Chevron Left
返回到 SQL for Data Science

學生對 加州大学戴维斯分校 提供的 SQL for Data Science 的評價和反饋

4.6
8,859 個評分
2,312 條評論

課程概述

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

熱門審閱

JP
2020年4月5日

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

MP
2020年7月17日

best course for learning SQL for beginners.I learned so much from this course.the speaking language is also simple ..So i Recommended this course for beginners who's 2nd or third language is English.

篩選依據:

2226 - SQL for Data Science 的 2250 個評論(共 2,305 個)

創建者 Kevin C

2020年11月30日

The lecturer is terrible. They read off of a teleprompter and the way the script is written is so unintuitive and verbose. What is the point in having a lecturer who's actually an expert on the topic, if they're just going to read a script like a robot?

The quizzes are good, but the topics covered in them are often not covered during the lectures. The lectures may go over the surface level of a topic, and show a really simple example but the quizzes are much more complex and will require you to find examples on the internet. The quizzes are the strong point in this course. The lectures are absolutely garbage.

創建者 Shira G

2019年10月22日

Few suggestions for improvement:

1. provide a worksheet that summarizes all the material in a simple manner. It exists in many other sites so it shouldn't be a problem to provide this

2. In the quizzes and assignments - it would help to give a hand when the student does not understand the question or makes mistakes. to say "correct" or 'incorrect" is not enough.

3. the final exam is in no way align with the level of the classes.

and the worse thing is that in the forum it seems that a lot of students have complained but nothing has changed... therefore I would not recommend this course.

創建者 Charles M

2019年9月16日

There are 3 major issues with this course: 1. the instructor appears to be reading from a teleprompter and constantly struggles with her text, making the lectures both distracting and soporific. The cheerleading ('Are you excited about joins yet?') doesn't do anything to change that. 2. Some portions of the final assignments are poorly worded and the mentors aren't active. 3. There is a huge backlog for assignment grading which is frustrating and causes the discussion threads to be polluted by students asking for others to grade their assignment.

創建者 Aron R

2021年2月22日

This was a shockingly different approach to teaching a software language. I did not enjoy the style whatsoever, and found myself constantly seeking outside sources to understand what was glossed through. Unless you have a strong programming background, I would not recommend this particular class. Instead, seek something where you will complete SQL code yourself, with explanations of syntax, structure, and purpose, specific to the format you will be using. You'll do yourself a favor by doing so.

創建者 Pelin T

2020年9月30日

The instructor shows queries without showing the tables that are selected from nor the end result of the query. Often it is not clear what a query does by just watching the videos. Also you are not provided with the database that the instructor is using, so you can't rerun the queries and play around with them, which is essential for learning sql.

The questions during the videos and the module quizzes are too simple compared to the course material and the topics looked at.

創建者 Julia

2018年2月11日

Although the structure of the course is well organised the assignments and videos contain lots of mistakes. I had to spent a lot of time by searching in the internet what is wrong in my code to realise that the instructor code was wrong as well and should not work (although they provide the results as it works just fine). Moreover, some questions are written not clearly and the explanations in the videos lack advanced examples while talking a lot about unnecessary things.

創建者 Aaron B

2020年5月3日

Course was a good overview of SQL for beginners but the quizzes and assignments were VERY POORLY DESIGNED. The questions often made little sense and often implied coding requirements that are way beyond the scope of the course. This lead to a significant amount of time being wasted in figuring out what is being asked. This seems to be a very common issue based on the forum posts. I HIGHLY recommend that the course instructors investigate and re-word the questions.

創建者 Constantin P

2020年4月24日

Unfortunately, the lectures did not provide engaging delivery, or insightful examples. There were unaddressed errors in the quizzes and many questions addressed topics that either reflected the subjective opinion of the instructor, or were not mentioned in the lectures at all. In those instances, external resources were required to come to a solution. This would not be a problem, if this did not affect the majority of information required to pass this course.

創建者 Lynda P

2020年11月26日

I am new to online learning and to SQL and there is not enough information about how to proceed and complete the course, how to submit assignments and ask questions. To me there is not enough information in the course to complete the quiz and it took looking things up on the internet because much of the information in the quiz/test/assignments is not covered in enough detail to understand and complete the questions without additional research.

