Chevron Left
返回到 Visual Elements of User Interface Design

學生對 加州艺术学院 提供的 Visual Elements of User Interface Design 的評價和反饋

4.7
3,272 個評分
810 條評論

課程概述

This design-centric course examines the broad question of what an interface is and what role a designer plays in creating a user interface. Learning how to design and articulate meaning using color, type, and imagery is essential to making interfaces function clearly and seamlessly. Through a series of lectures and visual exercises, you will focus on the many individual elements and components that make up the skillset of an interface designer. By the end of this course, you will be able to describe the key formal elements of clear, consistent, and intuitive UI design, and apply your learned skills to the design of a static screen-based interface. This is the first course in the UI/UX Design Specialization, which brings a design-centric approach to user interface (UI) and user experience (UX) design, and offers practical, skill-based instruction centered around a visual communications perspective, rather than on one focused on marketing or programming alone. These courses are ideal for anyone with some experience in graphic or visual design and who would like to build their skill set in UI or UX for app and web design. It would also be ideal for anyone with experience in front- or back-end web development or human-computer interaction and want to sharpen their visual design and analysis skills for UI or UX....

熱門審閱

JN

Nov 21, 2018

I never thought this is possible. I am very grateful to Coursera and Calarts. This is a starting milestone to changing my career life for better. I am ready to pursue more and more with your support.

BB

Apr 01, 2020

This course is very useful for a beginner who is looking for the basics of UI/UX course.\n\nThis course will give you the basic idea of interface design which very important for its advanced studies.

篩選依據:

26 - Visual Elements of User Interface Design 的 50 個評論(共 809 個)

創建者 Benison B

Apr 01, 2020

This course is very useful for a beginner who is looking for the basics of UI/UX course.

This course will give you the basic idea of interface design which very important for its advanced studies.

創建者 Kateřina H

Mar 25, 2020

It was my first UI/UX experience and it was amazing. I had so much fun and learnt so many things. I wish it could be longer. I'm kind of missing uni times :P Thank you so much for it!

創建者 Ariadne R B

Oct 03, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. I love the way Michael Worthington explains everything and I love the fact that we have more videos than reading, to me it's easier to understand.

創建者 Julija S

Jul 04, 2020

PRO: I love the interface of the course and fact that the course members get tasks - they have a huge learning impact.

CONTRA: Some course members have very poor design skills. It's not fun to review assignments with pixelated and stretched icons and buttons retrieved from foreign online sources, while others put more effort into their work and have way higher design skills. Unfair peer ratings create a watering down performance and the illusion of similar skills, while this is not the case. A compliance of quality standards would be good.

創建者 AR

Jun 08, 2020

The Course is pretty good. Very basic info is covered. There is currently a major issue with "peer grading" system. People are grade bombing submission which requires multiple re submissions ...this issue needs resolved.

創建者 Kelly M

May 16, 2019

Great introduction to UI design without complicating elements with UX.

創建者 Amanda P

Jul 14, 2020

The initial coursework was actually incredibly helpful. The professor was clear with what he was teaching, although from time to time became long-winded and highly repetitive. The single thing that I strongly disliked about this course? The peer reviews. That makes no sense. It's the blind leading the blind. However, this was clearly originated with good intention (more spots for people to take the course.) it wound up being extremely detrimental. For instance, I had a project geared towards emergency workers (primarily firefighters) and a peer reviewer not only gave me a failing grade because she, "hated cops" (which I understand, but again....firefighters.) but proceeded to then look me up on social media to voice dislike for my project. I can't get behind that logic. Again, pretending that didn't happen, it just doesn't make sense to have someone just as inexperienced as you review and grade your work. Makes it difficult to be proud of yourself for completing the course.

創建者 Valentina L

Jul 10, 2020

+ videos are short and there are quizes that help to check your understanding

+ the information is well structured with examples

- if you are from design field it will be unsuitable if you want to upgrade your skills, not just refresh your knowledge

- peer reviews have absolutely no value, in my point of view, I had been expecting that the teachers would have took some place in the course

- the overall level of students in terms of design skills is low, or they don't have any skills at all, so you are going to be assessed by people who are not in the design field. Of course, they are the users as well, but don't wait that they will give you a valuable feedback.

- it is a course in design field, the authors should think more about a modern design look of the course as it is not up to date

創建者 Utkarsh R

May 11, 2020

It is a good course for those who are starting their career in graphics design ( UI & UX ).

I found this course good, but it is elementary. I thought that it would be much better if the instructor taught us some topics in much more detail or in-depth like in color part if we taught which color is best suited for which thing, In adding shadow what is the value of the blur should be added and of which color, etc.

Anyway, it is a good course for beginners.

創建者 Michael M

Jan 10, 2020

The teachers were not very charismatic, and spoke in a monotone the entire time as they read their lectures off a teleprompter. The peer-reviewed assignments also took days, and in some cases, weeks, before being reviewed. Otherwise, this course was decent, but if you already know basic UI design, then this course is probably too easy for you. You would be better off reading the Google Material Design guidelines or the Apple design guidelines.

創建者 Saad K

Dec 05, 2018

The only thing I wish this course had more of was the practical side of UI/UX design. Where they show you how and what goes behind making designs, instead of only taking over theory. The theory seemed like something you would already know but I feel like they should have given more incentive to learning about key graphic design and UI/UX concepts that could be used practically.

