place within your own activities - that is, writing! You will learn by doing. Here is a link to a TRAILER for the course. To view the trailer, please copy and paste the link into your browser. https://vimeo.com/382067900/b78b800dc0 Learner review: "Love the approach Professor Wheeler takes towards this course. It's to the point, easy to follow, and very informative! Would definitely recommend it to anyone who is interested in taking a Screenplay Writing course! The course curriculum is simple: We will adopt a professional writers room process in which you’ll write, post your work for peer review, share feedback with your peers and revise your work with the feedback you receive from your peers. That's how we do it in the real world. You will feel as if you were in a professional writers room yet no prior experience as a writer is required. I'm a proponent of Experiential Learning (Active Learning). My lectures are short (sometimes just two minutes long) and to the point, designed in a step-by-step process essential to your success as a script writer. I will guide you but I won’t "show" you how to write. I firmly believe that the only way to become a writer is to write, write, write. Learner Review: "I would like to thank this course instructor. It's an amazing course" What you’ll need to get started: As mentioned above, no prior script writing experience is required. To begin with, any basic word processor will do. During week two, you can choose to download some free scriptwriting software such as Celtx or Trelby or you may choose to purchase Final Draft, the industry standard, or you can continue to use your word processor and do your own script formatting. Learner Review: "Now I am a writer!" If you have any concerns regarding the protection of your original work, Coursera's privacy policy protects the learner's IP and you are indeed the sole owners of your work....

熱門審閱

MM
2020年10月30日

This course, its instructor and many peers keep you motivated to write with joy, meaning and structure, especially in these uniquely turbulent times of socio-political flux with a pandemic on top.

DM
2020年6月23日

Great course well recommended i did the Transmedia writing course before taking Write A Feature Length Screenplay For Film Or Television and have enjoyed them both

篩選依據:

1 - Write A Feature Length Screenplay For Film Or Television 的 25 個評論(共 38 個)

創建者 Gus H

2020年8月6日

I enjoyed this course. I've always struggled to actually sit down, make time for myself, and use that time to productively write. This course gives its students an easy, and easily-replicated, schedule/formula to follow in order to actually create a feature-length screenplay. I have now written a feature-length script, something I had always wanted to do but had never actually done, and this course was the impetus for doing that. I will say, given how much importance the course places on collaboration, the effort some of my peers put in to the course was at times frustrating. An important part of the course is reviewing the work of your peers and receiving feedback from them on your own work. I frequently received feedback on large chunks of my screenplay that was literally one word: "good," "nice." It was incredibly frustrating, especially since the aim of the course should be to provide you with as much experience writing and reviewing screenplays as possible, rather than accumulating a grade value (honestly, your grade in this course does not affect any sort of grade point average, it does not count towards a degree, if you half-ass your way through this course, it negatively affects both you and your peers who are putting more into it and hoping to get more out of it). Additionally, it would be helpful to learn about screenplay formatting before going into this course. The instructor doesn't spend much time explaining the intricacies of the format, which makes it a little harder to adequately begin writing and reviewing a screenplay.

創建者 John J M

2020年11月3日

I'd gladly give this course 3 stars, or 4, but the fact that there is zero contact with a proffesor, prevents that. This course helped me a LOT. I recomend it to anyone who needs help with structure, and motivation. But the peer review is not a great format. I only wish ONE time I got feedback from the teacher. Even One single time.

創建者 Kannan V

2020年6月6日

David,

Thank you so much!

But for your guidance, I wouldn’t feel as happy as I feel today. The way you taught to break down the components of my own writing will definitely help me in whatever I write from now on. I’m gonna’ recommend my friends who are aspiring to take screen writing as their career to take your course.

I don’t know how I’ve fared as a screenwriter as this is my maiden attempt. But I’m sure I’ve learnt the basic grammar of Screenwriting through a well structured course and from a fantastic Master.

Thank you David, my Master!

創建者 ReviewTech U

2020年6月24日

Great course well recommended i did the Transmedia writing course before taking Write A Feature Length Screenplay For Film Or Television and have enjoyed them both

創建者 Deleted A

2020年11月12日

this course will not let me advance to the first real lecture unless I join a group of 5 other students and do peer-review with them. I don't want to do that. I just enrolled yesterday, but the course won't let me unenroll, as the unenroll button does nothing. There is no live support available, and there is no way to submit a support request.

This is my first time trying to use Coursera, and I think I would be better off deleting my account, if that's even possible.

創建者 Faridul A S

2020年4月22日

At first, I would like to thank this course instructor. It's an amazing course I have ever completed. Yep, this course surely helps me in the near future when I will scripting my own fiction feature film. Now I know which areas should be focused while scripting. Of course, regular writing is necessary to improve my scriptwriting skills.

創建者 Brigit C

2020年5月17日

Love the approach Wheeler takes towards this course. It's to the point, easy to follow, and very informative! Overall, would definitely recommend it to anyone who is interested in taking a Screenplay Writing course!

創建者 Maria J d C M

2020年10月30日

This course, its instructor and many peers keep you motivated to write with joy, meaning and structure, especially in these uniquely turbulent times of socio-political flux with a pandemic on top.

創建者 Colin H

2020年9月26日

A great course to provide the tools and techniques to help you write a screenplay. I will use them again. And hopefully again and again. You should try it too!

創建者 Prachi G

2020年7月13日

A wonderful and must course for every writer who wishes to write for television.

創建者 Shaunda

2020年6月21日

Love it... This is my second time taking his course. I look forward to the next.

創建者 Kamil S M T

2020年7月2日

Writing is discipline, this is what you'll learn in this amazing course.

創建者 Mancilio

2020年6月28日

Very helpful and the feed back from ones peers is fantastic.

創建者 sivasai b

2020年5月8日

Great learning experience

創建者 Daman S

2020年4月15日

now I am a writer.

創建者 Manuel A R S

2020年6月15日

Very practical!!!

創建者 abel z

2020年5月8日

perfect

創建者 Vianne

2020年10月8日

I am trying to unenrol from the class, and it won't let me. I don't find all these peer review elements useful, and they are just a big time issue. How do I unenrol and also delete my screenplay pitch? I liked the instructor in the video, but it just seems like it's not enough of him, and too much simplistic reviews from inexperienced students.

創建者 Sahara Z F

2020年8月16日

I am very happy that I finally wrote an entire feature-length script! I've written scripts before but they had been for short films and I genuinely feel like the script I've written with the help of this class has helped me become a better writer and also inspired me to write even more! If you are interested in film making or screenwriting I definitely recommend this course!

創建者 Jaime C

2020年9月21日

I had a lot of fun doing the class online. I had ample time to complete the course; the materials were very helpful and useful. I look forward to doing another course, similar to this one. I feel like I learned and took a lot from this class, and thanks for the opportunity.

創建者 AV N

2020年12月7日

A very well created course that allows us to explore the creativity within ourselves, while utilising the in depth knowledge provided to us by Professor Wheeler.

創建者 Chantel B

2020年11月23日

The best weekly guidance for new writers and even experienced writers. Peer reviews also help you self analyse which is great!

創建者 Kiranmayi M

2020年9月1日

Really helpful ... Learnt tips and tricks worth a lifetime for a writer

創建者 DHARAMDEEP R

2020年8月22日

Great Interactive and Very Knowledgeable Wonderful

創建者 19BCC037-GAUTHAMAN S B C

2020年10月6日

Thanks for all of your support!