Chevron Left
返回到 Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series (Project-Centered Course)

學生對 密歇根州立大学 提供的 Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series (Project-Centered Course) 的評價和反饋

4.5
673 個評分

課程概述

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course*, you will design a series bible and write a complete pilot episode for your own unique television or web series, be it drama or comedy or something in between. You’ll learn to break down the creative process into components, and you’ll discover a structured process that allows you to produce a polished and pitch-ready script in just a few weeks. Completing this project will increase your confidence in your ideas and abilities, and you’ll feel prepared to pitch your first script and get started on your next. Here is a link to a trailer for the course. To view the trailer, please copy and paste the link into your browser. https://vimeo.com/423035246/6b3c18c4c5 This is a course designed to tap into your creativity and is based in "Active Learning". Most of the actual learning takes place within your own activities - that is, writing! You will learn by doing. "Thank you so much for your direct way of teaching this course. It was encouraging for us all to creatively flow and find our own voice in writing and developing our scripts. This aspect was very important to me." Ingrid The course curriculum is simple: you’ll write, revise your work, and share feedback with your peers. I am a proponent of Experiential Learning (active learning). My lectures are short (sometimes just two minutes long) and to the point, designed in a step-by-step process essential to your success as a script writer. I will guide you but I won’t "show" you how to write. I firmly believe that the only way to become a writer is to write, write, write. “David's lecture style for this course is inspired. The videos are succinct and engaging. When I watch the lectures I feel David’s sincere desire for me to create something truly amazing. He is teaching us how to write a script, and he is providing wisdom and tools that will help us do so in a compelling way - by writing; not by watching him talk at us.” - A R Adamson What you’ll need to get started: To begin with, any basic word processor will do. During week two, you can choose to download some free scriptwriting software such as Celtx or Trelby or you may choose to purchase Final Draft, or you can continue to use your word processor and do your own script formatting. Learner Review: "I am in love with this course. Having never written a script before, or any substantive fiction since college (15 years ago) I had a small idea in my head that has now exploded into something I really believe in. David's guidance is spot on, he's his own compelling story teller, he gives you enough, and then you have to figure it out, make it happen, WRITE! WRITE! WRITE! " If you have any concerns regarding the protection of your original work, Coursera's privacy policy protects the learner's IP and you are indeed the sole owners of your work. *About Project-Centered Courses: This is a ‘project-centered course’, which means it is designed specifically to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share. Time: 1-2 hours of study, 30+ hours of active project work...

熱門審閱

AA

2016年6月13日

David Wheeler is awesome, and I love this course! I am so glad that Coursera and Michigan State University have partnered to offer this course to those of us who have a thirst for learning! Thank you!

MT

2017年1月10日

Amazing course. Without useless talking, we are immediately thrown into action, and start working immediately. This course helped me gain priceless empiric experience, and finally start writing.

篩選依據:

26 - Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series (Project-Centered Course) 的 50 個評論(共 273 個)

創建者 Marianne E

2018年3月7日

I really appreciated the open structure of this course - there's no dogma around how scripts should be written, (other than the formatting thing - and quite right too!), and I saw my peers, and my own writing grow in originality and quality as the course progressed. I think it takes a bit longer than advertised to write the actual piece, but the vidoe's had the advantage of being both astonishingly brief, and very rich in insight and knowledge. Huae thanks to my mentor Jan Zurcher, who provided extremely high-quality feedback.

創建者 Allison M

2018年11月22日

I had a wonderful time completing this course. This was my first time writing a script and I learned so much along the process, especially by getting reviews from my peers. Having assignments week by week also made it better since I was committed to finish before due date. However, there were occasions when I couldn't finish on time so I resubmitted and then waited to be graded. I feel incredibly happy to have learned so many important aspects about writing a script and even happier to be a writer.

創建者 Advaith J

2020年5月12日

I loved the fact that the instructor David Wheeler explained exactly what's required. A lot of courses have instructors going on and on about things and making creative processes very mechanical and unnatural. Here, the priority was given to actually doing something while adjacently getting the necessary inputs on what to keep in mind. I would, however, recommend one thing - would be great if few trusted links could be included as reference material to further our understanding on a few topics.

