Chevron Left
返回到 Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series (Project-Centered Course)

學生對 密歇根州立大学 提供的 Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series (Project-Centered Course) 的評價和反饋

4.5
672 個評分

課程概述

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course*, you will design a series bible and write a complete pilot episode for your own unique television or web series, be it drama or comedy or something in between. You’ll learn to break down the creative process into components, and you’ll discover a structured process that allows you to produce a polished and pitch-ready script in just a few weeks. Completing this project will increase your confidence in your ideas and abilities, and you’ll feel prepared to pitch your first script and get started on your next. Here is a link to a trailer for the course. To view the trailer, please copy and paste the link into your browser. https://vimeo.com/423035246/6b3c18c4c5 This is a course designed to tap into your creativity and is based in "Active Learning". Most of the actual learning takes place within your own activities - that is, writing! You will learn by doing. "Thank you so much for your direct way of teaching this course. It was encouraging for us all to creatively flow and find our own voice in writing and developing our scripts. This aspect was very important to me." Ingrid The course curriculum is simple: you’ll write, revise your work, and share feedback with your peers. I am a proponent of Experiential Learning (active learning). My lectures are short (sometimes just two minutes long) and to the point, designed in a step-by-step process essential to your success as a script writer. I will guide you but I won’t "show" you how to write. I firmly believe that the only way to become a writer is to write, write, write. “David's lecture style for this course is inspired. The videos are succinct and engaging. When I watch the lectures I feel David’s sincere desire for me to create something truly amazing. He is teaching us how to write a script, and he is providing wisdom and tools that will help us do so in a compelling way - by writing; not by watching him talk at us.” - A R Adamson What you’ll need to get started: To begin with, any basic word processor will do. During week two, you can choose to download some free scriptwriting software such as Celtx or Trelby or you may choose to purchase Final Draft, or you can continue to use your word processor and do your own script formatting. Learner Review: "I am in love with this course. Having never written a script before, or any substantive fiction since college (15 years ago) I had a small idea in my head that has now exploded into something I really believe in. David's guidance is spot on, he's his own compelling story teller, he gives you enough, and then you have to figure it out, make it happen, WRITE! WRITE! WRITE! " If you have any concerns regarding the protection of your original work, Coursera's privacy policy protects the learner's IP and you are indeed the sole owners of your work. *About Project-Centered Courses: This is a ‘project-centered course’, which means it is designed specifically to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share. Time: 1-2 hours of study, 30+ hours of active project work...

熱門審閱

AA

2016年6月13日

David Wheeler is awesome, and I love this course! I am so glad that Coursera and Michigan State University have partnered to offer this course to those of us who have a thirst for learning! Thank you!

MT

2017年1月10日

Amazing course. Without useless talking, we are immediately thrown into action, and start working immediately. This course helped me gain priceless empiric experience, and finally start writing.

篩選依據:

176 - Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series (Project-Centered Course) 的 200 個評論(共 272 個)

創建者 Safwan h b

2021年2月10日

You learn professionally correct script writing

創建者 F F R

2020年11月27日

Great introductory course on script writing.

創建者 Mohd F

2020年1月30日

The Instructor is amazing. He helped a lot.

創建者 Briyeth N D B

2021年12月6日

This is amazing, i learned of everything.

創建者 marianohgr

2019年10月25日

Un curso genial y muy práctico. Gracias!

創建者 Aimee j

2016年11月13日

I am SO glad I found this course online!

創建者 Erica E

2016年5月12日

This is a fun and challenging course.

創建者 Bryan G

2019年5月7日

It was a great learning experience!!

創建者 susana h

2020年9月1日

I learned so much from this course.

創建者 Dylan M

2017年8月21日

Had a lot of fun and learned a lot!

創建者 Francisco F G L

2019年2月21日

Great course, amazing experience!

創建者 Manuel A R S

2019年9月5日

Very practical and demanding :)

創建者 Gabriel M M

2020年8月4日

So spectacular!!! really good

創建者 HG

2018年3月8日

So helpful! Loved this class.

創建者 Tanmay A

2018年9月15日

Very useful course!

創建者 Vishal S

2016年6月24日

Fantastic course!

創建者 Mojdeh E r

2021年10月8日

best course ever

創建者 Jesus G

2018年12月18日

Great teaching

創建者 Carolyn p

2020年12月1日

love tv shows

創建者 Deleted A

2017年9月1日

Great course

創建者 Vladimir M ( М

2020年5月16日

Wery well!

創建者 Israel H

2021年10月18日

Loved it.

創建者 JK S

2019年4月26日

excellent

創建者 Stephen D

2020年4月29日

This course is intended to support writing a pilot script, which was achieved.

The reason why this course go 4 stars- My actual review would be 3.5. is because the Teacher David does not review your work personally, he does not give you any format for things, Such as a Cold open or a character structure in a few sentences. Ect.

Instead, we get a vague overview of a loose structure that doesn't let us know details and specifics. Such as: A cold open is scene that is before and after the script that is about 1 page long and can give a piece of the story that also has a beginning middle end. It must include the main characters and also have as much dialogue as possible. Also, when writing your character descriptions and your Web bible it is best to write something in 2 or 3 sentences, focus on the core of the characters ("good hearted, KInd") Something specific.

The reason why I write this is because I have spent numerous nights/ hours reading other people's and mine in the beginning on characters details and relationships and basically a lot of information that was not needed in the character description.

Also, I would spend many hours review people work about this characters past and what they thought and the characters actions as if the script was a novel- not a script. Which made many stories long with unnecessary sentences.

Lastly, to improve this class and mention to future takers of this class, THIS WHOLE CLASS IS BASED ON PEER REVIEW. The Class is based on a 0 or a 20 .. nothing in-between. So, if someone doesn't like your work- they won't give you a review that good.,, more or less a 0 which lowers your grade.

Be prepared to pour yourself for hours over other people's work that I was not interested in. I am certain others have done that through my work, which may have been alright.

It would be helpful to have this on a 1-5 scale.. only for review. Not to be graded upon.

Again, I would give this class a 3.5 star. Good luck.

Stephen

創建者 Mary B

2020年8月14日

Great presentation of structure of a TV pilot/episode. I thought David Wheeler's videos were really good. Thanks for providing transcripts! The instruction was simple and spot-on. I'd like it if constructive criticism/feedback were REQUIRED when evaluating others' work. One woman seemed very vindictive after I evaluated her episode, and graded me down after that, which I found really disheartening. Working in groups was mostly a lot of fun, but creating an actual group was a little iffy. We could only scrape together five people, and one finished the course early (or was finishing up a rescheduled course late) and never participated, though he asked that we review his coursework. Another never showed up for any meetings, didn't post, etc., and so was simply never present in the group. The remaining three of us did get a lot out of our meetings, however, and we still share info. What a great way to meet other writers in other countries! That was my favorite part. One of our group had one of her episode acts stolen--her .pdf was copied, the name changed, and it was submitted as the plagiarizer's own work within 24 hours. I don't know if this was resolved, but "EEEK." A writer's worst nightmare. How about providing a written .doc or .rtf template/sample of page/element formatting? And links to sites or software for formatting and for script submissions to production companies? I am fortunate enough to have FinalDraft 11, but the formatting was tricky and, I can only imagine, tedious and frustrating for those who don't have it. I also imagine that some students are like "What now?" "Where do I send my finished script?" after the class. A great class and I enjoyed having good instruction and the challenge of deadlines (call me weird) very much.