Chevron Left
返回到 佛教与现代心理学

學生對 普林斯顿大学 提供的 佛教与现代心理学 的評價和反饋

4.8
5,490 個評分
1,887 條評論

課程概述

The Dalai Lama has said that Buddhism and science are deeply compatible and has encouraged Western scholars to critically examine both the meditative practice and Buddhist ideas about the human mind. A number of scientists and philosophers have taken up this challenge. There have been brain scans of meditators and philosophical examinations of Buddhist doctrines. There have even been discussions of Darwin and the Buddha: Do early Buddhist descriptions of the mind, and of the human condition, make particular sense in light of evolutionary psychology? This course will examine how Buddhism is faring under this scrutiny. Are neuroscientists starting to understand how meditation “works”? Would such an understanding validate meditation—or might physical explanations of meditation undermine the spiritual significance attributed to it? And how are some of the basic Buddhist claims about the human mind holding up? We’ll pay special attention to some highly counterintuitive doctrines: that the self doesn’t exist, and that much of perceived reality is in some sense illusory. Do these claims, radical as they sound, make a certain kind of sense in light of modern psychology? And what are the implications of all this for how we should live our lives? Can meditation make us not just happier, but better people? All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

熱門審閱

LW
2020年10月25日

I thought this was a great introduction to both modern Buddhist thought and evolutionary psychology. Professor Wright is an excellent lecturer, and his office hours are informative as well as amusing.

VC
2015年11月15日

I have been practicing meditation for two years already.In so far I have attended all Deepak Chopra meditation experiences which I found very helpful but not as helpful this course provided me so far.

篩選依據:

1626 - 佛教与现代心理学 的 1650 個評論(共 1,858 個)

創建者 Daniel N

2019年1月24日

This course makes a sincere effort to bring together Psychology and Buddhism. Although it can be very informative on Buddhist views and ideas, in particular kind of dissecting them individually, it also can be misleading when tries to interpret the Dharma without a deeper understanding of Non Duality. For example, based on the teachings of great Buddhist masters, I strongly disagree that Emptiness is a form of removing "essences" from phenomena rather than clearly "seeing" the lucidity of reality and the creative aspect of the mind that build and transforms that "essences" - and even get attached to its creations. There is so much more to explore, for example, the idea that real Emptiness experience cannot be explained by concepts and words, which are just pointers to a Deeper Truth. To be fair I think this may be beyond the field of Modern Psychology.

創建者 Sky U

2020年3月20日

It was a super-enjoyable course comparing two diverse topics and examining the evidence for Buddhist ideas. One aspect I particularly enjoyed was the constant references to accesstoinsight.org, which encouraged me to do my own research and read Buddhist scripture to learn more by myself. The interviews were also particularly interesting, and as a big fan of Paul Bloom, I was excited to watch Dr. Wright's interview with him. One critique I might add is that I felt like some of the lectures were long-winded, and I felt like too much time was spent on theories such as the modular theory of the mind. However, please take this with a grain of salt, since I have some prior knowledge of the basics of modern psychology, and as such did not require extensive explanation of these theories.

創建者 Vivek B

2020年6月2日

This is my first course on Buddhism. I just got curious what this course may have to offer on Buddhism and Modern Psychology, when both subjects are unfamiliar for me. But once I started I got thrilled from the core Buddhist ideas and its support from modern psychology. I am really intrigued by the concept of "non-self". I also understood how Buddhist teaching's defy the natural selection and helps us to grow beyond that. I thank Professor Robert Wright for such a wonderful course. The only downside of this course is Office Hours videos. Professor seems to have zero preparation of the questions being asked and impromptu answers creates more confusion. One can safely skip all Office Hours videos and enjoy the rest part of the course.

創建者 Vladimir M

2020年9月13日

I have enjoyed the topic, as well as the course. The point of improvement would be to make the material more engaging, rather than only watching videos of the professor explaining the theory.

In other words, and albeit this not being easy, the course comes off sometimes 'too dry' for my liking. It is essential to have more practice and more self-inquiry throughout the course. And yes, essays are helpful in reflecting about the materials and forming one's opinion, but even that feels to 'school-like' for me.

Since the topic itself is very interesting for me, I didn't mind it that much, but I did take much more time than the designed 6 weeks since, with work, I didn't find it too exciting to come back to it every week.

