Chevron Left
返回到 Visual Elements of User Interface Design

學生對 加州艺术学院 提供的 Visual Elements of User Interface Design 的評價和反饋

4.7
2,630 個評分
653 條評論

課程概述

This design-centric course examines the broad question of what an interface is and what role a designer plays in creating a user interface. Learning how to design and articulate meaning using color, type, and imagery is essential to making interfaces function clearly and seamlessly. Through a series of lectures and visual exercises, you will focus on the many individual elements and components that make up the skillset of an interface designer. By the end of this course, you will be able to describe the key formal elements of clear, consistent, and intuitive UI design, and apply your learned skills to the design of a static screen-based interface. This is the first course in the UI/UX Design Specialization, which brings a design-centric approach to user interface (UI) and user experience (UX) design, and offers practical, skill-based instruction centered around a visual communications perspective, rather than on one focused on marketing or programming alone. These courses are ideal for anyone with some experience in graphic or visual design and who would like to build their skill set in UI or UX for app and web design. It would also be ideal for anyone with experience in front- or back-end web development or human-computer interaction and want to sharpen their visual design and analysis skills for UI or UX....

熱門審閱

JN

Nov 21, 2018

I never thought this is possible. I am very grateful to Coursera and Calarts. This is a starting milestone to changing my career life for better. I am ready to pursue more and more with your support.

BB

Apr 01, 2020

This course is very useful for a beginner who is looking for the basics of UI/UX course.\n\nThis course will give you the basic idea of interface design which very important for its advanced studies.

篩選依據:

1 - Visual Elements of User Interface Design 的 25 個評論(共 654 個)

創建者 B D

Mar 04, 2019

Peer reviews is the worst. That is the worst idea, how can you allow someone that has no skill decide the outcome of someone else's grade?

創建者 Dimitrios P

Sep 22, 2019

This could have been a very good course, but for the idea of peer grading. It just does not work. Most people's comments are purely subjective and come from very little knowledge, skill and/or experience. Shame!

創建者 Vanessa C

Jun 18, 2019

I enjoyed the structure of the course with each week building up to the final project. Logically planned out and effective structure. Videos were clear and easy to understand. I'm happy with what I produced and the class helped me build my confidence to move onto the next course. I was able to complete my project with minimal knowledge of Photoshop.

However, I'm not a huge fan of the 3 peer grades needed to average out our score as it appeared from the comments left that some users misunderstood what and how they should be grading. Requiring a higher amount of grades to even out the average or allowing some grades to be challenged and reviewed by a staff member would be helpful.

創建者 Andrei N

Feb 21, 2019

You teach very strange visual design. Straight out of 90s. I don't know what to say, just look at Dribbble and all the design trends happening all over the world.

創建者 René F M

Jan 24, 2020

The overall information received I feel is really helpful, however, the fact that the grades you get with this course come from the same people studying the course makes no sense.

I would have liked to get actual feedback from the professionals/teachers, someone that actually has a background in this subject and with experience in the field.

I also placed a comment to dispute a grade I received in an assignment, because one of the peers that review it, seemed that he didn't understand English or didn't understand the question. The response from staff was really useless, they simply said that I could resubmit my assignment to have someone else review it. Why couldn't they simply review the same, that I had already submitted?

Coursera needs to look into this because the way these courses are being graded is not working!

創建者 Iñaki C S

Mar 25, 2019

This is a fantastic course for anyone who wants to get started in UX/UI design. The curriculum is well thought, the lessons in the videos are well paced, clear and thorough. Finally, the proposed activities work great as a practice for the concepts learned in the course. Totally recommended!

創建者 Rachael B

Mar 28, 2019

I liked how the course was structured in such a way that even with my limited design skills, I was able to create an interface that looked professional. I credit this to the structure of the course and the journey it takes you on to get to this point.

創建者 Rafaela R

Jul 12, 2019

Really for people who doesn't have any knowledge about design and user experience.

創建者 Aakash B

Jul 14, 2019

Does not provide any useful knowledge for improving skills. The course only talks about the basics that most of the individuals pursuing UI UX already knows.

創建者 Huma A K

Jun 14, 2020

The course is excellent and I got to learn a lot, but I am not a fan of peer grading as they have just as much knowledge as we do. Getting a grade from a mentor would be more accurate and helpful

創建者 ogunyooye o t

Oct 17, 2019

its so interesting and i am full of hope to become a better citizen of my country and world at large...i am so happy that at the end of this course i will become a ui and ux designer.

創建者 Pavankumar S

Mar 15, 2019

Very useful course, Highly recommended for beginners who is going to kick start with UI/UX design. Very detailed content and explanation. Thanks for the such a wonderful course.

