Chevron Left
返回到 Spatial Data Science and Applications

學生對 延世大学 提供的 Spatial Data Science and Applications 的評價和反饋

4.4
427 個評分
137 條評論

課程概述

Spatial (map) is considered as a core infrastructure of modern IT world, which is substantiated by business transactions of major IT companies such as Apple, Google, Microsoft, Amazon, Intel, and Uber, and even motor companies such as Audi, BMW, and Mercedes. Consequently, they are bound to hire more and more spatial data scientists. Based on such business trend, this course is designed to present a firm understanding of spatial data science to the learners, who would have a basic knowledge of data science and data analysis, and eventually to make their expertise differentiated from other nominal data scientists and data analysts. Additionally, this course could make learners realize the value of spatial big data and the power of open source software's to deal with spatial data science problems. This course will start with defining spatial data science and answering why spatial is special from three different perspectives - business, technology, and data in the first week. In the second week, four disciplines related to spatial data science - GIS, DBMS, Data Analytics, and Big Data Systems, and the related open source software's - QGIS, PostgreSQL, PostGIS, R, and Hadoop tools are introduced together. During the third, fourth, and fifth weeks, you will learn the four disciplines one by one from the principle to applications. In the final week, five real world problems and the corresponding solutions are presented with step-by-step procedures in environment of open source software's....

熱門審閱

MW
2018年8月13日

Great course. It helps I have a background in both Data Science and Geographic Information Science, but still found it equally interesting and challenging! I would highly recommend this course.

BC
2021年8月5日

This is a great course for persons who have interacted with GIS before. It teaches you the underlying principle and science behind most of these QGIS processing algorithms

篩選依據:

1 - Spatial Data Science and Applications 的 25 個評論(共 135 個)

創建者 Jesús A

2019年6月7日

Excellent course content overall. However, the lack of practical exercises to actually apply what is covered in the lectures really decreases the course value. I would advise to make this an specialization with hands-on practice, since the range of topics the course includes is just too dense to effectively leave a solid, real-world applicable knowledge in 6 weeks.

創建者 Kumar R

2019年7月27日

The course is at introductory level and not intermediate. There is a good "basic information", but no hands-on exercise. That leaves a lot that actually needs to be learned upon the student. So, in my opinion, the course doesnt even consider the skill building at introductory level from an introductory standpoint.

創建者 Zack D

2018年6月8日

Overall good course. Rated as intermediate but more beginner in my opinion. Lots of overlap with what i would expect in an 'vanilla' data science course. If youve taken anything like that expect to hear alot of things you have heard before but does thuroughly extend in to the spatial aspect and application.

I would have perferred a little more emphasis on analysis techniques and deeper applications. I was also suprised by no direct application of for the student at all. all video based no hands on.

Last couple of quizes are also pretty tough, mostly from the fact that they are poorly written and difficult to answer from an infromed perspective.

創建者 rustom s

2018年4月8日

Very boring and no hands on content.

創建者 CHESSEL P

2019年7月16日

The course presents a good overview of Data Science techniques applied to Spatial Data topics. It is very compact and exhaustive. Mostly theorethical.

I think a second part of this course should be created with in-depth coverage with practical exercises (e.g setting up a hadoop system with MapReduce, pig, Hive).

This way, students could learn a lot more than by simply watching the videos offered. Further, please provide the well designed slides for download.

創建者 AMAN T

2020年4月6日

Practical and hands-on exercises should be included to get a close feel of the subject. Only theoretical knowledge gets monotonous. Some topics were well touched upon however, some external resources like books or other courses related to subject would have been very helpful. The youtube links were helpful though.

創建者 Michael B

2018年6月10日

I learned about different spatial data science techniques, but didn't get a chance to try them out. I wish we spent more time on the spatial data analytics portion of the curriculum, and less on spatial data science architectures.

創建者 Gopinath P

2019年9月3日

The course is way overloaded with way too many concepts.It should have clear prerequisites and defined educational background before taking.Some concepts are really vaguely described and pushed on.Can really improve on this.

創建者 Ahmed W M

2020年5月2日

This course is excellent ! IT touches upon all the different topics related to spatial data science in a very straight to the point way. This is extremely beneficial for the spatial data scientist community. What I liked about this course is that it focused on data issues and concepts that I have always struggled with and never found an answer to in other GIS courses which mostly focus on their area of application. This one is generic and the concepts can literally be translated in any field. I think that hands-on exercises would have made it perfect especially in the fourth topic of spatial big data. I will be willing to take another course by this teacher especially if it has hands-on exercises.

