Chevron Left
返回到 佛教与现代心理学

學生對 普林斯顿大学 提供的 佛教与现代心理学 的評價和反饋

4.8
5,489 個評分
1,887 條評論

課程概述

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

熱門審閱

LW
2020年10月25日

I thought this was a great introduction to both modern Buddhist thought and evolutionary psychology. Professor Wright is an excellent lecturer, and his office hours are informative as well as amusing.

CV
2016年3月2日

Engaging content and excellent pace. While the level is introductory (I'd have liked a bit more depth), I would expect this from a lower-division/breadth course—and even more so from a MOOC like this.

篩選依據:

1701 - 佛教与现代心理学 的 1725 個評論(共 1,857 個)

創建者 Yangchen M

2020年7月30日

It is a great course. It helps understand the buddha's teaching in context to the modern science.

But we don't receive a certificate at the end of the course

創建者 Dayenne S

2020年4月13日

Very interesting course that thoughtfully reviews the naturalistic aspects of Buddhism in the light of evolutionary psychology and related disciplines

創建者 Amanpreet S

2017年3月5日

A nice course to take on a hard subject of Mind, Moral Truth. Found it enlightening thanks all the team for bringing such a course out to the world.

創建者 LAZARO R

2017年1月11日

The content is great but it would be great to have a booklet or something writing in addition because the teacher style is very much conversational.

創建者 Steve K

2020年7月6日

Good course with interesting insights and interviews. I particularly enjoyed the various interviews with people that gives everything a nice touch.

創建者 Aldo C

2017年11月14日

An excellent insight into evolutionary psychology and how modern science seems to lend credit to Buddhist theory of the min and meditation practice

創建者 Jessica L

2020年8月24日

Great course when you have nothing to lose, i recommend this course especially if you have an interest in psychology or abnormal psychology!

創建者 Jothika.D

2020年6月14日

As I finished this course and also got mail from you regarding the completion of this course, but still now i didn't receive my certificate.

創建者 Niccolò M

2018年10月16日

There are many arguments really interesting to know, yet I feel as it isn't complete, even the explanations don't contemplate the antithesis

創建者 Lucie C

2020年9月14日

Amazing course, great content - I would have given this a full five stars review if there had been a "purchase course certificate" option.

創建者 Karen W

2016年11月27日

Me gusto mucho el curso, es muy interesante la similitud del budismo con la psicología moderna. Aprender sobre los nuevos paradigmas.

創建者 NANDIPATI N R

2020年5月5日

Good courses. More practical examples will make the course more interesting. Mediation techniques could have been given more time.

創建者 Sherry S

2019年12月24日

The course was insightful. The lectures offered guidance and opposing views. I highly recommend the additional reading materials.

創建者 Luz R

2020年7月4日

Creo que lo que me permitió terminar el curso fueron las fuentes a las que pude acceder, y la forma de explicarse del profesor c:

創建者 Ian M

2017年9月22日

A very good introduction to Buddhism and modern science's view of Buddhist beliefs and how Buddhist practices affect the brain.

創建者 Alina D

2016年2月1日

Concise and full of interesting ideas - a great introduction to many topics that are worth exploring, and think through.

創建者 Rosanne C

2015年11月4日

Buddhist lite but very interesting to consider evolutionary psychology. Excellent contributors to the course content.

創建者 Samuvel R

2020年5月28日

Best course that I attempted so far.

It provides holistic view about brain/mind function, particularly on "suffering"

創建者 Prachi G

2020年8月18日

Great insight infused. Thanks to Mr. Wright 😊. Discussing enlightenment is no less than leading paths towards it.

創建者 Francesco B

2020年5月26日

The theme of the course is very interesting however the second part of it should have been presented more clearly.

創建者 雯 张

2016年6月15日

Very inspiring to understand my own religion,thanks a lot to the scientific contribution in this particular area。

創建者 Fran M

2020年9月8日

Overall excellent course. one note for improvement some of the lectures could have been a little more concise.

創建者 Daniela M L

2020年7月15日

Very interesting and well presented. But the fact that it doesn't issue a certificate it's a negative point

創建者 Poornima H S

2020年9月7日

one of the best course i saw, very useful. we cam come over from many kind of problems which we are facing