Chevron Left
返回到 Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series (Project-Centered Course)

學生對 密歇根州立大学 提供的 Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series (Project-Centered Course) 的評價和反饋

4.5
672 個評分

課程概述

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course*, you will design a series bible and write a complete pilot episode for your own unique television or web series, be it drama or comedy or something in between. You’ll learn to break down the creative process into components, and you’ll discover a structured process that allows you to produce a polished and pitch-ready script in just a few weeks. Completing this project will increase your confidence in your ideas and abilities, and you’ll feel prepared to pitch your first script and get started on your next. Here is a link to a trailer for the course. To view the trailer, please copy and paste the link into your browser. https://vimeo.com/423035246/6b3c18c4c5 This is a course designed to tap into your creativity and is based in "Active Learning". Most of the actual learning takes place within your own activities - that is, writing! You will learn by doing. "Thank you so much for your direct way of teaching this course. It was encouraging for us all to creatively flow and find our own voice in writing and developing our scripts. This aspect was very important to me." Ingrid The course curriculum is simple: you’ll write, revise your work, and share feedback with your peers. I am a proponent of Experiential Learning (active learning). My lectures are short (sometimes just two minutes long) and to the point, designed in a step-by-step process essential to your success as a script writer. I will guide you but I won’t "show" you how to write. I firmly believe that the only way to become a writer is to write, write, write. “David's lecture style for this course is inspired. The videos are succinct and engaging. When I watch the lectures I feel David’s sincere desire for me to create something truly amazing. He is teaching us how to write a script, and he is providing wisdom and tools that will help us do so in a compelling way - by writing; not by watching him talk at us.” - A R Adamson What you’ll need to get started: To begin with, any basic word processor will do. During week two, you can choose to download some free scriptwriting software such as Celtx or Trelby or you may choose to purchase Final Draft, or you can continue to use your word processor and do your own script formatting. Learner Review: "I am in love with this course. Having never written a script before, or any substantive fiction since college (15 years ago) I had a small idea in my head that has now exploded into something I really believe in. David's guidance is spot on, he's his own compelling story teller, he gives you enough, and then you have to figure it out, make it happen, WRITE! WRITE! WRITE! " If you have any concerns regarding the protection of your original work, Coursera's privacy policy protects the learner's IP and you are indeed the sole owners of your work. *About Project-Centered Courses: This is a ‘project-centered course’, which means it is designed specifically to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share. Time: 1-2 hours of study, 30+ hours of active project work...

熱門審閱

AA

2016年6月13日

David Wheeler is awesome, and I love this course! I am so glad that Coursera and Michigan State University have partnered to offer this course to those of us who have a thirst for learning! Thank you!

MT

2017年1月10日

Amazing course. Without useless talking, we are immediately thrown into action, and start working immediately. This course helped me gain priceless empiric experience, and finally start writing.

篩選依據:

226 - Script Writing: Write a Pilot Episode for a TV or Web Series (Project-Centered Course) 的 250 個評論(共 272 個)

創建者 Zeid A

2019年3月15日

It's a great course that helped me learn a lot. I wish the grading was depended on on more people other than course colleagues.

Thank You

創建者 Raymond Z

2021年11月9日

Nicely done and it helps to chop up your screenplay in acts. This is a good course if you want to avoid writers block.

創建者 Jordan K

2021年7月21日

Does a good job of outlining the basics of a screenplay. I wish it went more in depth with all aspects of it.

創建者 aman g

2016年4月3日

Quite good introductory course on script writing, enjoyed writing my first pilot episode of my series

創建者 David G

2018年2月9日

I enjoyed the class. Wish there was a little more feedback from a mentor or instructor.

創建者 Jessie U

2021年2月5日

I enjoyed it! It gave me the introductory skills I needed to begin script writing.

創建者 AMRITESH S 2

2021年1月8日

The tag in my certificate is missing. If anyone knows why please let me know.

創建者 Sharon E L

2019年4月13日

Good course, pushes students to be creative and step out of the box!

創建者 Ayush G

2019年10月3日

The course is perfect but it can be little more descriptive

創建者 Baker J M

2022年6月17日

I​t was good, but peer grades can sometimes be biased.

創建者 Esther M

2019年12月4日

Love the project orientation of class

創建者 Mabel A

2021年2月4日

I enjoyed the class perfectly,thanks

創建者 maayan c

2016年3月14日

really really nice and helpfull.

