Chevron Left
返回到 Visual Elements of User Interface Design

學生對 加州艺术学院 提供的 Visual Elements of User Interface Design 的評價和反饋

4.7
3,436 個評分
842 條評論

課程概述

This design-centric course examines the broad question of what an interface is and what role a designer plays in creating a user interface. Learning how to design and articulate meaning using color, type, and imagery is essential to making interfaces function clearly and seamlessly. Through a series of lectures and visual exercises, you will focus on the many individual elements and components that make up the skillset of an interface designer. By the end of this course, you will be able to describe the key formal elements of clear, consistent, and intuitive UI design, and apply your learned skills to the design of a static screen-based interface. This is the first course in the UI/UX Design Specialization, which brings a design-centric approach to user interface (UI) and user experience (UX) design, and offers practical, skill-based instruction centered around a visual communications perspective, rather than on one focused on marketing or programming alone. These courses are ideal for anyone with some experience in graphic or visual design and who would like to build their skill set in UI or UX for app and web design. It would also be ideal for anyone with experience in front- or back-end web development or human-computer interaction and want to sharpen their visual design and analysis skills for UI or UX....

熱門審閱

JN
2018年11月20日

I never thought this is possible. I am very grateful to Coursera and Calarts. This is a starting milestone to changing my career life for better. I am ready to pursue more and more with your support.

BB
2020年3月31日

This course is very useful for a beginner who is looking for the basics of UI/UX course.\n\nThis course will give you the basic idea of interface design which very important for its advanced studies.

篩選依據:

801 - Visual Elements of User Interface Design 的 825 個評論(共 843 個)

創建者 Kara W

2020年8月2日

Instructors are passionate about the subject, which makes the class quite inspiring. I feel many points/techniques that are needed to complete assignments are left out due to virtual nature of class, short length of course, and extreme class size. There are just too many important nuggets of info and courses you need before even attempting this course. I really recommend watching a lot of PhotoShop and InDesign videos and tutorials so you can turn in sharper images for assignments.

The peer grading system is HORRIBLE. I will spend hours of time completing a project to make sure I meet all requirements of an assignment, only to receive a horrible score and have it torn to shreds by "fellow" classmates. You are given the opportunity to resubmit your assignment for a better grade, but just be aware that some classmates are not taking the course seriously, nor are they upholding the supportive spirit of the course. Then there are more experienced or overly opinionated peers that will leave quite nasty remarks knowing this is a "beginners" class. Art is subjective, but a lot of students will take off points because something is not their taste. Most of your peers are supportive in this course, but the bad apples can make for a very sour experience.

Overall, I give high marks for the instructor, though it is VERY theory driven, not even technique driven instruction. The assignments are very project based, and it would be more helpful to show plenty examples of the templates we will need to complete in the lectures and how to go about completing them.

This course is currently best geared towards quite experienced graphic designers looking to get into UX/UI design, but not newbies like me. At the very least, I am now aware of the educational holes I need to fill before attempting further UX/UI design training.

創建者 Sophie B

2020年1月21日

The videos, information in this course are informative and suitable for beginners.

HOWEVER. Having peers grade your work really cheapens the entire experience and makes me wonder what I'm paying for. I would often be marked down just because my "peer" didn't understand the assignment criteria, or doesn't comprehend English well enough.

What on earth is the point of being graded at all, when you're being assigned a mark by someone who has no idea what the assignment criteria even are? And Coursera's only advice is to waste my time by re-submitting the assignment. Just remove the requirement for reviews altogether... so redundant.

創建者 Julia H

2020年3月2日

The concepts covered were basic and not as specific as I would have hoped. This was more of a course about what general elements are required or suggested in an interface. I did not like the peer review process very much. I would have preferred a final submission to an instructor or a professional in design to get real feedback. I can only give people reviews based on my personal preferences since I have not taken courses on design theory or user interface/user experience conventions. I would have liked to see more resources on current UI/UX trends.

創建者 vanessa a

2020年8月21日

Only made it to the end of the second week so my opinion is strictly based off of only the first 2 weeks of the program.

I decided to stop because it was not at all engaging content. If you want to know every single aspect of the definition of UI/UX then this is the class to take. But if you are like me and want to actually get your hands dirty and learn the design process in Photoshop, illustrator and InDesign then you will be let down. I personally need hands on learning and less explanation.

