Chevron Left
返回到 Modeling Risk and Realities

學生對 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Modeling Risk and Realities 的評價和反饋

4.6
2,095 個評分
305 條評論

課程概述

Useful quantitative models help you to make informed decisions both in situations in which the factors affecting your decision are clear, as well as in situations in which some important factors are not clear at all. In this course, you can learn how to create quantitative models to reflect complex realities, and how to include in your model elements of risk and uncertainty. You’ll also learn the methods for creating predictive models for identifying optimal choices; and how those choices change in response to changes in the model’s assumptions. You’ll also learn the basics of the measurement and management of risk. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to build your own models with your own data, so that you can begin making data-informed decisions. You’ll also be prepared for the next course in the Specialization....

熱門審閱

JN
2018年4月12日

covers good amount of material and exactly what is in the outline, presented with enough detail to follow. Good walk-through of the spreadsheets helps understanding, easy to follow along and practice.

LC
2016年12月18日

Material was very well presented. Week 3 was challenging, but taking time to print out the slides, work through them rigorously proved very helpful. I found all sections very, very informative.

篩選依據:

251 - Modeling Risk and Realities 的 275 個評論(共 300 個)

創建者 Elisa G

2019年2月5日

Q

u

i

z

z

e

s

a

r

e

m

u

c

h

b

e

t

t

e

r

u

n

d

e

r

s

t

o

o

d

創建者 Carlo D R

2019年11月17日

In few pills big contents!

創建者 Zhao y

2017年6月25日

Pretty Useful

創建者 Harshit B

2017年5月26日

Nice course!

創建者 Zihui W

2016年8月21日

Too easy....

創建者 andy t

2016年10月24日

THANK YOU!

創建者 Joan S

2020年2月16日

Poor!

創建者 Luis E H A

2017年3月20日

great

創建者 Alan I B

2020年6月23日

G

創建者 Valentin Z

2017年10月2日

There are good and bad things to say about this part of the "specialization". The good ones (in general thanks to Sergey) are that sometimes during this course you learn something new and useful. But not much... One can hardly say that you will get some sort of "specialization" through these 5 courses. It's highly inconsistent. I'm sorry to say that but it's not the Harvard level of education (at least I hope that the Harvard level is much higher). This part is still far from the wonderful introduction by Professor Waterman. And the 3rd week of this part is a total fiasco: we all know how to read, and mechanical reading from the screen by the teacher doesn't give anything for knowledge. I also didn't understand the part about 'time constrains' as a pretext to describe only normal and uniform distributions (we can read anywhere about these two probability distributions... but where is the value-added product of the teachers?). I would say that selecting the same (very long) range in Excel with a mouse cursor seven times in one lesson is total waste of time that could be spent more effectively. At last, the final quizes are sort of childish: the questions are written in in a very bad style (apparently to complicate understanding) but the real answers are mostly simple arithmetic...

創建者 abaluodufa

2019年2月6日

This course deserves a 5 star rating because of Prof. Savin but because of Prof Veeraraghavan, I gave it a 3.

Prof Savin's attention to detail and ability to explain complex concepts in a simple way is a gift indeed. He taught week 1, 2 and 4.

Week 3 with Prof Veeraraghavan however, was a different ballgame. Week 3 was an overload of theoretical statistical probability concepts with little or no explanation whatsoever. No explanation on reading chi square tables, no explanation on the calculation of pdf and cdf etc. I was lost when it was time for week 3 quizzes and I gained zero knowledge from week 3.I recommend that Prof. Savin creates a new video for week 3 as I am sure he will teach the courses therein much much better.

創建者 Mies Z

2018年5月17日

The excels presented in Week 3 and 4 were lacking in substance, they didn't really help provide any useful information in real world scenarios. One of the questions in the quiz actually asked for the mode from one of the videos, first of all the mode? That's quite a basic question but on top that you literally have to go back through the videos to find the correct answer. It was quite silly. The first 2 weeks in the course were good, which is why I'm giving it 3 stars. I expect more from Wharton.

創建者 Deleted A

2016年5月10日

This course is much more informative than the previous two in my opinion. I liked the sample spreadsheets provided. I still however feel the price is a bit steep compared to other similar courses you can find online. The quizzes aren't that challenging and it may be nicer to expand the assignments to practice more.

創建者 Anna D

2017年2月27日

Mostly useful practical advice and examples on how to use Excel to model risks and realities. Week 3 was not very good as it was a quick overview of basic statistics which is incomprehensible if you have no previous knowledge and useless if you do.

創建者 Daniel B

2019年8月7日

This course had a mix of high and lows, professor Savins pieces felt more connected to real life examples to help illustrate the concepts whereas Professor Veeraraghavan felt more like a math class and very disconnected from real world examples.

創建者 Marek N

2016年11月4日

Good practical examples of the concepts. In general, seems to me that the courses of the specializations do not fit together well. At times, basic things mentioned elsewhere are repeated, some others are not explained sufficiently.

創建者 Irina K

2018年8月6日

Only the first lecturer was good. Where are clear excel examples for Week 3, 3.2? You know that students have been complaining over 7-8 months and did nothing! It's a total waste of money.

SERGEY SAVIN is the BEST!!

創建者 Jorge I L

2019年12月29日

I felt that it was very repetitive and lacked many tools for risk analysis. Also, i felt it repeated many things from the previous courses in the specialization, which turned ir very tedious.

創建者 Michal C

2020年5月7日

All was great, but week 3 has serious issues with linking what is in the lectures and in the quiz. Also the forum is unmoderated and there are over a year old complaints. The rest was great.

創建者 Brendan G

2019年10月17日

I wish after each quiz it would show you how to get the right answer then generate a different question when retaking the quiz. You cannot learn without knowing what you did wrong.

創建者 Viktor G

2016年4月26日

Outdated presentation style: mostly "voice behind text and Excel window" long... long videos.

I'm not questioning the material itself, but I was heavily bored during the course.

創建者 Jordan L

2018年5月23日

Very difficult to understand the professors, and I would have wished for more demonstration on excel, rather than explanation through slides.

創建者 Mohammad S

2020年8月4日

comparing with the operations analytics with the same instructors it's not as a good as it but at all its nice course

創建者 Jamon F

2020年11月3日

Pretty tough, a lot of information to cover. I like challenging material though. 3 stars because I was challenged

創建者 jeff t

2019年12月31日

Reasonably good. Would like to have seen the week 4 extend into using more modern tools such as R or Python.