Chevron Left
返回到 Wind resources for renewable energies

學生對 巴黎综合理工学院 提供的 Wind resources for renewable energies 的評價和反饋

3.8
98 個評分
41 條評論

課程概述

The main goal of this course is to get the necessary knowledge on atmospheric and fluid dynamics in order to quantify the wind resource of a local or regional area. We’ll learn about basic meteorology, the specific dynamics of turbulent boundary layers and some standard techniques to estimate wind resources regardless of the type of turbine used or the level of efficiency achieved. Then, we will see what are the turbines characteristics to consider in order to estimate the electricity production from an isolated turbine or from a turbine farm. The differences and similarity between wind or marine resource assessment will also be discussed. Finally, you will have the opportunity to get hands-on experience with real in-situ data sets and apply what you have learned on wind resource assessment....

熱門審閱

篩選依據:

26 - Wind resources for renewable energies 的 42 個評論(共 42 個)

創建者 Vinícius B d S

2021年1月23日

The course is very good, mainly the following topics: (Wind measurements in the boundary layer, energy definitions, and all third and fourth week). The negative point is the test, which ask not given content.

創建者 Sivateja M

2021年7月15日

There are some errors in the assignments. And there is no support in the course. Apart from these aspects it is a very well designed course. I learnt something applicable knowledge from this course.

創建者 Ma t

2018年7月25日

Very good course . The time spent to understand lectures and pass all exams was much more than the time advertised by the course.

創建者 Seyed M E

2019年11月6日

The topics of the wind power plant are very deeply taught but the quiz questions are very complex and conceptual.

創建者 Mohamed E

2021年1月10日

great information and excellent experience ,but exams so hard to pass it easy

創建者 Hamidreza M

2021年11月22日

A very usefull, helpful and difficult course.

創建者 Sean B

2019年8月8日

This was a challenging and interesting course and I'm glad I participated. I'm rating it with three stars because of some frustrating problems:

Errors in quizzes have been reported by other course participants and have not been resolved (refer to the discussion forum for each Week). Some of these issues were reported months or years ago.

There is no feedback (hints or suggestions) after taking graded quizzes other than the scores themselves. This makes learning from mistakes difficult. Multiple quiz questions have answers not discussed during the course.

創建者 BRUNO G C

2017年7月6日

The course brings up good features and widgets for better understand and assess wind energy sources.

On the other hand, the last part of the course relies on calculation and statistic data, no practical examples are given, no bibliography is available so that you may sort out any risen doubts related to the topics.

Finally, the forums are not a quick tool for clarifying doubts and no relevant discussion and proper support from the coordinators is provided.

創建者 Max M

2020年5月27日

The course is good if you only want to improve your theoretical knowledge of fluid dynamics and wind resources. However, students are not very likely to gain some practical skills from this course. I personally didn't like that the last assignment was quite interesting, but the lecturers didn't provide sufficient guidance on how to solve the given problems. So, it took me a long time to accomplish the course.

創建者 Mattia M

2020年5月2日

In general the course is extremely interesting and I really enjoyed the final applied exercises. However, quizzes are definitely a waste of time as they have tricky questions whose answers cannot be found in the videos most of the time and do not provide feedbacks on the mistakes made.

創建者 Raphael

2021年9月21日

The content is very interesting and well presented but there are some mistakes and imprecisions in the quizzes (week 4) which make the class frustrating and time-consuming. There is a lot of room for improvement

創建者 pierre g

2020年11月11日

The course is ok and interesting but quiz are not clear. We dont really know how answer should be formulated and we loose a lot of time in the formulation.

The course support is also quite weak.

創建者 Julian V

2020年9月24日

The course is overall very complete and interesting. However there are several issues with the quizzes that have been pointed out by many other students in their comments since 2017 without getting any answer or solution by the coordinator (if there is still someone in charge). Though sometimes are tricky, all quizzes are feasible, but the last one ("Wind resource assessment") is a mess. One has to mark wrong answers to pass it... It's a pity because the course would be perfect if this issue is fixed.

Despite this, I encourage to anyone who wants to learn some key concepts in wind resources and power production assessment to do this course, just recommending to read the comments of other students before getting desperate with the quizzes.

創建者 Pierre-Emmanuel V

2021年1月2日

I found the content of this course good and interesting. However there are some heavy minuses when it comes to quizzes which are very tricky and sometime not even asking questions related to the course. There are a few errors in the slides too and the quality of the video is sometimes poor. I would recommend not paying for this course

創建者 Matthew M

2021年5月28日

If you are a graduate level student in meteorology, and are interested in wind energy, then this course may be for you. Otherwise, stay away. That is the level of expected knowledge out of the gate. I've never felt less prepared for the quizzes. The lectures jump right into lists of equasions and are brushed over by the lecturer. All questions are multi-select so be prepared to second guess yourself and watch the videos over and over again. I like a good challenge for sure, but there is a reason why this is the lowest rated course I've seen on Coursera. Be prepared to grind and consult other resources to pass. Proceed with caution.

創建者 Muhammad A K

2021年9月21日

No support for any quiz. The explanations does not help much to finish the quizzes. At one point, it became so frustrating that I had to leave the course incomplete. Pity, because I was really looking forward to it.

創建者 Rahul A K

2020年4月17日

Very Tough