Chevron Left
返回到 Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

學生對 IBM 技能网络 提供的 Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python 的評價和反饋

4.6
15,665 個評分

課程概述

Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a powerful language which is used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. A working knowledge of databases and SQL is a must if you want to become a data scientist. The purpose of this course is to introduce relational database concepts and help you learn and apply foundational knowledge of the SQL language. It is also intended to get you started with performing SQL access in a data science environment. The emphasis in this course is on hands-on and practical learning . As such, you will work with real databases, real data science tools, and real-world datasets. You will create a database instance in the cloud. Through a series of hands-on labs you will practice building and running SQL queries. You will also learn how to access databases from Jupyter notebooks using SQL and Python. No prior knowledge of databases, SQL, Python, or programming is required. Anyone can audit this course at no-charge. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you can also earn an IBM digital badge upon successful completion of the course. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

熱門審閱

BS

2020年5月20日

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

PK

2020年8月19日

A very useful course with some very interesting datasets/Jupyter notebooks to work through/practice your skills. Offers a good balanced blend between theory and practical/practice. Very good course!

篩選依據:

1426 - Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python 的 1450 個評論(共 2,042 個)

創建者 Yohaunin Z

2021年9月1日

I think the learning process was easy with this one, minus a technical issue, so far this one has been my favorite:

Learning the various commands in SQL was very simple and straight forward, the course was surprisingly detailed regarding SQL, using Python with a database api to interact with the database Db2, establishing a connection to that database and using SQL magic to make interacting with Db2 more simple and straightforward.

There was a technical issues with SQL Magic (resolved) ,

however the course is very easy to study, surprisingly detailed, includes lots of hands on labs to practice coding on, it even comes with a bonus section for more advanced people.

Overall I really enjoyed this course!!!

創建者 PIERRE A

2020年2月18日

I propose you to put all the option chapiters in a advanced certificate for this course.

It was "a long journey" for me but I was motivated to complete this class.

Thank you very much.

I do love your videos and the Hands on lab.

Please note that before taking this class I knew nothing in coding in sql and python!

But now, I appreciate it and find it very easy to understand!!!! I'm sure that your good way to teach this class using all the matreials has contribuated to help me!

I m going know to buy 2 books: for more advanced knowledge, one in sql programming and the 2nd in python for data science!!

Thank you very much

👌👍👌👍😍😍

創建者 David A

2018年9月9日

This course is good for anyone who is a complete beginner, new to, or looking to refresh their knowledge of Structured Query Languages (SQL). Ideally would have liked to have a lesson on optimizing SQL queries since many queries become inefficient for data tables with very large row counts, but I understand this didn't make sense since the free IBM DB2 database they have you set up has a size limit of 100 MB. No need for optimization with data this small, but it's still something they should have at least mentioned in the course as an optional lesson. Overall, nice course for learning or refreshing SQL and database concepts.

創建者 Shuo J

2020年8月5日

The instructor and course materials are very good! But the peer reviewing for the assignment is NOT well-organized, as one problem in my assignment was not graded correctly, and obviously it's a "trembling hand error" made by the grader. Coursera has in-built mechanism to prevent such error: it uses median grade for each problem as your grade. But this mechanism only works if each problem is graded by enough students, which is not the case in this course based on my observations in the forum. I would suggest the course designer to require each student to grade at least three assignments before they can earn the certificate.

創建者 shaza s

2022年1月20日

Course is very well-structured, organized and satisfied an optimum balance between theory and practical practice. The hands on labs were very rich and endorsed the learning process greatly. For a first time learner of SQL, this course provided me with a solid foundation in a very reasonable amount of time. My only comments would be on the Db2 cloud that sometimes is inaccessible and the peer-review assignments that was sometime not graded fairly, yet The instructors were very helpfull and resopnsed to both situations I faced in a very timely manner. Overall, highly recommended course.

創建者 Cia A Y

2021年8月22日

This course was structured well and very informative. I was able to understand everything well even with very minimal SQL and Python knowledge at the beginning of this course.

One point of improvement is the service credential/connection issue faced by many people that prevented us from doing the assignments and thus continuing with the course. For me, the root of the problem was the location of my account (I chose the US instead of London, UK). The organisers of this course should further look into the cause(s) of the connection problem and ensure that it gets fixed ASAP.

創建者 Helena R

2022年5月1日

Alot was learnt from the course. It proved to be quite challenging with connection issues. While I was able to complete the course, I have have preferred to have had better explantions for the chellenges experience instead of being re-routed to another environment since, initially, optional labs were not done. Would have also preferred to have access to slides from the course material. But to create a balance, I did learn a,ot from the contents. The TAs/STAFF were really responsive as I did bcome depressed and overwhelmed because I felt so challenged. Thank you.

創建者 My R

2021年7月28日

The course itself was very interesting and well organized. However, I second previous comments underlining the issues with Db2. It took me at least an hour with around 30 failed attempts. I was only able to access Db2 after switching the location to Dallas. I also agree with some learners that the peer review assignment was a source of frustration. I received 2/26 even though my answers included all required elements with correct outputs. Overall, it was a good learning experience so I still would recommend this course despite the aforementioned hiccups.

創建者 Julie W

2021年8月24日

Efficiently taught me how to perform SQL queries. I had several issues with accessing DB2 (which wasn't Coursera's fault) which negatively impacted how quickly I wanted to finish the course. There was one question on the final assignment that the wording should be changed to make the question more clear. It reads, "List the average safety score for all types of schools." It would be more clear if it read "List the average safety score for each of the types of schools." Overall I came away with a good understanding of the course material.