創建者 Dominic H

Apr 17, 2020

The course itself is good, however, the grading system and moderation is absolutely mad. Peer reviews, if they are honest, are a good thing. But in most cases, peers rate you bad and CalArts staff cannot ban false or really stupid reviews. This results in doing your assigments multiple times until you get into a cohort of fair peer reviewers...

創建者 Julianne C

May 30, 2020

Terrible program for learning. You really need to already know how to use ALL the programs and ALL the skills because other students will rate your work well below average. I worked o projects for days and other students expect A+ work to even give a pass. For example one said the TYPE on my button was not legible yet is was regular font at 18pt. I am not sure they are even real people.

創建者 ronit a

Apr 27, 2020

IT doesn't fit me because i don't have graphic software

I've cancelled my participation and somehow it appears like I'm still registered

please let me cancel it

創建者 Milton M

Oct 26, 2019

Visual elements of the user interface design course helped me to become more comfortable with the idea of doing Ui/Ux design. I have always been doing design for printing media but now I am even considering learning more about digital design with Coursera and why not doing a master's degree in Ux design abroad. The course is complete and well structured, everything was explained in detail and the experience of learning online was friendly and easy to understand. I think that the peer grading part can be improved somehow but overall the content in terms of amount and quality of information is excellent, I am looking forward to doing the next three courses to enhance my skills as a designer.

創建者 Marion L

Jan 06, 2020

The instructor is very precise on the words and the process articulation and manages to make them very clear through well chosen illustrative examples. I appreciate that all examples comes from very few projects, it is as if we see the different aspects and steps of the method being applied.

The teacher's enunciation makes it easy to understand even for non-English speakers. The assignments are well explained and the review is well guided so that you mostly get useful peer reviews.

It is nice to apply the concepts on a fun project, it makes them sink in and motivate you to work on the course. I'd like to develop my app project for real!

創建者 Marshall R

Aug 24, 2020

To the instructors--thank you for offering a great introduction to User Interface Design. I really appreciated the insights shared in various videos over the 4-week course. One of the most valuable insights I gained was the simple distinction that a desktop screen might often offer, say, 4 sections on one screen, where a mobile device must break that same information up into 1 section (each) on 4 screens. This is just one of the many useful bits of knowledge that, combined with real-world mockup practice, helped me gain footing in UI design.

創建者 Estela H K

May 25, 2020

Embora meu inglês não seja bom o suficiente, incentivo que tentem, a linguagem usada é simples, a explicação tem um bom embasamento teórico, temos muita prática mesmo que seja uma plataforma online. O conteúdo é excelente!

______________________________________________________________________

Although my English is not good enough, I encourage you to try, the language used is simple, the explanation has a good theoretical basis, we have a lot of practice even if it is an online platform. The content is excellent!

創建者 Gabriel T

Jun 07, 2020

The course covers everything that you need to know about developing an interface. It had a 50/50 proportion of theory and plactice. You wiil be able to decide the mood of an interface, set the main colors and fonts to make buttons, menus, states... all assets to create the UI for the proper audicence.

I finished the course understanding that we need to set our purposes in order to make the audience get the message!

Calarts is a dream university, tasting a little about it is an irreplaceable opportunity!

創建者 Noman G

Mar 19, 2020

In this first course of the specialization, the students are taught the essentials of visual design. The student can geta a deep understanding of the visual design. Finally, the students have to create a project and apply their knowledge to the actual situation. Professor Michael Worthington has explained all the concepts in detail. I have learnt a lot about user Interface from this course. I would recommend this course to all who want to make their career in UX/UI designing.

創建者 6018Rachit

Aug 27, 2020

A very helpful course and a very professional course as it made me think and see our daily life interactive elements with a different perspective , learning the base of design and interface and how it has emerged made me help to understand better and the assignments are fun to do too as it really helps to grow out on your thinking and creativity and what you can actually produce and give to the world and how you can approach to different problems .Made me keep an open mind !

創建者 Ainura Y

Nov 14, 2018

I come from engineering background, and I was curious about the whole UI thing I've been hearing about once in a while. The course gave me essential insights into the UI area and pointed me to the sources and links where one can find useful materials. Although I've reached only 87.7/100 points I think I've mastered the assignments (well, mastered them enough while having a full-time job, for one), and I think the assignments given here are both challenging and inspiring.

創建者 John R

Oct 23, 2020

This course was well designed and layout with an effective approach to understanding UI/UX Design. All concepts were educational and challenging for a four week course. The teaching style of professor Michael Worthington and his professional knowledge of graphics and design is what makes this class worthwhile. It helps with developing the understanding that essential when creating websites and mobile app for both users and clients.

創建者 Courtney W

Apr 20, 2020

I really enjoyed taking this course and I learned a great deal about UI Design, as well as the differences and similarities of UI and UX Design. I would highly recommend this course or other courses at Coursera. The online course experience is at your own pace with hands on projects that help you learn further about your subject area. Coursera is a great way to learn new skills at an affordable price.

創建者 erica

Nov 10, 2019

This course was a great overview for explaining what UI/UX design is. I love the way the course was broken into components such as video, lecture, reading and assignments. I also appreciate that the instructor provided links to supplimental material to further our research and prepare for building a stronger skillset to be UI/UX designers. Looking forward to the next course!