創建者 Daniel L

2018年4月4日

This was an excellent course. I honestly thought I had pretty good handle on this topic, but I learned a lot of new concepts and applications and deepened my existing knowledge base. Furthermore, I really enjoyed the real world examples in the last section. In particular, the military infiltration example was very interesting. Thank you!

創建者 Pankaj W

2019年12月7日

Great course which starts with basics, gets descriptive with examples, real life scenarios, usage of software. Definitely recommended.

創建者 Stanislava G

2018年8月6日

Very good overview of tools used for Spatial Data Science and explained their benefits and limitations for many real-life problems. Applications are shown on examples using real-life data, and it also provides a few good tips for external resources. Some hands-on exercises would be nice.

創建者 Satish M

2019年3月2日

The course was very knowledgeable. But there were some lack of practical exercises. The students should have been provided with the basic tutorial of the software. We have learned many things in theory but not practically. Overall I rate it 3 out of 5.

創建者 Julia H

2020年4月17日

A comprehensive overview of Spatial Analytics tools and processes which I was looking for. However, the speaker's strong accent and sometimes incorrect use of English made learning difficult. This could be a much better course with an updated, revised presentation and a different speaker.

創建者 Keith P C L

2020年9月15日

The course was able to provide excellent theoretical foundations for spatial data science and its applications. However, some points required more explanation such as that of the spatial big data management system, as this required and asked for a deeper understanding from the student. Despite this, I still think that the course was able to provide ample instruction for spatial data science. Additionally, the course was substantial enough to incite interest for the student to delve deeper into the field. Lastly, there may be advanced solutions for data science in the present day but the course was right in presenting noble solutions and tools since the trustworthiness of the "classics" are unquestionable.

創建者 Gabriel A F G

2020年8月22日

En este curso el profesor explica los fundamentos de la ciencia de datos espaciales, en qué consiste, qué debería aprender quien decida especializarse en esta área, cuáles son las herramientas más utilizadas y cómo se relacionan (por ejemplo, como se relacionan los lenguajes de programación con el big data, con las bases de datos y con los SIG…). Muestra ejemplos de casos y hace referencia al método que debe seguirse para dar respuesta a dichos problemas, especificando cuáles son las herramientas que se deben usar. No obstante, el curso carece de ejercicios prácticos o similares, por tanto, considero que es un curso "teórico".

創建者 Surya S

2020年9月12日

It is a excellent course that covers the recent advancements of Spatial Data Science techniques. Overall the course is very informative and knowledgeable. Many good use cases are shown for thorough understanding of the concepts. Looking forward for more such courses from Yonsei University. I can say that the Joon Heo is one of the best instructors in Spatial domain. Thank you very much for the course.

創建者 Rodrigo V

2018年11月24日

This course was very comprehensive, explanatory and introduced me to some complex applications of spatial data science.

I found the practical problem applications of the last week most useful to integrate the concepts. I think having some similar problems as homework assignments throughout the course could also be very helpful.

創建者 Bopitiye G U N K

2020年11月14日

This is actually very useful course for us as future town planners. Not only for us, this is important for most of field. And appreciate your teaching skills and those are better, specially this kind of difficult course. You teached it as clear and easy to understand with your examples and illustrations. Thank you for all.

創建者 Priyantha B K

2020年11月2日

A very good beginners course in Spatial Data Science and its Applications. You will gain a very good overview of Spatial Data Science, its basic concepts and the freely available tools such as QGIS etc. I would recommend it to any beginner who is planning to start a career in Spatial Data Analysis.

創建者 Robson M d S

2019年11月15日

Excelent course for a quicly introduce and comprehension of tools and principles of spatial data science. Of course as all thecnological courses it do not allow your to develop professional works without a pratical trainging but offers a very good background for a search by ourself.

創建者 Rudy M P

2019年8月5日

The class struck a great balance between technology, science and business, which really helped me find my way through GIS. I need to praise the teacher for the structure of the class and for his diagrams: the clearly conveyed a conveyed the his experience and mastery of the topic.

創建者 Johans A A

2018年10月12日

An excellent course, it was an introduction to spatial data science and all techniques that we might apply for different solutions. This course gave us a valuable idea of spatial data science and the importance of the 4 main disciplines of this exciting field. Thanks a lot!

創建者 Aleksandar M

2019年2月10日

Good course that gives quality review on what spatial data science is and what can you do with it. It doesn't teach you how to use programs, rather gives you instructions what programs you should learn and powers of each program.

創建者 mnm a

2021年1月13日

It was a wonderful experience and able to get more knowledge on spatial data and spatial big data. I would like to thank our lecturer and the university for the valuable course.

Thank You all

Best regards

Arshadh