Chevron Left
返回到 恐怖主义和反恐:理论与实践的比较

學生對 莱顿大学 提供的 恐怖主义和反恐:理论与实践的比较 的評價和反饋

4.8
2,262 個評分
549 條評論

課程概述

Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private business and ordinary citizens. And in many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security and stability. But what does this exactly mean? What is the nature of this threat? Who or what is threatened, how, by whom and why? What can be done about it or how can we at least limit the impact of terrorism and make sure that terrorists do not make headlines and manage to scare us? These are just a handful of questions that will be addressed in this course that consists of three parts. First it focuses on the essence of terrorism as an instrument to achieve certain goals, in addition to an exploration of this phenomenon and the difficulties in defining it. The second part provides an overview of the state of the art in (counter) terrorism studies. Since ‘9/11’ terrorism studies have grown exponentially, reflecting the rise in perceived threats. But what has academia come up with? What theories, assumptions and conventional wisdom has it produced that could be of help in understanding terrorism and dealing with it? The most interesting results are examined and compared with empirical evidence with the aim to either stress their importance or to debunk them as myths. The final part looks into the implications and possibilities for policy making. The course ends with a module specifically designed to address one of today's most topical issue: the foreign fighter phenomenon....

熱門審閱

LZ

May 23, 2016

This excellent, balanced course uses a great combination of concise videos and additional reading. I enrolled hoping to better understand this hot-topic and Prof. Bakker's course was perfect.

MZ

Sep 21, 2017

Useful and well done. This course is an example how to boost resilience in our society with knowledge. At the end of the day is a brick of our holistic counter terrorism actions. Thank you.

篩選依據:

76 - 恐怖主义和反恐:理论与实践的比较 的 100 個評論(共 530 個)

創建者 rupert s

Oct 11, 2016

A really good introduction to the course, well explained, good videos, I only wish I could have read the extra materials too. Only one complaint (very minor) - I live in Colombia and found a couple of references to Columbia in the materials. But overall super.

創建者 Diego G G

Sep 07, 2015

I have learned a lot since the very beginning of this course, i found very accurate the content in each module, and i should mention that profesor Bakker is very objective at explaining, and when it comes to sharing his opinions he gives reasonable arguments.

創建者 Jose M C

Jun 03, 2017

It is an excellent course in acquiring theoretical and practical knowledge of the subject, I am very pleased to participate, demonstrating my taste in talking about these subjects, I would like to continue learning about the material. Thank you very much

創建者 Hellen

Jan 25, 2016

Very well covered intro into the study of terrorism and counterterrorism. Gives the learner new perspectives and a challenge to research further into the subject. This is a course that should be taken by everyone in a security or governance related field

創建者 BILU K

Sep 27, 2016

Really impressed and motivated to learn different types of Terrorist Names and organization. It gives me an idea to start think critically and develop mechanism to stop Terrorist in the country. I really appreciate it. Thanks

Bilu Kasanda

Papua New Guinea

創建者 Mike S

Apr 28, 2016

Very compelling arguments and facts. I was looking for something to do and always enjoy broadening knowledge.

The content was heavy enough to be meaningful, but light enough to be enjoyable. I enjoyed the discussion forums. I will be continuing the series.

創建者 Karen B

Sep 04, 2017

I have a degree and mastery, and I have taken many courses, but this one stands out for the quality of the speakers, the information and the pedagogy, I really congratulate you, especially to Professor Edwin Bakker, many congratulations and admiration.

創建者 Eriberto T

Aug 07, 2017

Very relevant course. When I took it, I just appreciated its theoretical value. Now that we have our nearby city attacked by terrorists and held on for more than two months, the course has become one of the most relevant courses in our society today.

創建者 Ivan J

Oct 25, 2017

A very good course diving into the foundations of analysing terrorism and counter-terrorism. It is scholar oriented but considers as well data collected from global terrorism databases. It was pivotal to train and exercise further academic thinking.