創建者 Manuel C

2020年1月16日

The class was very enjoyable and very easy to follow. My only complaint is that if the final assignment is going to be assigned such a high weight, then it should require more than 1 person to review it. My assignment met criteria to receive full points, but the person who graded mine clearly blew through it and assigned me partial credit where I should have received full credit. I still passed and enjoyed the class, but it was frustrating to successfully complete the assignment only to be dinged by some inattentive grader.

創建者 Ryan K

2018年11月28日

4 stars only because I think the intended coursework is pretty good but to be honest the execution is pretty average. The course will be much better if the mentors are more active in the the discussion. Right now the discussions in the forums are mostly driven by the students in the class and it will be better if the supposedly mentors are move involved to provide support. Some of the courses in edX are pretty solid in this area and I think it really adds to the overall learning experience.

創建者 Laura G

2019年12月6日

the peer assignment took awhile b/c you had to do the hands on assignments in the cloud to get in and try in python. Already know databases and breezed through it all except for the submission could not figure out how to get into the cloud and where to type in the sql within python. The syntax stated "%%sql". It was %sql <query> on the same line. Learned from many earlier in discussion group. Another had the same question about invalid syntax and couldn't figure out what was wrong.

創建者 dipanjan c

2020年6月22日

Please let me know why wont I receive my certificate upon submitting my assignment?

Why do I have to wait for reviewing someone's assignment.Moreover I have reviewed two other assignments still I did not receive any certificate.

I would be applying for a job interview where I would be needing my certificate asap but there has been this problem. Try to get rid of these problems.

The instructor or the staffs are late to give responses to any problem.

Please look into these issues

創建者 Stewart M

2019年9月4日

Would highly recommend the course, online learning material very good. Had connections issues with SQL server. Techy background helps. Be prepared to be patient and tackle technical connection and speed issues when running SQL queries. No course documentation warns you of the potential problems and the time estimates to complete the weekly module/tasks need to ignored. Monitor support weak as can be seen by the non-responses to questions in the forums.

創建者 Joshua S

2021年6月15日

This is my 6th course in the Data Analyst program. Like the other classes before this there was a lot of good information presented through the videos, the labs were very useful, and the quizzes were pertinent to the information learned in class. Also, like the courses before the final assignment is way more difficult than the practice labs and the "instructor" or coursera helpers answered ambiguously and was hard to get a hold of.

創建者 Francisco M

2020年1月21日

The course is good but sometimes the exercise texts are not very clear and some of the lessons are very straightforward, leaving many doubts. The course should have a larger series of exercises and an automatic correction system that facilitates the review of the exercises. In addition, it would be interesting to have a module on how to use IBMDB2 without the online platform, but through Jupyter on the computer.

創建者 SELEMANI S J

2018年8月9日

Apart from errors in the open source tools for the hands on labs, this course is fantastic and well crafted to introduce Databases and SQL. the optional sections are useful for those without good grasp of knowledge about databases and their types. make sure to take them. The labs are good, but always there is connection problems. If they will fix this, it will be one of the best introduction courses out there.

創建者 Tulonga H

2020年3月20日

Upon initiation the course does cater for people with no background with many exercises. Maybe a small introduction to python would do, just to teach the people abit on python because with assistance from youtube there are always different methods to approach the problems. Maybe a clarification of problem questions should considered. Some questions are really hard to understand what is actually asked for.

創建者 Asad A

2018年10月11日

A great course about SQL and Databases but the final assignment should have been about writing python code to access database and analyze data, as shown in one of the videos where a pandas dataframe was created. Instead, the assignment made us write SQL code inside Jupyter Notebook. That was not needed at least as far as I am concerned. If we had to write SQL, we could have just done it on IBM Db2 Cloud.

創建者 Lauren J

2019年5月2日

As someone with zero experience with SQL, this was a solid introductory course. At the end of the course I understood many core SQL concepts and was even able to do some coding without any help. The only negative aspect I experienced was that the course used some functions that only exist in the IBM cloud that the course uses, but this shouldn't persuade someone to not take this course.

創建者 Juan B S

2021年11月22日

Good course. Staff support could be a lot better.

Many connections issues, and other problems, outside of the core material.

I learnt SOO MUCH fixing problems in the connection, with the software, etc... but this is not necessarily what I came to learn. Either way I wouldn't change a thing bc thanks to the errors now I know Jupyter, VSC, Watson Studio, etc...

Thank you for your time!

創建者 Ahmed F

2018年12月19日

it is a very good course that I have learned a lot from, however, I got confused in too many situations when trying to run queries and complete assignments. I dont know why but instead of trying to type the proper query, the course pushed me in a way to find the proper query somewhere, copy it and that's it. A very positive point was the amazing support and quick responses from Rav.

創建者 Anh T

2021年10月2日

This was a very hard class that we couldn't resolve the errors and no way of fixing it if we didn't know what the mistakes are. I tried going through the videos and assignments but it keep showing my old work but not a fresh one to practice. Appreciate all the hand-outs but I wish I can actually get it done correctly. Hopefully the next course would be user friendly.

創建者 Marie D

2020年4月29日

Very good course as an intro to SQL. The materials is presented at a good rate and there are good lab exercises to practice what you learn. The final assignment really puts what you learned to the test. There is a section in week 3 about APIs that lost me and I had a hard time seeing connecting it to the rest of what was being taught, but otherwise a useful course.

創建者 Clivia K

2022年7月9日

IBM cloud is realy hard to sign up and main the account, I used the course code, and even sign up another account with input credit card information willing to pay for, still be deleted after around 4 days learning, couldn't sign in to change the billing information. But course content is good, highly recommend to focus on the alternative tools like mysql, thanks