Chevron Left
返回到 How to Finance and Grow Your Startup – Without VC

學生對 伦敦大学 提供的 How to Finance and Grow Your Startup – Without VC 的評價和反饋

4.6
433 個評分
133 條評論

課程概述

Who? If you’re an entrepreneur at any stage of your journey, or even an aspiring one, and you need money to start or grow your business, this course is for you. What? This course will introduce, and help you put to use in your startup, the five models through which your customers can – and will, if you ask them! – fund your business. These five time-tested models have been put to use by entrepreneurial superstars like Michael Dell, Bill Gates, Richard Branson and more. Sadly, though, the five models are rarely talked about and not widely understood. Until now! The five models will be brought to life by the real-world stories of an inspiring collection of incredibly creative entrepreneurs from around the world – including successes and failures – through a series of captivating no-holds-barred interviews with founders and others, and investors, too. Why? More than two generations ago, the venture capital community – VC’s, business angels, incubators, and others – convinced the entrepreneurial world that writing business plans and raising venture capital constituted the twin centerpieces of entrepreneurial endeavor. They did so for very good reasons: the sometimes astonishing returns they’ve delivered to their investors and the incredibly large and valuable companies their ecosystem has created. But the vast majority of fast growing companies never take any angel or venture funding. Are they onto something that most of today’s entrepreneurial ecosystem has missed? Indeed, should a business angel or VC be seen as the first port of call for getting your nascent entrepreneurial venture off the ground or growing it faster? Perhaps not. How? You’ll be asked to do a series of exercises – out in the real world – to put your growing toolkit to use in your business or the one you hope to start. Hands-on, practical tools to help your business start and thrive – without venture capital. You’ll join our discussion board of fellow participants, if you like, and learn from others who are putting the tools to work, just as you are. And to suit today’s fast-paced lifestyles, we’ve broken what you’ll get – short lessons, interviews, thought-provoking questions, even some optional things to read – into bite-sized chunks, so you can log in and grab them whenever and wherever you are. And what else? If, after checking out and perhaps completing this course, you find your company in a position where seeking venture capital turns out to be the right thing to do next, John Mullins leads an inspiring and hands-on executive education course at London Business School – this one face-to-face – called Financing the Entrepreneurial Business. There, among a room full of investors and entrepreneurs, you’ll study a series of captivating real-world cases and learn everything an entrepreneur – or an investor, for that matter – needs to know to handle the person who sits across the deal table and take an entrepreneurial business from start-up to exit. See https://www.london.edu/education-and-development/executive-education/topic/finance/financing-the-entrepreneurial-business#.WIVY_FyTQ-0 for info....

熱門審閱

SK
2020年7月18日

A beautiful and well oriented course which helps proving your concept of business by customer funding and no external venture capital. Thank you so much to the course instructor and the whole team.

KK
2017年5月12日

It was an amazing opportunity wherein we had a great chance to both learn about various customer funded models through interviews, guest talks and practice them through assignments in parallel

篩選依據:

101 - How to Finance and Grow Your Startup – Without VC 的 125 個評論(共 128 個)

創建者 Folomiiev O

2017年9月17日

cool.

創建者 XIAOYU L

2020年11月25日

good

創建者 Andrea J

2017年11月6日

The content by John is great. But there is not enough support for the course. File cannot be uploaded easily. Grading by peers is questionable. There're usually 3 people who review your work, but in one of the assignment, there is only 1 person who grade my paper. In his opinion, the paper has not met "the criteria" (actually, it did). I cannot re-submit paper afterwards, and have to wait for the whole next cycle of course to have the paper review again. This is time consuming, and very frustrating.

創建者 Frederick B

2017年1月15日

Definitely worth taking! Eye opener on lots of issues and topics. I took the course while in the middle of launching my venture. I will definitely put some of what I learned there in motion and certainly keep all in mind before planing my next move.

The course rang lots of bells as i already got VCs buying shares in some of my companies. I would have had taken the course before, I would certainly have done things differently.

Better late than never!

Thanks J Mullins and LBS

創建者 Pedro T

2016年4月29日

The lecture / interview approach brings diversity and different views on the table. The topic of the MOOC is actually quite simple, and it's its simplicity that makes it so important - first thought for the large majority of entrepreneurs should be to raise money by their own means, ie building a sellable product and finance the business through customers. The fact that it isn't so nowadays, is the reason for so many failures and it's also why this course is so relevant.

創建者 SreeChandan N

2017年10月9日

Very good course on Entrepreneurship, especially for people who do Not have much experience in this field. Experiences from various Entrepreneurs and Venture Capitalists is invaluable!

創建者 Armand S

2016年8月18日

I really enjoy interview with founders . This course give me lot of insights to founded by venture with customers and involve them as soon as possible. Thanks

創建者 Sergey G

2016年8月13日

I found this course quite interesting, it made be consider I perspective I previously hadn't. The only drawback is that it is rather slow in places.

創建者 Nejc M

2018年9月27日

Enjoyed the course, learned about how to finance the startup without venture capitalists and finished before expected date.

創建者 Rajat N S

2020年4月27日

After the grading process, At least the tutor should look at the Assignments submitted so as to provide fair result.

創建者 Peter L

2018年11月6日

I learnt a lot from John Mullins and his guests. It will definitely help me in growing my business. Thank you.

創建者 DESDOUITS F

2020年5月2日

very insightful even though some examples are slightly outdated

創建者 Kaspars S

2016年7月20日

Valuable not only for those who wanna start without VC's

創建者 Siddharth P

2018年1月19日

Best in class and inspiring for future entrepreneurs..

創建者 MADAN A

2018年7月5日

An Excellent Course. Wish we could go in more depth!

創建者 Edward B

2016年5月10日

A great, practical approach to growing a startup

創建者 Dimitrios

2019年6月17日

Very interesting course. Makes you think.

創建者 Kayeye M J

2017年5月12日

Nice lecture. I have learn a lot

創建者 Alessandro A

2018年6月3日

While the content of the course is valid and thought stimulating, the development of the course is barely sufficient in my opinion. It resembles too much as an advertisement of the professor's book, extended over 7 weeks of MOOC. The investor interviews are interesting at the beginning, but tend to become boring on the long run. Sometimes they fall into simple chit-chat and always go around the same topics again and again ("no need for VC funds / bootstrapping make you stronger and better / etc."). I cannot say that this course is bad because I did take some valuable insights from it. However, it is not an excellent course either, it is rather a middle of the pack type of MOOC. Peer reviews have been quite slow perhaps due to low attendance of the course itself.

創建者 Gunay F

2020年5月22日

I would appreciate to have a more direct interchange with the course Professor, to have him more engaged in the evaluation of our homework, his participation in our discussion forums.

創建者 Hieronymus D

2019年9月15日

Less financing, more a pricing model focus.

also far to often does he recommend hos book.

創建者 Mehwish k

2017年10月23日

it was amazing and very knowledgeable

創建者 Adhitya B

2016年5月8日

Very Useful

創建者 Γιώργος Κ

2022年1月9日

The course is only a collection of interviews of other entrepreuners. I do not believe it provides any specific knowledge and the topics discussed are too generic. The interviews are nice, but I would expect a clear guide on how to bootstrap your own start-up without VC.

創建者 Lucas G

2020年1月9日

The ideas behind this course are good but seem like the main focus is to promote a book that the author has written on the topic. Insufficient people taking it as for the peer review system to work. It took 25 days for my last submission to be reviewed.