創建者 kaiser m i

Aug 30, 2015

This is one of the best course that showcase our most vital in a way most contemporary matters. Hopefully, the people who will take part in this course will have improved their level of humanity and their partial eyes through a inevitable process.

創建者 Cao Y

Aug 26, 2015

Very helpful for a basic understanding of terrorism and counterterrorism, and a knowledge with the current reseach in this field. A very pleasent experience studying with Prof. Bakker, and looking forward to the next course with Leiden University.

創建者 Zdenek V

Apr 16, 2017

A very good insight in the field of terrorism, its deffinition, impact, counter measures, history and future, from the academical point of view. The course is very well organized and I would recommend it to anyone with interest in the field.

創建者 sanatan k

Feb 12, 2019

Excellent course , it provides much required insight in to Terrorism and Counter Terrorism. I have gained enormously and have furthered my knowledge in this field which would not have been possible without undertaking this holistic course.

創建者 Ephraim

Nov 20, 2018

It's been really interesting

It has helped supported me with a lot of needed resourses and infor for my dissertation

The used language is easy and understandable.

There is a big amount of information and statistics

The course is well organized

創建者 Kevin A H

Sep 13, 2015

This course, which delves into the minds of the experts, can expand your knowledge into what's really happening, not just the opinions of the media. Further, it goes deep into the 'why' in a world only interested in the 'who' and 'where'.

創建者 Bárbara B

Dec 03, 2015

The course brings up subjects about terrorism that are very interesting, such as the history of terrorism. I liked it very much and I highly recommend it for anyone interested in political science, terrorism and international relations.

創建者 Katharina G

May 12, 2017

Interesting, Encouraging and Fun to do! Each week gave a better insight into different areas and provide a wide and good understanding of Terrorism and Counter Terrorism Concepts. Amazing reading list and access to papers. It was a ple

創建者 Arnaud S

Mar 21, 2018

A very insightful course, providing an academic approach to historical and current events. The course addresses a wide range of topics , it questions assumptions, and it provides new perspectives on terrorism. I highly recommend it!

創建者 Fabrizzio D Q d F

Oct 08, 2017

This course is one of the best, the fact of being in netherlands is a "extra" (I've precupation about the north american courses about this). The professor has an universitary abordage, without rage or bias.

Thak you a lot, Leiden!

創建者 Milko G

May 03, 2019

A very interesting course! I learned a lot about the history and development of terrorism till actual terrorism today. Just what I searched for. Some readings could probably need to be updated, but nevertheless very interesting.

創建者 Zhou H

Dec 18, 2015

这门课两年间选课的学生超过了十万之多,一方面课程的内容针对恐怖主义和反恐,从历史、理论到实践、未来进行了详细阐述,课程亦提供大量参考阅读材料,可对这个领域的知识有一个整体概括的掌握;另一方面,近年来恐怖主义的活动日益频繁,伊斯兰国、外国战士、欧洲难民等,也成为大家关注的热点。遗憾的是,课程中一再提及的欧洲相对安全的情况,在今年11月13日巴黎恐怖袭击之后,一去不返。课程的论坛仍然活跃,从中可以继续与来自世界各地的学生一同探讨反恐相关的问题。

創建者 Conrado T D J

Sep 28, 2016

This Course is totally illuminating! Great backgrounder for a knowledge seeker about terrorism like me. It became more significant & engaging because of the great materials & great Facilitator & Professor, Edwin Bakker!

創建者 Георгий Ф

Jan 07, 2016

Sometimes i am absolutely disagree with some of conclusions but its a normal process of exploring the truth is in an academic way of reasoned debate, dialogue filled with respectful atmosphere.

Thank you for this course.

創建者 Yausheva A

Nov 26, 2015

I certainly enjoyed taking this course. Professor Bakker couldn`t be nicer and overall amazing, I understood and memorized every single bit of the studies. The reading was very useful as well. Thank you very much!

創建者 Boris R

Nov 05, 2019

This is a great course on Terrorism and Counterterrorism, with very interesting lectures. The course will need to have a deep involvement in readings, taking notes and researches. I totally recommend this course!