創建者 Dominique W

2016年10月20日

As a professional actor I knew the ability to write my own material would be an invaluable skill. I've been writing tv/film ideas for years without a the slightest clue as to go about creating a full story in script form. Having no formal training, this class was the perfect introduction into the craft. Professor David Wheeler simplified the intimidating feat of writing a tv pilot into a realistically executable series of steps. I will definitely be revisiting this course in the future.

創建者 Cátia G

2017年1月12日

This course was a really good surprise. A nice way to end 2016 and start 2017. I was scared cause of language, once I'm not a native speaker, so that was an extra challenge for me. But everyone here helped. The mentor was great and always ready to help, the peers were nice and always giving tips of how I could improve the script and now I don't look to Celtx program like a seven heads monsters, anymore. Actually, it is really easy to work on it. I'm really glad I did this course.

創建者 Jennifer S

2020年5月16日

Wow! I can't believe I did it. I completed something. A TV series. Thank you professor! I want to say if I win an Emmy or an Oscar I want to thank your course. It really was helpful and actually felt I was taking action on what I've always wanted to accomplish. I enjoyed reading everyone's script and giving feedback. I can't wait to see your stories come to life too! This class was very flexible yet intense and let us delve into our story. Thank you ! Thank you ! Thank you !

創建者 Greg B

2020年6月4日

This was a very informative course. I finally got a grasp on correctly and consistently formatting a screenplay. AND an added bonus was that I got to use a script I'd already written for the course. It's really helped me edit my pilot down and get it to a place where I can really move forward with cleaning and adding to the story line. And I got to make my first series bible. And I'm so proud of the work I've been able to do. I can't wait to see where I go from here.

創建者 Vikram S

2020年6月20日

David Wheeler's course was a brilliant course and gave all of us an insight into writing a screenplay for a Pilot episode. The strategy to make the people learning grade the peers' assignments made us learn by looking into the works submitted by others. The one line I had has been developed into a different pilot episode because of the feedback i received from my peers. Thanks Mr. Wheeler, Michigan State University and Coursera for the wonderful opportunity.

創建者 lisa r

2016年3月29日

I have found this course to be well planned out, easy to follow and very informative. I have been considering scriptwriting for some time and even bought books on how to get started but this course has been much more effective than any book. This course has given me the tools and the know-how of what is required to write a script.

I am in my last week at the moment and the confidence and skills this project-centered course has given me are immeasurable.

創建者 Krys.K

2018年10月27日

The direction and guidance offered in this course has improved my writing structure significantly. The course was successful in teaching professional screenwriting techniques and has encouraged me to be creative and to explore various avenues to establish my voice. Also, the feedback I received from my peers were all lovely and helpful critiques that I will reflect on when reviewing my script and when writing new ones.

Thank You!

創建者 Sunny B

2020年5月27日

AMAZING!!! Thank you, Mr Wheeler, for being an intriguing teacher. Always clear, concise and straight to the point, but you do it interestingly. I hope you will take a look at my pilot script because I'd like you to see what your course has helped me to produce! In addition, a special thanks also to all the support staff that helped guide and answer questions throughout the course on the forums. This is fantastic! Keep it up.

創建者 Belozerova I V

2021年3月11日

A very good course! There is just the most important information and nothing more. What I liked the most, that there you can get a really good reviews on your work. Even if you non-English speaker and English is not your native language it's easy to take this course, all your peers is kind and gives you a really good and helpful reviews and tips. I think the teacher did a great work making this course! Thank you very much!

創建者 Irene P

2016年12月27日

Through this course, I transformed a scene I wrote for a full length movie into a pilot for TV. I'm happy I learned the process and I'm working on the series episodes to follow. Thank You for developing this course. The lessons were explained well and the videos were very helpful. I'm especially glad this course was presented through Michigan State University. That was a deciding factor in signing up for it. Go Spartans!

