Chevron Left
返回到 SQL for Data Science

學生對 加州大学戴维斯分校 提供的 SQL for Data Science 的評價和反饋

4.6
2,735 個評分
678 個審閱

課程概述

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

熱門審閱

AM

Jul 17, 2019

This course is designed with beginners in mind, and it is an excellent introduction to SQL. I intend to further my knowledge of SQL after taking this course. The instructor did a terrific job.

AM

Jun 08, 2019

Great introductory to the SQL programming. This will definitely not only add another programming skill but also give me more capabilities programming in SAS. I would recommend this to anyone.

篩選依據:

626 - SQL for Data Science 的 650 個評論(共 675 個)

創建者 Christopher M

Jul 19, 2018

Course teaching was excellent, but the final assignment questions were terrible.

創建者 Charla S

Nov 24, 2017

This is a basic SQL course. I'm not sure why it is called "SQL for Data Science" other than that is a catchy title. I took this course to refresh my SQL skills. It did give me an idea of where I am weak, but I don't feel I achieved my objective.

創建者 Greg L

Nov 24, 2017

Quizzes poorly and ambiguously worded, database carelessly extracted

創建者 Joseph C

Jun 27, 2018

Three stars because (1) the lecturer is good, and (2) Despite the bad "user experience" provided by this course, I did achieve my goal which was to acquire a working knowledge of SQL. Some of the final project questions were confusing, or not well explained. Some of the answers given in the rubric are wrong (Part 1 question 6). Only a few mentors are present on the Forum and they often give incomplete answers to questions. One of the homework questions is incorrectly posed; this has been pointed out 6 months ago and is still not corrected. The student must waste a significant amount of time trying to understand ill-posed or confusing coding assignment questions. This level of neglect to improving the user experience is really *not acceptable* for a paid course.The course could be greatly improved by having someone with pedagogical as well as technical knowledge to address the task of rewriting and fixing the coding questions that many users have complained about.

創建者 Zacharie L

May 04, 2018

This course is great at getting you started in SQL. The complexity of the assignments however exceed the practice questions available. Further there are not enough practice questions to become fluent in using the concepts described. Feedback: more practice questions.

創建者 Islam M S M

May 03, 2018

The Assignment was mis worded and didn't reflect the content of the course

創建者 oli c

Dec 22, 2017

Clear instruction, but quite easy. Would prefer if it was more challenging.

創建者 Weiyang T

Jul 26, 2018

Certain quiz questions were unclear. Final peer-review assignment had unclear/ambiguous questions that didn't fit with the data in my opinion. But content is useful. Delivery could be improved.

創建者 David H

May 01, 2019

Good program for beginners. Peer review assignment needs to be updated. The assignment is not graded by instructor. Certification means nothing because anyone who pays money will eventually get it.

創建者 Jason K

May 21, 2019

It was a great course and I've definitely improved my SQL skills, however there were a few things that could be improved. Practice questions and quizzes should be placed throughout the course material, not at the end just before the final quiz. Secondly, the content itself could be explained in better ways. Not always very clear.

創建者 Vitaliy

May 20, 2019

No practice examples at all. Videos have only theorethical queries without results, so you can`t see how it works on practice. Reference to SteckOverFlow is awesome. Why should I pay money for nothing?

創建者 Yuelai J

Aug 26, 2019

As can be seen in the discussion forum, the course is not really so well designed. I found some difficulties during the process even if I have learned programming before at intermediate level. The language sometimes is confusing. The lecture examples in the last two weeks weren't helpful in understanding the concept and improve coding, though the coding test is not hard to pass. The course has improved according to the discussion but won't be so helpful if you really want to get some solid skills in SQL. I came for this course for prerequisite and I actually studied at UC Davis before, so a little disappointing.

創建者 Chan J J

Jul 14, 2019

should have provided more explanation and help for exercises and assignment questions. The lecture is also not in depth enough.

創建者 Francisco R A

Oct 01, 2019

This is a mostly a course intended to review, that's to say, you need to have prior knowledge of SQL if you want to make the most out of it. If you're just a beginner, I wouldn't recommend it though, there are a lot of things that remain unspoken and are important. Readings are okay, but in my humble opinion they fall short to what SQL world can really offer. This, I consider it mainly a sneak-peak.

創建者 Simone D

Oct 07, 2019

The course material seemed prepared in a rush, with several mistakes.

創建者 David A

Oct 08, 2019

It could be harder with some excersice that make the student search

創建者 Muhammad A D I M

Oct 29, 2019

Overall good course. The lectures could be made a bit interesting and engaging with exercises broken up. Found the lectures monotonous however course material is good.

創建者 Andrés F L C

Oct 10, 2019

The topics are well explained but the videos are monotonus (slides and the teacher talking)

創建者 Diego O H

Nov 07, 2019

The quality of the course decreased after Week 1. I understand what you put in is what you get out, but the course didn't offer any additional practice for the extra resources they provided. Also, the lectures were terrible as the instructor hardly showed any of the code's output, which means I had no idea if it was correct or not.

創建者 Nazmus S S

Nov 07, 2019

I think this course does not provide opportunity to learn sql practically. It only gives the theory of sql language, which I think is not sufficient to get the whole idea. Another thing, the quiz and questions are way too harder compared to the lectures provided.

創建者 Tomás L

Dec 11, 2018

The mistakes in the presentations and the massive ambiguity in the final assignment were a complete letdown for me. All in all, I did learn everything that was taught, but I wonder how much of that was made possible thanks to my previous experience in IT.

創建者 Ligeng X

Sep 28, 2018

A little too easy, not challenging at all, given this is a beginner level class, I'll give it two stars. You could finish the whole course on Saturday if you get up early plus Sunday if you do not.

創建者 Eslam R M A

Nov 03, 2018

There are few examples about every lesson, and may not have examples for some lessons

創建者 Polina

Feb 06, 2018

The course gives basic elements of SQL, but there is no practice in the course (beside graded assignments), code is shown only in presentation (you cannot copy and and see how it works), and learning SQL without constant practice is nearly impossible. The peer graded assignment is messy.