Chevron Left
返回到 Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds

學生對 阿尔伯塔大学 提供的 Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds 的評價和反饋

4.9
732 個評分
223 個審閱

課程概述

Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds is a five-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of the origins of birds. This course examines the anatomy, diversity, and evolution of theropod dinosaurs in relation to the origin of birds. Students explore various hypotheses for the origin of flight. Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/paleontology-theropod-dinosaurs...

熱門審閱

MC

Mar 15, 2018

This course was great! It explains everything clearly, and it keeps you involved by asking questions about the material, and keeps you amused with some interesting anecdotes. Highly suggested by me!

JC

Aug 22, 2017

I loved this course. It was informative, easy to understand, and exciting. The lecturer's knowledge and passion shone through in the lectures, and the course notes were a great supplement too.

篩選依據:

1 - Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds 的 25 個評論(共 218 個)

創建者 Daniel T

Jan 08, 2019

W. Scott Persons is a spectacular presenter. He speaks clearly and articulates himself in such a way that he can explain a complex subject in an easy-to-understand way. He doesn't speak too quickly nor too slowly. If anyone wants to be a better presenter, they should follow the example of Persons.

I like the questions being asked during the video. Sometimes they are just to make sure you are paying attention, but most times they require you to make inferences based on what you have learned, which is great. If you complete the reading material before watching the videos, you should have no problem at all answering the video questions.

The reading material is extremely in-depth and very informative even beyond what the videos offer. One complaint I have would be that the estimated time of completion for the reading is inaccurate. They say it takes about 10 minutes but if you want to actually read and get a good grasp of all of the material presented in the notes, it will take far longer. Personally, it takes me several hours to consolidate the material in my head and to take notes. Like I said, the reading goes very in-depth.

The reading material also uses anatomical terms of location very frequently. I would recommend learning the anatomical terms of location (rostral, caudal, distal, proximal, etc.) to assist you while you read the notes. Also take some time to learn how to interpret cladograms.

One thing that stands out to me is the Tree of Life, which is basically an interactive learning objective that shows how ALL life to have ever existed on this planet is connected. It is an AMAZING supplement to the course and a lot of fun to explore.

Overall, I HIGHLY recommend this course to anyone interested in dinosaurs; paleontology as a whole; evolution and phylogenesis; and ornithology.

創建者 Brice B

Sep 09, 2017

Fascinating class! Covers a lot of material very clearly in five weeks. The use of the media is good with in-video quizzes, some games and an interactive phylogenetic tree of life. Course notes are provided for each lessons (they are very well done). The presenter, Scott Persons, a PhD student at the time if I am not mistaken, is great, though he is very surprisingly not credited on the homepage of the course, which is a shame (especially given that he has also written his scripts among other things...) I have attended all four paleontology courses from the University of Alberta and this is the one I preferred. Having first hand accounts of the discovery of Therapod fossils by Professor Currie is great and as a result the course strikes a good balance between giving facts and explaining the scientific method. Moreover, the historical part of the course, on the debate on the origin of dinosaurs, is very interesting and, as an added bonus, gives an idea of what the state of the field is today.

創建者 Michael S R

Oct 03, 2017

An excellent course......so well presented, so very exciting! I just loved it! I'm a retired neuroscience researcher (dementia) and held held positions as a Research Fellow and Adjunct Professor, Australian Catholic University. Since retiring I have been pursuing a long dormant passion for palaeontology and have worked on dinosaur projects in Outback Australia and have studied formal units in Palaeontology through the University of New England, Australia, and now this course through the University of Alberta! I have also obtained credentials as a laboratory technician with the Australian Age of Dinosaurs Museum. I look forward to doing another course via Coursera through the University of Alberta! Bloody beauty, mate!

創建者 Dhaval S

Jun 11, 2019

That was one of the Best Experience of Learning u people Nailed it Perfectly, waiting for some new courses from your side, Dhaval Shukal

創建者 Daniel T

Jan 22, 2019

Great info, great teachers

創建者 Sharan S M

Feb 05, 2019

This course taught me about Birds and Dinosaurs well

創建者 Llelani C

Jan 24, 2019

Lecture material very comprehensive, well explained, and engaging. The notes are detailed, yet easy to understand.

The diagrams assist in understanding, with information depicting the structures being discussed.

創建者 Katsutoshi Hayashi

Feb 25, 2019

Wonderful and interesting!

創建者 Nevaeh C

Feb 25, 2019

A very interesting course!

創建者 Sabarni S

Mar 31, 2019

It is a great course for people interested in paleontology and ornithology. Personally, I am obsessed with birds and dinosaurs. I have learned a lot from this course regarding the evolution of birds. Such an wonderful course of history!

創建者 Douglas A K

Apr 08, 2019

Exellent

創建者 Jarrad R

Feb 04, 2019

it was great i loved it

創建者 Joaquín I C C

Jan 20, 2019

Demasiado bueno y muy informativo, y con la facilidad de que todos los vídeos están subtitulados ayuda mucho a la comprensión de la información. Se lo recomiendo a todos los amantes de los terópodos y dinosaurios en general.

創建者 Jim L

Aug 06, 2017

As a long-time birder, I loved this course!!!

創建者 Bobby H

Aug 15, 2016

Loved it. I wish there were a 10 minute review at the end where everything is pulled together in a meaningful and cohesive way with a summary of the key evolutionary paths from dinosaurs to modern birds. I will go back through all the course material to sketch this out for myself. It would be nice to have an overview/summary/chart to study from though. I'd like to memorize key points and some more signposts to help with that would be great.

I finished the course in less than a week and loved every minute. I am left wanting more. P.S. I have a master's degree in biological sciences.

創建者 Daniel A V

Apr 10, 2017

The course was simply amazing. I am a Brazilian student of veterinary medicine with an special interst in birds. I love to watch and learn about them, and, if possible, I will work with the medicine and rehab of that incredible group of living dinosaurs. The course was extremely didactic and clear on all past information, making my interest only increase. Unfortunately I can not afford to buy the certificate, which makes me sad in a way. However, I am very grateful to the entire mini-course team and I congratulate you on the incredible work you have done.

創建者 Manuel J L M

Jun 02, 2017

Excellent course on Evolution of Theropod Dinosaurs and origin of Aves. Greetings from Lima, Perú.

創建者 Giovanni C R R C

May 03, 2016

Great content, new cladistic information aviable, super staff!

創建者 Rodrigo F

Feb 07, 2017

assume class... You explore a lot of dinosaurs. Including many weird newly discovered ones. Plus you explore the variety what characterizes different types of birds.

創建者 Suzanne N

Sep 03, 2016

The University of Alberta has done an excellent job with this whole series of paleontology courses. The interactives are well designed, and the lectures and quizzes are interesting and memorable. I'm a fan and am looking forward to learning more!

創建者 Heidi H C

Jun 02, 2017

Excellent. I loved this course. Good resource materials and great demonstrations.

創建者 Kris P

Jul 22, 2016

Alberta University and Paleontology! What more needs saying?

創建者 Robert C C

Nov 11, 2016

Excellent course!

創建者 SharonC

Aug 25, 2017

Excellent course!!

創建者 kahraman i

Aug 15, 2016

Excellent course, excellent lecturers. Thank you very much.