Chevron Left
返回到 Stalin and Stalinism in Russian History

學生對 国立高等经济大学 提供的 Stalin and Stalinism in Russian History 的評價和反饋

4.7
116 個評分
40 條評論

課程概述

The course presents the life and deeds of Joseph Stalin, the leader of the Soviet Union from 1924 till 1953. It analyses the reasons for his actions and their results, as well as the causes of his popularity in Russia today. It offers an analysis of the phenomenon of Stalinism and of its significance for Russia and beyond. In the late 1920s – early 1930s Stalin directed the massive and rapid industrialisation of the country and the forced collectivisation of its agriculture. The industrialisation was based on forced labour, and collectivisation on repression, but both helped to create the material base for the Soviet defence industry. In the late 1930s Stalin unleashed mass terror against the Soviet people, in which millions perished. In his view this helped to rid the country of any potential internal enemies on the eve of the coming war. The USSR, together with its allies, won the Second World War, but at the cost of dozens of millions of lives. Stalin was instrumental in creating the post-war order. The system which he created in the 1930s shaped the USSR as it was during his lifetime and for decades after his death. It also influenced the lives of millions of people beyond the Soviet borders. The course will enable those who take it to develop an informed understanding of the Stalin era and of the phenomenon of Stalinism. Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

熱門審閱

IB
2019年3月12日

A great course. A very interesting topic that gives a lot of details. A good course for people interested in history. The assignments at the end of the lecture help to remember all the material.

NK
2019年4月12日

This was quite detailed. There is so much to be learned from this class. And to think, it all is relatively recent history. Thank you.

篩選依據:

1 - Stalin and Stalinism in Russian History 的 25 個評論(共 39 個)

創建者 Arthur R

2017年12月24日

History from the neo-liberal perspective. Tendentious and lopsided to be point of being comical at times.

創建者 Roberto M R

2020年1月4日

It is almost impossible to complete this course with so many peer reviews to do and not sufficient peers to review. I have been in this course for half a year and completed all my assignments months and months ago and still have not been able to get a certificate because of the stupid requirements of a lot of peer reviews. Who is the instructor for this course? I think he or she may need to take a class in pedagogy.

創建者 David H

2020年3月20日

I found this course very interesting and taught in an easy to learn manner. Right from lesson one it followed a chronological order and explained how all the different people and events combined. I learned much more than I ever thought I would and recommend it to anyone in interests to learn more.

創建者 Maria C É Á

2019年1月3日

Excellent course ! I've enrolled in several Coursera Courses and this is one of the best. Professor Filatova has designed a clear and wide syllabus, the issues are well fundamented and it "opens space" for further research. Good study materials and presentation on the whole. Clara Águas

創建者 Miguel V

2017年9月22日

The best course to understand the Russian History for 20th Century.

Really nice and interesting video lectures for each chapter.

I really like the friendly atmosphere form other students who check your weekly "homework".

100% recommend.

創建者 Irina B

2019年3月13日

A great course. A very interesting topic that gives a lot of details. A good course for people interested in history. The assignments at the end of the lecture help to remember all the material.

創建者 Lars G

2020年5月29日

Cool presentation of one of the most important leaders in the 20th century. Irina explains and educate you in a charming un-american way. Recommended!

創建者 Nancy K

2019年4月12日

This was quite detailed. There is so much to be learned from this class. And to think, it all is relatively recent history. Thank you.

創建者 Yuka I

2019年1月5日

Excellent course. Very well prepared, the talk of lecturer is interesting, the content itself is intriguing.

創建者 María F

2020年1月7日

Muy completo. El conocimiento y la narración de la profesora es muy bueno.

創建者 Shimon A

2020年8月12日

An interesting, well-built course. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

創建者 celestial c

2018年2月23日

Very Good course to supplement study of Soviet history!

創建者 Stephen B

2017年11月27日

A very interesting review of recent Russian and Soviet history, offering a good insight into the person and the times that created it and influenced much of Russian society today. The lectures are easy to follow and nicely descriptive. The weekly essays, required for completion of the course, were thought-provoking, and the range of ideas and perspectives presented in the student essays (peer review of which also is required) was very interesting, too.There were only a few minor problems; for example, sometimes the script for each lecture, which is provided below the lecture video area, wasn't correct because of mistyping or misunderstanding of what was spoken. Also, in a couple of cases, the peer-review forms had rating sections that were confusing or not exactly correct for the specific essay being reviewed. But overall, it was an excellent course, presented in a balanced and professional way.

創建者 Marcy H

2018年1月11日

Excellent course -- very informative, directed us to a lot of external resources. I also enjoyed the professor's presentation. The topics she presented most of the time were certainly not jovial and her presentation reflected the seriousness with which she treated the topics.

I recommend this course to anyone interested in Russian history, or this period in either western or eastern European history.

創建者 D L Z

2018年9月5日

This is one of the best courses that I have taken on Coursera. I really learned a lot! It is very well presented and the system of writing something every week is a great learning tool. Excellent Professor. Very proficient mentor, too. Thank you very much for the opportunity to learn so much about Stalin and Soviet life.

創建者 Weronika K

2017年10月21日

Very informative and objective account of Stalinism with wide background (from Lenin till today) allowing to see "the bigger picture". Highly recommended for anybody interested in 20th century history and/or trying to understand Russia and Soviet Union.

創建者 DragonBarView S T

2017年11月17日

An excellent introduction to one of the most important figures of the 20th century. Clearly and simply presented this course encourages the student to find out more. The assignments were challenging and thought-provoking.

創建者 Christopher S

2020年9月6日

I took this course purely for the pleasure of learning more about this fascinating subject. Although I did not participate in the peer-graded elements, I enjoyed te lectures and video classes immensely. Thank you.

創建者 Matthew A

2018年3月22日

Very interesting course. Well taught and good materials. Note that coursework relies on weekly mini-essays and a final longer essay.

創建者 Janet W

2019年4月3日

A wonderful introduction to Stalin's era and aftermath. It also helps me to see why Russia is in its current status.

創建者 Vicenţiu H V

2018年4月20日

This course was very interesting. I learnt a lot about Russian history and I was happy to read the book recommended.

創建者 Basil M

2020年10月10日

i liked this course, really very good learning methods and resource person ....thank you

創建者 Nirmalya R

2017年9月14日

Very good course for interested persons that covers a large part of 20th century Russia.

創建者 Ingibjorg E B

2017年10月18日

For those interested in World history this course is absolutely necessary.

創建者 Mohamed M

2018年12月30日

Really helpful course, it gives you an outline of Modern Russian History.