創建者 Ollie D

2022年4月23日

It's not bad, but there is not much teaching in this course. It is essentially a series of assignments (write a pitch, write a logline, etc). But before each assignment you have a two minute video where the assignment description is read aloud. Essentially. The videos just give a definition of what you are supposed to submit and occasionally a justification as to why teaching script writing is kind of a waste of time.

I agree that like most things you learn more from writing rather than studying. And this course isn't bad so since this is the only script writing series on here it's fine. But I expected an actual course with maybe a breakdown of an example or two for each submission. Or maybe some theory.

For example, describing that there can be tension between characters because of a long standing fued, like between siblings, or it can be triggered by a specific disagreement, or... whatever. There are plenty of things that can be put into a video that would stimulate students and probably make the script writing easier.

All that said if peers actually review my work (to be determined) and the reviews are genuine, then it will still probably be a worthwhile experience.

創建者 Benjamin A

2017年8月21日

A good place to provide the structure and discipline for your first script writing endeavour. However, the most fundamental element is the peer review feedback, in order to adapt and develop your work. This was more or less absent from the course, with the yes/no grading system and 'optional' written feedback, most fellow students wrote nothing or simply a single line of no constructive value. This may be because you must read and assess 5 peer projects and I suppose some people feel it is too time consuming. Also, the outdated videos still promise feedback from the course creator for the top 5 highest peer graded projects, but this was only the case the first time the course ran. I felt the videos themselves didn't offer any real 'lessons' or insight into scriptwriting, again it was really just the enforced deadline that was useful, if you have the personal discipline and integrity you could achieve the same without the course.

創建者 Candace L

2021年3月17日

I enjoyed taking the course because I really need deadlines in order to complete writing assignments. However, the class doesn't do much to concretely help you be a better writer or get to that finish line with skill. If I hadn't studied screenwriting already, I don't think I would've had a clue of what a TV script is supposed to look like, how to create characters, plot points, etc. The 90-second video instructions for what each act should include are vague. The approach that you can't read books to learn how to write also means that are no resources given as guidance. I like that there's a peer review requirement, but people rarely left feedback. It would've been nice if collaboration was somehow mandatory.

創建者 Dmitry K

2016年12月1日

I understood the point that in script writing matters more than theory but I don't think that it's right that all marks I got I received from other with me with zero feedback from lectors and teachers.

Definitely I wouldn't pay for sertificate but as first step and making some ready draft for further polishing the script this course was enough. So from one side it helped me to move forward with my idea but on other hand I didn't get any professional feedback and advices from teacher. There were some very useful comments from other students but I also need some help from people who are real professionals in it.

創建者 Benjamin

2019年9月20日

Participants aren’t required to give written feedback and so most of the time they skip that part. You’re left with essentially an up or down vote on most critiques without much context as to why and then asked to revise based on that, which is difficult to do. The helpful tips for each assignment are on the discussion board but they really should be part of the instructions because they are basically more comprehensive instructions. The videos are helpful encouragement. The deadline schedule is useful to keep you on track.

創建者 Hayder T M A

2022年7月14日

Thanks for the course it was modren and useful for begginers like me, but there are some stuff which I had to look up on the internet because the course didn't provide, like the formatting and using of element like transition which never been taught in this course, the cuts and others...., besides letting a peer reviewing your work is just inefficien, I have got bad reviews for people who didn't read my script at all and even if there was a mistake a peer cannot find it cause he is just a begginer.

創建者 Shaun D

2020年5月10日

The course is only good for pushing you to write, introducing you to the software and a very basic introduction to formatting a script. There is no ‘teaching’ beyond saying ‘there is a beginning a middle and an end- go and write it!’

創建者 Dulce J C

2017年8月12日

Material or better explanation of the format of some of the deliverables would be helpful. The internet contains different formats and examples; unless all of them are correct, a bit of more direction would be better.

創建者 Ramiro A Z

2016年4月3日

I like the course, it is pretty good to learn screenplay, but

They need to explain a little some topics that new writers maybe don't understand. Submerge more in some topics and explain it.

創建者 Alanea K

2016年4月11日

I loved the course and content, but, found the process cumbersome. I think that some of these issues have now been addressed and should not present a problem in future programs.

創建者 Krish K

2021年1月6日

Kind of good for an idea but you have to do so many things on your own. I would maybe include more videos or materials but if you are interested it is a good course.

創建者 Rafael P

2020年2月24日

It makes you work on a regular basis but I wish it had more information and provide the students with more tools/tips to help in the process.