Chevron Left
返回到 Summary Statistics in Public Health

學生對 约翰霍普金斯大学 提供的 Summary Statistics in Public Health 的評價和反饋

4.8
1,580 個評分

課程概述

Biostatistics is the application of statistical reasoning to the life sciences, and it is the key to unlocking the data gathered by researchers and the evidence presented in the scientific literature. In this course, we'll focus on the use of statistical measurement methods within the world of public health research. Along the way, you'll be introduced to a variety of methods and measures, and you'll practice interpreting data and performing calculations on real data from published studies. Topics include summary measures, visual displays, continuous data, sample size, the normal distribution, binary data, the element of time, and the Kaplan-Meir curve....

熱門審閱

EC

2020年9月22日

I found this course really useful. It actually made you do work and it wasn't necessarily easy to pass the end of module content, which I feel made the course so much more valuable. Highly recommend.

AA

2021年1月10日

This is a good and enticing introduction for the rest of the Coursera Specialization where it belongs. For added value, consider taking this course with a biostatistics textbook for better retention.

篩選依據:

26 - Summary Statistics in Public Health 的 50 個評論(共 395 個)

創建者 Amster F B

2020年4月24日

I am glad to learn a lot of terms in statistics and how to use and interpret them in the context of Public Health researches. The Instructor provided enough examples to understand the lessons better.

創建者 金币

2022年1月22日

very good!

創建者 Shamalasri

2020年6月23日

Very wholesome and step by step teaching, however the technicalities (video volume, voice modulation, and other noises from background) hampers concentration. Very enthusiastic lecturer, could experiment with better modes of teaching/writing.

創建者 cbuizza

2020年4月20日

interesting but you should add explication related with interval confidence also for K-M analysis

創建者 Anubhav S

2021年7月10日

I am forced to give a 3 star rating to this course even with its quality content because of the poor execution.

Main problem with this course is the execution. There are many videos going over 20 minute mark. Not a single quiz, graded or practice, will give you the explanation, I have taken other courses from John Hopkins too, this was the first time I was having this issue. Many times the faculty will move the mic leading to a distorted voice. Many times the slides will be just plain and boring. Many times I wondered should I continue the course or not. But disregarding the execution, its 5 star content helped me a lot.

On a side note, take another statistics course before coming here. Faculty is one of PHDs who will keep on saying jargons to make him sound smart, even if it was not his intention, leading to the confusion many times. He even said about statistical inference and other high level topics in the first week. I highly doubt that a beginner can properly understand what he even meant to say as there is not even a glossary for this course.

In summary: 5 Star Content, 2 Star execution. Final score: 3 Star, a great course marred by poor execution.

創建者 Jawharah A

2020年3月6日

it's great for people with no prior knowledge of public health and biostatistics, which isn't my case. I think the course needs more examples for practice and trials. Moreover, I couldn't find the boxplot lecture (it was mentioned in combination with other subject although it deserves its own lecture) and I had to watch youtube videos for the final project.

創建者 Truc T N

2020年2月2日

The course covers the very basic understanding of summary statistics. Don't expect this to be rigorous. If you take this as a refresher, double the playback speed, don't skip the additional videos and read the quiz questions carefully. Should earn you a 90 or higher.

創建者 Ioannis K G

2022年1月2日

It was a very useful course and it's the first but not the last one I take. In order to give a less biased opinion, I must say the following: I am a MD Urologist 53 years old (never late to learn!) and I have being studying biostatistics by myself the last 6 months. But still I needed some support because I had many doubts. So I tried the course.. The strengths: nice lectures and examples by the Professor, very useful the assessments. I cleared my doubts on Summary Statistics. The weakness: on the last section (survival times) some concepts were introduced but with less explanations (hazard ratio, cumulative probability, incidence rate calculation). So it was hard and I assed the exam on the first attempt I think also because I have studied before some Statistics. I give 5 stars after all because it really gives you a structured and complete mindset of the summary statistics.

創建者 Jenny M

2020年7月4日

To my surprise I really enjoyed this course. I am not a "math person" and I hated taking a statistics course in college, but I signed up for this course because I am planning to enter an MPH program in the fall and I wanted to get a head start on what I knew would be challenging material for me.

Dr. McCready's lectures were easy to follow and he gave so many examples that it helped me absorb the information. The format of being able to stop the videos, rewind, and listen again was a great help as well. I found the quizzes challenging, but not tricky or underhanded and felt that Dr. McCready is really interested in helping students learn and understand the material.

Thank you!

創建者 Jeani F S

2021年2月1日

The course combines the technical but still basic elements of statistical analysis with timely, relatable examples of how the knowledge can be immediately applied to public policy research and analysis. I have felt captive by the abbreviated conclusions published in peer-review journals, unable to take advantage of the nuances and complexities that appear in the form of histograms and statistical analysis summaries or abstracts. Excellent pacing and prolific use of real-world clinical and population health statistics - well done!