創建者 Diego F

2020年6月10日

I felt the course to be a bit basic. The course's objective for me is to start making you think as an UI designer; if you have - or think you have - a taste about UI then this course might be expendable. You won't get any hard truths or do's and don'ts. They give you the base concepts and you have to learn by doing, seeing other designs and sort of find your own style with that knowledge. So, in a way the real work is done after the course and by experimentation.

創建者 John A M

2019年10月23日

I like the material that was presented and I learned some useful information that will help me with the rest of the courses. The one thing that I did not like was that all assignments were only peer reviewed. It would have been nice for an instructor to give his/her feedback. Another thing that wold have been nice to see were more real world examples as the instructor went over things.

創建者 Rishan D M

2020年4月29日

I did expect more from the initial course. I gave it 3 star because I felt like it was all theory and no practical information was given as such. All the assignments I did were from my practical understanding from experiences. I'd expect a more hands-on approach and case-study learning from these type of courses. Anyways the overall course was good and workflow was neatly designed.

創建者 Jerry S

2020年8月29日

The course material is BRILLIANT. I strenuously disagree with the structure and results from my peer review. Next course will be examination only. I want more frequent and difficult tests and authority-reviewed items. If I could go back and not pass on the feedback I've received I would. Very disappointed -- and, again, the course lectures and presentations are terrific.

創建者 Victor O

2020年7月1日

I thought the flow and breakdown of content was clean and straight forward. In my opinion, the course was a bit easy and basic. I like the note high lighter feature!

Overall, i was not too happy with this course, maybe it was the few peers that left vague comments on my project but i thought there would be more instructor feedback.

創建者 Georgina M

2020年2月24日

Is a pretty great course to help you get an entry nowledge about UX.

However, i'm not sure that I agree with the point system. There are other students reviewing your work. I didn't see any professor reviewing your work, so your final score becomes less important.

Beside that, is a great course!

創建者 SONYA T

2020年10月12日

Boring instructor, boring visuals, really hard to engage and not fall asleep. As a Ux/ui course the graphics should improve significantly and the voice of the instructor is a snooze feast. I feel like the content was ok but he keeps referring to his old student’s work.

創建者 Marianna P

2020年5月22日

Liked the idea of peer assignment but i also wanted the feedback of a professional. Unfortunately i am in this industry and i already know a lot of things than others. I am reviewing many assignments in order to help others. I would like to have someone like me too.

創建者 Anne M

2020年6月7日

I there's a bug in the peer review section. I submitted a complete requirement then I got zero scores from 2 peer review. I think they didn't see my submission. It also happened to me, I got to review another submission without the attached assignment.

創建者 Swaroopkrishna N

2020年6月6日

I loved this course. But the thing that pisses me off is the peer to peer review, the grade is just so unfair. The peers are inexperienced, they do not have any ability or right to judge other peers. Grades matter to users.

創建者 Dalilah B

2020年4月21日

The theory part is very well done and the explanation in every video is perfect. I regret a bit the fact that the only judges are peers regarding the exams. It should have been 50/50 with a professional part.

創建者 BELARBI M A

2020年4月21日

useful for beginners who have no background knowledge in UI/UX DESIGN and it's helpful to start your own career in app or web design.

you have to review peer grading idea because i think it's not really fair.

創建者 Monique C

2020年5月21日

It was well explained and a great intro to UI design. However, I think I would've greqtly benefited from at least one project being graded by a professional as opposed to my fellow peers.

創建者 Vibha B S

2020年8月30日

The overall course is good but my point is they have to explain designing tools as well so that people can easily design their app easier with a more clear interface.

創建者 Krishna V K

2020年7月5日

Great Learning experience. The pier review system can be imporved a lot by adding resposibility on the part of the reviewer

創建者 Hisyam N

2020年7月25日

I found some people review unfair, I hope this course that can immprove

創建者 jil m

2020年4月24日

good course so far . . . although, I'm hoping it gets better

創建者 SATYAM D

2020年10月2日

Its easy for the beginner to learn about simple elements.

創建者 Yvonne L

2020年10月7日

Grading all based on peer reviews would be unfair

創建者 Siddhesh H

2020年8月1日

Good, but not up to the mark