Chevron Left
返回到 佛教与现代心理学

學生對 普林斯顿大学 提供的 佛教与现代心理学 的評價和反饋

4.8
5,492 個評分
1,888 條評論

課程概述

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

熱門審閱

CV
2016年3月2日

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

VC
2015年11月15日

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

篩選依據:

1801 - 佛教与现代心理学 的 1825 個評論(共 1,859 個)

創建者 maria L A l

2020年10月1日

I like it

創建者 Dyagala K s

2020年7月13日

very good

創建者 Kanna P

2016年8月9日

thank you

創建者 Asha H

2020年9月28日

Good

創建者 Vishal S S

2020年9月9日

Nice

創建者 Nandhini M

2020年9月2日

good

創建者 方淳

2016年7月1日

nice

創建者 Chemychen

2016年4月10日

ok

創建者 Justin H

2020年12月29日

A lot of emphasis on the modular perspective of psychology.

Much of the video content in this course features "office hours" material which is a mail bag type of discussion reflection on student somments.

The course had a few references to interesting studies; such as a look at human perception using illusion art and mood setting environments.

The philosophically inclined peer-reviewers seem stricter than the usual peer-reviewers you see on Coursera.

I am disappointed that this course does not offer a certificate; unlike most other Coursera courses.

創建者 Ryugan M W L

2020年5月30日

Good course. I learned great deal and especially valued the connection between the Buddha's early teachings and the theory of evolution. Caveats to set expectations though: the "Buddhism" is Theravada Buddhism, and the "Modern Psychology" is evolutionary psychology. A major issue is the strong emphasis on the "modular theory of the mind," which is entirely theoretical and not broadly shared as accepted psychology. Especially as "modern" fMRI and MRI scans find no physiological structure to correspond to such operating models.

創建者 Corinne S

2016年3月8日

The Professor is excellent. I enjoyed this course solely because of Professor Wright. If you have a positive outlook on Buddhism but do not know the ins and outs of the religion/practice I do not recommend this course. I have a totally different outlook on it now that I wish I didn't have. It is interesting information but the essays are in depth and difficult...and there is no chance to even purchase a certificate.

創建者 Priya K C

2020年9月4日

I found the course interesting and learnt a lot of new things during this study. I hope this will help my study in psychology even more better. Although the provided resources were easy to understand, it would have been even better if the lecture contained few presentation slides or may be few animation because only listening to the professor got me bored at some moment.

創建者 Monica S

2020年10月9日

The content was captivating and fascinating. However the videos were too long, 20mns-30mns videos are too long to watch in one sitting. In addition, not being able to access the videos from my mobile phone was inconvenient so I couldn't listen when I was out and about. More flexibility in the way to consume the content would be more aligned with my learning preferences.

創建者 Asia T

2021年1月13日

I found the beginning very interesting with good argument and some material to progress.

After especially regarding the self issue, there is a process to intellectualized the questions and come with some hypothetical theory , which become simply too long.

Psychology is a soft science , so it is better to synthesis. Too much talk and not enough interview or summary .

創建者 Osman V

2017年2月9日

Great lectures. I really enjoy discovering the world of the teacher and friends. I'll give it 3 stars since it doesn't arrive at an awe inspiring conclusion or life changing experience as somebody interesting into these subject would expect. The part where our own importance is challenge is enlightening. Cheers to the good professor.

創建者 Guillermo F V

2021年4月23日

Nice course, but a very biased interpretation. Explanations are cool, but sometimes the instructor is somewhat confuse in examples and use cases. Too american, trying to address things that are not importat nor relevant to the course. Would be nice to offer a kind of certicicate. Is too much time to obtain just a pat on the back.

創建者 James B

2016年3月24日

An interesting class but left me wanting more. I realize that this is an overview but the field of secular Buddhism seems very shallow. After going through this class and reading three of Steven Batchelor's books I have the distint feeling that I may have reached the end of the subject.

創建者 Triana B

2020年6月15日

The course is somewhat interesting, unfortunately the way to provide the information is disengaging. Even though the professor clearly posses a lot of knowledge, he has a hard time landing the information.

創建者 German G S

2020年5月4日

Very interesting material, however, I found that the lectures are sometimes difficult to follow due to the lack of visual slides or schemes. It would help tremendously to the lectures imo!

創建者 Deleted A

2016年12月13日

The beginning is well prepared, interesting and informative, the end is undercooked, subjective and repetitive. Be it 2 separate courses, I would rate them 5 and 2.

創建者 Marni S

2016年10月2日

I enjoyed the course material and the idea behind linking Buddhist concepts with psychology; I just found some of the videos a little dry.

創建者 Abhishek S

2020年5月25日

The contents are in too much details if compared to the other courses of coursera,,only thing it should be made little precise

創建者 Krishna S

2020年4月17日

Good course. It was informative and gave me information from the perspective of Evolutionary Psychology

創建者 Emil

2021年2月4日

Strange course or maybe I find it strange, because I am not a buddhist.

創建者 Pavankumar B

2020年3月22日

A unique course that has encouraged a fresh approach to theology.