創建者 María J L

2021年5月27日

Choosing this course was a success. Not only have I learn about such an ancient Philosophy, but I´ve also began to understand the complexity of the human mind. This is a fair beginning for my future career in Anthropology and Philosophical Studies!

Three week points: 1) to introduce some evidences from neuro-biology that are not correctly explained (my husband heard them, he's a psychiatrist), 2) a too 'particular' version of Enlightenment from the instructor's point of view, and 3) there is not any certificate of completion. Anyway, I must thank Mr Wright for his enormous effort to bring us such an interesting comparative study about Buddhism and the modern concept of the human mind. Thank you sincerely!

創建者 j. s

2019年8月25日

I got the most from the beginning of this course. It seemed to develop a bias towards the modern science perspective in the middle weeks and I felt that it de-valued the Buddhist perspective near the end. I didn't get too much out of the office hours portion, but it was fun to see the instructor cite examples of course material and apply them to his dogs. It provided a less formal followup to the lectures. It would've been interesting to have the instructor have actual conversations with some of the students, rather than reply to their online questions and comments. That would have felt more interactive.

Overall, I really liked this course and would recommend it.

創建者 car

2016年5月29日

This course is a wonderful nexus between east and west, between science and religion, between intuition and reason and between all those dichotomies, the false ones and more! It is just a shame that discussion forum moderators have become petty tyrants given censorship powers. At least, that was how it was last time I was bothered enough to try to get this stuff. One star subtracted, but it should be more given discussion is the only way really to do philosophy. Only one will do though because I guess it is a systemic problem and that it probably doesn't affect those of you who aren't borderline trolls who imbeciles easily mistake for the bad kind.

創建者 Bitasta R

2020年6月3日

Thank you for putting up this course. It has been very useful for my own understanding of Buddhism and parallelism with modern psychology. The course content itself is not sufficient to do justice with this broad intellectual and experiential topic. However, throughout the course, Dr Wright has maintained balance, which is sometimes hard to do. Also, as a learner, I felt, that my prior exposure and learning on the topic have helped me to synthesise some of the course contents at ease. And that would be my feedback, to the content developers. It will help the learners to get more out of this course if one has an elementary exposure. Thank you.

創建者 Marilyn G

2021年1月27日

I really appreciated the teaching lectures of Robt. Wright. He made what might have been rather dry information interesting and sometimes humorous, and oft repeated the key points we needed to hear.

Also enjoyed the interviews he conducted during the lectures but especially those from the resources list.

I knew a little about meditation but nothing of Buddhism so it was a little daunting at first but that was overcome very quickly and then I was quite anxious to keep reading and understanding those connections.

Thank Coursera for giving me the opportunity to keep learning in my senior years without worrying about cost.

創建者 Yagnadat R

2015年10月9日

A very rebellious upstream swim against natural selection and the Buddhist Neo's heroic effort to Nibbana! Drawing parallels to evolutionary and social psychology, Robert Wright takes you in an inward journey that brings to clear focus the origin of suffering and the prescriptive teachings of Gautama the Buddha to overcome suffering by embracing your true self. If you are looking for personal mastery, this is for you. If you have intense cravings, this is for you. If you are afflicted with compulsive behaviors, this is for you. If you are thinking "what the heck is all this", trust me, this course is for you.

創建者 Jimbo

2018年10月21日

I very much enjoyed the course. The instructor is very personable. The topic piqued my interest - and raised a lot of profound questions that I think may have answers floating out there. I do think there is more in modern psychology that lends support to central tenets of Buddhism which wasn't covered. Some of the course gets side tracked on a topic that I think the learners could have been spared, even though it connects with what the instructor has focused on in his career. Nevertheless, I'd rather be watching a video lecture during dinner than watching something else on TV.

創建者 Kim R

2020年8月14日

Professor Wright is very effective and the resources were helpful, but I found the peer grading system not reliable.

When I submitted my mid-term the first time, I didn't pass, but then I just changed the title and resubmitted it and passed.

Also I accidentally submitted the same paper for my final and didn't know how to retrieve it so I figured I'd wait until it failed. I passed without revision with a higher score than the midterm..

Although it didn't pose problems for me because I am taking the course for fun, for someone who cares about the grade it is concerning.

