Chevron Left
返回到 Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling

學生對 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling 的評價和反饋

4.6
8,048 個評分

課程概述

How can you put data to work for you? Specifically, how can numbers in a spreadsheet tell us about present and past business activities, and how can we use them to forecast the future? The answer is in building quantitative models, and this course is designed to help you understand the fundamentals of this critical, foundational, business skill. Through a series of short lectures, demonstrations, and assignments, you’ll learn the key ideas and process of quantitative modeling so that you can begin to create your own models for your own business or enterprise. By the end of this course, you will have seen a variety of practical commonly used quantitative models as well as the building blocks that will allow you to start structuring your own models. These building blocks will be put to use in the other courses in this Specialization....

熱門審閱

AP

2019年6月15日

Very clear and articulate explanation of the concepts. He doesn't skip a step in the sequencing ideas, drawing comparisons and differences, and illustrating both visually and story-telling. Excellent.

NC

2019年7月30日

Very nice course for beginner, the mathematic level is not high (around french baccalaureat) so available to everyone. I enjoyed a lot this course that show how simple math can be used in real life.

篩選依據:

1076 - Fundamentals of Quantitative Modeling 的 1100 個評論(共 1,537 個)

創建者 Teresa L

2020年9月22日

This course gives a good overview of different models and when you'd use them. It's pretty basic so if you've ever done economics or finance before, you'll find this repetitive. That being said, I found it to be a decent refresher course. The instructor is a bit dry, but it's rare to find a finance professor who's not.

創建者 Jorge A

2020年4月19日

It is a useful course to help orient and introduce statistical concepts and refresh the toolkits priorly received on college or university studies, however, it should include material for refreshing calculus and other required techniques that are used in this topics to complement the reading/practice part of the week.

創建者 Rahul R

2017年6月11日

Very useful course from a fundamental perspective. It really teaches you the base of all the models and why and how they're formed. It could have been even better if some problems would have been given for practice as after a certain period of time it becomes difficult to recollect the formulas and their applications.

創建者 Ian L

2020年4月1日

Good course. The professor provided some good explanations and insight. However, I believe it could use a couple more walk-through's of the example problems along with more chances to practice. I think it should also show/explain incorrect answers after quizzes as to deepen the understanding of the person testing.

創建者 William H

2016年9月15日

The instructor is exceptional at taking complex concepts and using examples to make them understandable. There is a lot of information so reviewing the videos within the different modules may be necessary. You will get a lot of good information and understand how to practically apply it. Very useful.

創建者 Bonnie M

2020年2月6日

This was a great refresher course into math that I haven't thought about in a really long time. I wish there were more examples through the slides so that I could fully wrap my head around it, especially in relation to the quizzes, but overall, the course was great and did what it was supposed to.

創建者 Amit G

2020年5月24日

Pros: This is a very good course to start with the quantitative modelling concepts, the professor explains every concept with well defined and structured examples. definitely recommendable to the beginners.

Cons: The professor could use some more practical examples/scenarios to explain better.

創建者 Khalifa

2017年7月13日

it's really a pleasure to get the certificate from such of great university by the deserve and knowledge ...i thanks to all the teachers who help us to achieve and understand the course , i mean it's was really good experience and the lecture that i got we'll help me in my professional life

創建者 Varun K

2020年7月14日

It could have been more interactive. They should try incorporating a few practice exercises, or ask us to work out solutions to a few problems before the actual assessment.

Other than that, it is a really well explained lecture, and trains you in the fundamentals of quantitative modeling

創建者 Dannie W

2018年9月11日

The course is relatively easy if you have taken economics, linear algebra, and probability and statistics in college. It's more like a review. This entire specialization does not applies more broadly to any quantitative models than just a DCF model that investment bankers would use.

創建者 Nicholas J C

2019年1月28日

Should have short sets of practice problems to work through between the lecture and the quiz. While I can often go back and just find the answer from my notes, drilling is the best way to learn stuff like this imo, and at least optional problem sets would be hugely helpful.

創建者 Daniel d G

2017年6月30日

It was great learning. This kind of subject matter has always been difficult for me to understand, and it still was to a certain extend. However, in this course complex concepts are broken down into more easily digestable chunks illustrated by clear examples. Great course.

創建者 Ankit G

2020年5月26日

Course content was good, however I feel that the concepts should be explained with examples having large data. There should be database based assignments for practice and evaluations. This would bring in more confidence while using these concepts in the real world.

創建者 Aseem K

2020年8月25日

It is a great course but the way of instruction could be more innovative and incorporate more interativeness. Also please develop a prerequisite knolwedge section as for many, the mathematical concepts or the knowledge thereof seems alien like or long forgotten!

創建者 ricardo h

2019年9月18日

Good overview of fundamentals of Quantitative model, yet most is theoretical and lack the part where it shows some actual practice. this would be detailing software used for each methodology. So that it gives a glimpse of what other skills one needs to develop,

創建者 Ana L P d S

2017年7月24日

This course is really good, but it would be nice of the professor would explain a little bit better the formulas of the course. I did buy the book written by the professor but still find it hard to solve some of the problems in the tests. Overall, great course!

創建者 Amy S

2022年6月20日

Math was a little advanced, and a little over my head. I went slow and took a lot of notes. Was able to pass the course with not a lot of knowledge of how I can use this in my business, but I assume this was a building block to implement within Excel later.

創建者 Ольга О

2021年10月1日

The course is much easier than I have expected! Surprised that it's marked as an intermediate level.

If you have base knowlege in math statistics, it would take just a couple of hours to get an eye on its simple application to some tasks. Thus, still useful.

創建者 Sayantan D

2020年6月20日

While the theory was explained very well, it would have been useful if some of the examples could have been solved by using Excel or some other tool, and if there was a way to show how these concepts could be solved in real life through some software/tools.

創建者 Liam M

2020年9月1日

Thought the content was very well explained and the course was very well organized. Only complaint was that the quizzes were a little too easy/low level. However, I do understand why it is hard to ask more complex/difficult questions. Overall, very good!

創建者 Jesús L B M

2018年7月8日

The content of the course is clearly explained by the instructor. I would say it is a nice introduction to the topics, but lacks practical exercises on spreadsheets. Overall is a good course, that allowed me to refresh some concepts about modelling.

創建者 Sankalp S

2019年11月10日

More practice problems could have been incorporated for students apart from quizzes. Apart from this, my experience with the course was good. The instructor was precise in delivering the content and was able to explain all the concepts effectively.

創建者 R V K

2018年1月20日

it was a brief but useful introduction to data modeling techniques and interpretation. The structure and course materials was easy to follow and the video tutorials were excellent. clear for non native english speakers to also follow. Thank you.

創建者 Md. S B

2019年10月18日

The course is well-structured to have clear understanding of Quantitative modeling fundamentals. Learned the implementation of Probability distribution, Linear & multiple regression analysis & some others very crucial Financial analytical tools.

創建者 Karl S

2018年1月23日

This is a good course that gives you an idea of how to use basic modeling ideas in a business setting. It does not get very deep into the mathematical concepts, but is still very useful and should help you perform the skills it teaches at work.