創建者 Gregory B

2019年5月14日

If I hadn't already been a little familiar with SQL before this I would have been pretty lost for a lot of this. A lot of the information presented could have used a little more details.

The quizzes often asked questions that involved material that wasn't in the course, as did the coding parts.

At the end of the day, I have had better experiences with some of the free courses available online (and learned more from them).

創建者 Svetlana G

2019年10月8日

Good overview of SQL principals but very little practical information.

Tasks don't show correct solution so if you don't know how to solve it - you will never learn it.

Very poor support from admins/moderators. Even questions related to technical issues will stay unanswered. So again - if you didn't understand something from videos or have question outside of the scope - you will not learn it from this course.

創建者 Maximilian W

2020年4月12日

The basics were explained adequately, but after that, the explanation often were very abstract and not really practical. I am a visual learner and I like to see pratical examples. The questions in the final exam were sometimes just tedious typing work. Sometimes the gap from what was explained in the video courses what was asked in the questions was a bit too steep.

創建者 VerkC

2021年3月1日

This course is unbelievably terrible.

First, if we are using SQLite, at least the instructor could show us how to manage or operate SQLite once a while. Secondly, before we go over examples in lecture video, could instructor show ER diagram, or help students to get familiar with the data set first? Finally, the lecture is rather dry without enough examples

創建者 Dean B

2020年11月30日

The lack of ability to follow along due to no common software or commands was extremely irritating. The brilliant idea that I should investigate one online and figure out how it works was what I thought I was taking the class for. Why not choose an open source program and focus on the methodologies?

創建者 Scott K

2020年12月12日

Lectures were very bad. It sounded like she was reading a speech that was written the night before, with grammatical errors and all. Both over-explained simple things, and under explained complex things. I did most of my learning on https://www.sqlitetutorial.net in order to pass the assignments.

創建者 Sagnik S

2020年12月6日

the course is completely theoretical and not use MySQL with using the theory you can get help in work but real life database and application is not included in this course so if you want to learn and apply directly you can do that in this course, which decrease the interest in course materials.

創建者 Polina

2018年2月6日

The course gives basic elements of SQL, but there is no practice in the course (beside graded assignments), code is shown only in presentation (you cannot copy and and see how it works), and learning SQL without constant practice is nearly impossible. The peer graded assignment is messy.

創建者 Katarzyna D

2018年6月15日

Course is very theoretical, the teachers just reads presentation with SQL functions, there's no way to actually learn SQL by listening to it. Also she doesn't provide information about essentials of databases, so the beginners may not understand the concept of it.

創建者 Tomás L

2018年12月11日

The mistakes in the presentations and the massive ambiguity in the final assignment were a complete letdown for me. All in all, I did learn everything that was taught, but I wonder how much of that was made possible thanks to my previous experience in IT.

創建者 Eva P

2018年3月26日

Good course to learn the basics but not worth the price you pay. Until week 3, everything is fine, but week 4 is a disaster. The final assignment is very confusing and sometimes it is hard to know what you are being asked. Not recommended.

創建者 Yu B

2020年9月6日

The course has no transcript for review. And the system of SQL exercise is also wrong when you are using “WHERE” Clause and “=” signal. Because of the mistakes of system I even can not make any progress. Please check.

創建者 Bobalo R

2020年5月5日

The course went fine up until the final assignment. It was very irritating to do, because of the incomplete database, broken correlations, different tables stating different things, which should've been the same, etc.

創建者 Yian G

2021年3月1日

The instructor spent too much time on unnecessary and self-explaining topics, and on the other hand failed to explain some important details. I ended up skipping much of the course and googled a lot by myself.

創建者 Anisha Z

2020年4月3日

Decent introduction. I recommend https://mode.com/sql-tutorial for a better introduction to SQL.

Assignments are very badly designed. Also the questions in the final assignment are unnecessarily repetitive!

創建者 Ligeng X

2018年9月27日

A little too easy, not challenging at all, given this is a beginner level class, I'll give it two stars. You could finish the whole course on Saturday if you get up early plus Sunday if you do not.