創建者 Sinjini S

2016年8月2日

The course is extremely rich and sophisticated. I had taken it sometime back but after attending the 10 day Vipassana, I came back to take it again and it made much better sense. Prof. Wright is superlative in knowledge, neutrality of view, and of course humour. However one thing I'd recommend is that it becomes quite a challenge to follow the course after a while given (of course) the subject in hand as well as, importantly, the delivery style. I wish it had visual/ pictoral supplements or some other ideas implemented to make it penetrate better!

創建者 Gary M

2019年2月6日

I wanted to work through this course for interest as I have been following Buddhist philosophy for approx 10 years during which I attended the local Buddhist Centre for lessons given by a Tibetan monk, Rinpoche Tupten, for three years (3 times a week).

I also had purchased and read "Why Buddhism is True" written by Robert Wright.

I have enjoyed this course and the approaches taken and structure together with the input from practitioners.

Thank you Robert and Princeton University

Kind regards

Gary Morton

New Zealand

創建者 Tomek C

2017年2月2日

This is an excellent course. It's very thought-provoking and provides insight into meditation--a subject that eludes many people. The course needs more quizzes to help students learn and remember the knowledge taught in the lectures. It also needs a better evaluation scheme--the two essay-only evaluation form does not do enough to test student knowledge. Test are needed. A better evaluation scheme would weigh testing and essays, for example, 60% testing, 40% essay.

創建者 Nicky V

2016年2月16日

It was pretty good for most of the time. I found the professor engaging and interesting. He was an effortless speaker who never seemed bored--you could tell he was passionate, but did not alienate students by using too much jargon or academe-speak. I sort of fell off of the course toward the end mostly because I felt much of the material began to repeat (or at least became extremely predictable). Overall, really great course.

創建者 Nicolle M

2017年4月26日

Very interesting and enjoyable. There is much to contemplate in this rich dense course. I think I'll do it again and extract even more now that I've been through it once. I find the material consistent with my own practice of mindfulness meditation, and with my studies in psychology.

Thank you for a wonderful and stimulating experience. I am recommending it to family and friends so we can discuss this matter in greater depth.

創建者 Tony O

2020年9月14日

well connection with buddhism and modern psychology. While psychology is still evolving, buddhism is also evolving. The original teaching of Buddha is also evolved to suit the needs and desires of people in different culture and country. in some way, it sustain the teaching of buddha. In another, it distort the teaching and makes it more complicated and difficult to practise as there are too many school of thought.

創建者 Juan C P M P

2020年5月11日

Es un buen curso desde el punto de la psicología evolucionista. Pero desconoce otros aportes muy importantes de la psicología moderna. No debería llamarse budismo y psicología moderna, sino budismo y psicología evolucionista.

No es muy profundo en cuanto al pensamiento budista. Me hubiese gustado más temática budista que desde la psicología evolucionista.

se podría pensar en un segundo curso mas profundo.

創建者 Julián P E

2017年11月28日

Great course! Robert Wright is a wonderful teacher that explains in a very simple and easy to understand way some difficult concepts from Buddhism and modern psychology. My only complaint is that there were a lot of Buddhist ideas that were left out, like the moral ideas of Buddhism. Also the last lecture on Enlightenment was really hard to grasp without understanding previous Buddhist precepts.

創建者 Eesha L

2020年7月6日

Course material is really challenging and thought provoking. It really gives you a new perspective to look at everyday things. it would have been better if the course could provide a certificate however it is rather ironic to ask for such a amendment shortly after learning about how illusions are often related with certain reinforcements. I really enjoyed the course and the reference material.

創建者 Rytis R

2020年8月24日

Generally well designed and presented. It gets somewhat repetitive towards the end, it would have been good to include more scientific theories and evidence, especially considering the advancements in neuropsychology. The shift towards morality at the end of the course is unsubstantiated and unnecessary. The course is on the links between Buddhism and psychology, not ethics.

創建者 MC

2020年5月26日

Great introduction to the study of Buddhism through the lens of modern science. If you are "prove it" person this course is very helpful to get over some obstacles. Science is an wonderful tool to help us learn, even if takes centuries to "prove" what many cultures have known for millennia. Thanks to Prof. Wright and his faithful companions for taking us on this journey.

創建者 Barbara M

2015年10月31日

Lectures were interesting, fun, and...dare I say...enlightening? Though I was initially put off by having to write papers, I did see the value in it as I had to review the written transcripts of the video lectures and work to assemble my ideas and arguments for the essays. I would definitely take another class by Prof. Wright, Milo and Frasier.