創建者 Anastasia A

Aug 11, 2019

Pretty good course, I'm more excited for the UX Design one, but this part of the Specialization is quite decent. If you're considering it, go for it. Just try to learn how to use Illustrator a bit beforehand. Sucks that its peer graded- but its straightforward and if you just follow the instructions, you should be fine.

Quick tip: it was not clear what you needed to do for week 2, but its basically ONLY the moodboard and colour palette. I did week 2 and 3 in week 2, and exhausted myself for no reason!

I was skeptical at first but its pretty good!

創建者 Karolina T

Feb 24, 2019

The content is really good.

The peer-scoring doesn't work really good though. It happened that the same work got scores varying from 1 to 3 points (in the scale of 4). The comments were not always adequate, e.g. pointing the lack of elements that were not expected to be included in the submission, calculating incorrectly the amount of pictures included. It would be interesting to know if it's controlled and standardize in any way.

創建者 Charlotte B

May 05, 2019

I have a degree in Graphic Design so I wanted to expand in UX & UI. This course was a great price, easy to do as quick or as slow passed as I needed.

創建者 Janie L

Jan 19, 2020

A good experience of learning UI. I got to create something of my own and got inspired by others' good work. As a designer who is already familiar with design applications and principles, it only took me one day to watch all the tutorials and 1.5 days to complete the assignments. After the course, I have something presentable I can include in my portfolio and have gained confidence in this field! Thank you for this great opportunity.

創建者 Samuel R

May 13, 2020

Great course, I have a degree in graphic design and have taken UX courses before. This was a good refresher on UI principles and I'm looking forward to the next course in this specialization.

創建者 Rajitha G

Jun 13, 2019

This is a great kick starter course to understand the basics and really change your perspective of UI and UX. Explained in detail with great simplicity, I loved it- note taking is also made easy!

My feedback is on the assignments:The difficulty I faced was i did not know how to use Indesign (this should have been a pre-requisite)- so after my first week assignment i put in some extra hours to learn InD basics to do my second assignment- that changed the quality of my work. Second - Assignment 1 was creating mood board but the sample had full project, so I as well as couple of our batch folks (I reviewed) ended up creating whole project first week - Should have given clear instructions - That would helped us focus on Week1 work. From Week2 what do work on was very clear. Please fix this for next batch

創建者 John V

May 05, 2020

I was extremely excited. Then, into the course, first week, there’s no instructors, all peers, who don’t answer you for days on the forum. No email to anybody. And the worst is it, it says it’s a beginner course, but they don’t teach one thing on how to use any of the programs in Adobe creative suite. So you were unable to do any assignments because some of us have no idea how to use the programs. Most of the people in the program are complaining about something. Too bad, certainly not well done at all.

創建者 Natasha B

Dec 28, 2019

I took so many pages of notes! There is a WEALTH of information packed into this course and I am going to make it into a simple outline to use when designing. I think it will be helpful for me in the future as a reference guide in order to do my best work until I get comfortable in the process. Very knowledgeable, fun project, and other students were respectful. Turn in your work early!

創建者 Bruno R d N

Feb 12, 2020

Escreverei em português, que é minha língua materna, especialmente para brasileiros e portugueses. Esse curso é realmente um ótimo curso introdutório. Eu não sabia bem como funcionava este sistema de educação à distância, mas posso dizer que realmente não perde em nada para cursos presenciais. É bastante prático e orientado para a prática profissional. Vale a pena!

創建者 Benison B

Apr 01, 2020

This course is very useful for a beginner who is looking for the basics of UI/UX course.

This course will give you the basic idea of interface design which very important for its advanced studies.

創建者 Kateřina H

Mar 25, 2020

It was my first UI/UX experience and it was amazing. I had so much fun and learnt so many things. I wish it could be longer. I'm kind of missing uni times :P Thank you so much for it!

創建者 Ariadne R B

Oct 03, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. I love the way Michael Worthington explains everything and I love the fact that we have more videos than reading, to me it's easier to understand.

創建者 Myroslav O

Nov 06, 2018

Very decent and applied course.

The only thing for possible improvement I can think of is the form of the requirements for the assignments. Since from the very beginning of the course you are free to choose the application idea from one of the given options, but then in the end of each week your submitted assignment has to meet some particular strict requirements (such as some fixed amounts of visual elements, buttons, etc.), maybe it makes sense to restrict options you can choose of, or to mention all the strict requirements from the very beginning of the course, because sometimes it felt like I had to intentionally complicate my application (e.g. add more visual elements that do not make much sense, but in order just to meet the required criteria set in the assignments).

All in all, thanks for a great course!