創建者 Misi Z C

2020年5月17日

I really like this course, really like Mr. Wheeler weekly videos, it seen short, but is enough, it already have all what you need to know. And I really like the sentence he said on the first class "The best way to learn about writing is just to write." After that I start writing on it, and I really like it. At the end I really want to thanks my peers give me all the advice, after the course we can start on our own.

創建者 Meghan L

2018年5月15日

This course is not for the faint of heart in that unlike some other online courses, you will be expected to write... a lot. And participate... A LOT. And while it's work, there is a ton of satisfaction to be had from writing your own completed script and getting the feedback of your classmates. It's been a great learning experience overall and highly recommend it to anyone motivated or interested in this subject!

創建者 Denzel O

2017年7月14日

The idea for peer review is great because we're all students of this course and so we can learn from each other while being inspired. David Wheeler's methods work because they don't only teach, they encourage. And there's a lot to do to keep your mind busy through assignments. And anybody from everywhere in the world can start from no knowledge of script writing to full understanding. Great. 5 stars. Thank you.

創建者 Erin S

2017年11月1日

This course is great! I've been wanting to write a web series, and this class taught me how to make it happen. I learned how to create the overarching plan (called a bible) for the first season of the show, and I learned how to write scripts. I finished the class with a plan in hand and scripts for the first three episodes. I would recommend this course to anyone who wants to create a TV or web series.

創建者 rae n

2020年8月24日

The course was an amazing hands on an informative course. It was very practical and I got to learn not only through my work and the professor but through the work of others. Getting feedback from my peers and giving it back was very helpful and educational. I 1000% recommend this course. I plan to use the skills from this course to write more on my current story and even make a new one

創建者 Amaan H K

2020年4月17日

This is the first ever online course I have ever done, and I must say it has been such a lovely experience. The interactions with the peers, the feedbacks, and constantly improving my skills has been a major boon, especially for the times we are living in. Thank you so much for keeping us sane under this lockdown. I didn't believe I could finish this course, much less write a script!

創建者 Jon N

2020年7月21日

It did exactly what it promised. Helped me write my first TV Pilot and show bible, and I'm now developing the other episodes with the hope of pitching it soon! Highly recommend this course. My only suggestion where the course can be improved is the peer critique. Didn't find that helpful, in that the feedback on my work was very general and non-specific. Otherwise, great course!

創建者 Salti S

2016年2月24日

I am in love with this course. Having never written a script before, or any substantive fiction since college (15 years ago) I had a small idea in my head that has now exploded into something I really believe in. David's guidance is spot on, he's his on compelling story teller, he give you enough, and then you have to figure it out, make it happen, WRITE! WRITE! WRITE!

創建者 Annette C

2020年7月15日

Excellent course for the novice screen writer! I took the course as a means of expanding on an idea for a novel. In addition to producing a 30 minute screenplay for a TV episode, I was able to take what I had learned back to the novel and there, incorporate the "visuals" for far richer text experience. (Now, if only I can recreate the magic for some of my backlist.)

創建者 Kannan V

2020年6月30日

After completing Write a feature length screenplay, I wanted to explore this too. Was pleasantly surprised to see the mentors here. David was fantastic, as before.

I would strongly recommend people interested in writing to take up this one too, this throws a new challenge and when you’re able to complete....Boy! The satisfaction is immense... Go for it !

創建者 Teresa E

2018年5月5日

This course is very fast paced and challenging but I really loved it. It doesn't leave enough time for self doubt and really forces you to actually do some writing. I would recommend this course for first time writers but also for more experienced writers who need a deadline and a structure to get them to write and to finish something. Love the course!

創建者 Simran K

2020年2月13日

This was my first course on coursera and I am so glad I started with this. I have learned how much effort is put into making a script and this journey couldn't have been easy without the efforts of the mentor. I loved how we were given the basic guidelines and asked to work through things, really made me feel like i have truly earned the certificate.