創建者 WILLY J N O

2021年6月15日

E​xcelentes explicaciones del Dr. McGready. Considero que la mejor forma de aprender estadistica es con ejemplos y siendo reiterativo con los conceptos importantes y este curso cumple con ambos requisitos perfectamente. Supero mis expectativas y me ayudo mucho a comprender mejor los conceptos estudiados en las clases en mi Universidad. Sugeriria agregar un modulo practico adicional al final como parte de la evaluacion formativa para integrar la mayor cantidad de conceptos posibles en los ejercicios.

創建者 Mustafa A

2021年3月18日

I am very excited to complete this Course I learn a lot. Even I was study statistics during my bachelor's degree and master's degree I discover a lot of misunderstandings and false representations of data. This course summarizes to you a lot of important facts about the data summarizing and comparing whatever the kind of types. Thanks, Syrian youth Assembly for providing me this opportunity. Now I can complete my thesis confidently.#statistics #learning #education #research #data

創建者 Pilar C M

2021年4月12日

I must thank the teacher, I was really afraid about statistic and maths, even I was thinking months before take this course! but now I understand I was wrong, my experience was amazing!, I am sorprised how easy the teacher could teach us all concepts and explain us so clearly with his red pen. I feel more confident with my statistical analysis skills and I want to finish this specialized program. Thank Mr. McGready!

創建者 Earl L

2021年4月18日

Dr. John is an excellent teacher. He has passion for his subject and the course layout is very well organized to help online students learn abstract Biostats concepts. I've taken many online courses and his is the best by far. I highly recommend Dr. John's classes to anyone interested in learning Biostats for either personal interest, supplementing college courses, or professional growth.

創建者 Sruthi S

2019年12月17日

The course was very interesting and enlightening. The foundation of the statistics was made so easy and clear by the instructor. I was handling the basic statistical analysis of few projects in public health eye-care. Now that i have a good knowledge about the risk ratios, time to event analysis, the odds of publishing a good scientific paper is 3 or 4 times more! Thanks to Coursera!

創建者 João E P

2020年5月26日

I'd like to thank to JHU for the chance to made this course, costless. The course is great, I did the Part I of Summary Statistics and I loved. Brief e rightly and with a great professor I have learned more in this weeks than 5 periods of epidemiology at my University. I did this course aind I recommended. I hope continue and will do more courses from JHU . Thanks

創建者 Ei M T

2022年6月10日

This course is superb. I've learned alot about biostatistics and data analysis. Even though I'm a med student, I am not acquainted with biostatistics in public health. The lecturer simply explained them in this course. So, I can easily catch up with the course and I consider that this course can be a big step for my future career in public health field.

創建者 Adele V

2020年7月8日

Dr. McGready is an excellent teacher. The lectures are easy to follow and contain relevant real-world examples. The MCQs also require you to think critically. I have learned some of the concepts from my university courses, but after taking this Coursera course, I discovered some points that I missed and I'm glad that my understanding has been enhanced.

創建者 Darwin F

2021年1月11日

Excellent course, the lecturer presents information, definitions and practical uses of summary statistics with real life examples. Although the content can be somewhat confusing, Dr McGready has achieved to make it clear and easier to understand. Thanks Coursera, JHU and Dr McGready for this awesome course. Keep moving forward!

創建者 Vamini R

2020年11月15日

This is an excellent course. I was looking for a review of materials I learned almost a decade ago and I found it helpful and very well taught. The average time spent on assignments and studying is about 2 hours per week. I took notes, stopped to do calculations, etc. and thoroughly understood what was taught. Thank you!

創建者 Shane Y

2020年6月6日

I really enjoyed this course. I thought the instructor did a great job in explaining the more abstract terms in a clear and concise manner. I thought he was very thorough and systematic in his methodology. I would definitely take this course again and also recommend this to anyone wanting to learn biostatistics.

創建者 Joy K

2019年9月8日

Instructor did an excellent job of summarizing and communicating complex concepts! Thank you!

It would have been great to have a recommended source for practice exercises with solutions to give students and opportunity to practice and solidify the learning and understand some of the nuances of interpretation.

創建者 Anna W

2022年2月4日

Excellent course, made this intro approachable and made me grasp concepts that had been so challenging to me before! It has made me want to learn more about Biostats and get more involved in Medical Research and to read more articles just to put what I learned to use! Thank you!

創建者 Ammanie A

2020年5月22日

Really great introductory course for those with some biostatistical knowledge! Lectures were well organized and provided many different examples to solidify learning process. My one suggestion would be to provide exercise worksheet problem sets for further practice of material.