Chevron Left
返回到 Scholarly Communication

Scholarly Communication, Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology

4.5
120 個評分
37 個審閱

課程信息

Scholarly Communication is a concise but comprehensive course on how to write research papers in English. The course will help the candidates gain a better understanding of the rhetorical conventions of English and the common challenges the candidates may face as an academic writer. The course provides instruction, exercises, structure, and deadlines needed to create a publishable paper. The aim of the course is to improve competence in scholarly communications by deepening knowledge of the core features of the scientific writing style. It presents and analyzes the unwritten rules of scientific writing, the ones candidates most likely never learned in academic writing. The course will enable the candidates to write clear, detailed and well-structured scientific texts appropriate to a suitable academic journal. In particular, they will develop an awareness of fundamental concepts of academic writing, such as contrastive rhetoric, logical organization, and argumentation. In addition, they will develop skills for self-editing and revision techniques, including editing for precision and clarity. They will also gain a deeper understanding of how to prepare a scientific paper using the IMRAD format. Finally, the candidates will develop an enhanced understanding of the concept of academic integrity and the ethics of scientific writing. The candidates will be able to overcome anxiety about academic publishing and get their research papers published in international journals....

熱門審閱

創建者 GA

Dec 16, 2016

Will definately watch the videos and use the materials over an over again\n\nThe best academic writing course that I've taken since I started to study abroad in 2013

創建者 AG

May 14, 2016

Nice course. Very informative. It will built your skills strongly. Thank you very much Coursera & Moscow Institute of Physics & Technology.

篩選依據:

37 個審閱

創建者 Liutkova Anna

Dec 05, 2018

Very useful course, thanks! Discovering many new things about academic writing articles. The teacher is just great!

創建者 Alexandre Gomes Rodrigues

Mar 08, 2018

I have learned a lot in this course and strongly recommend you to engage to improve your skills! The instructor is skilled and professional. The material is very good and the gains are worth the hard work.

創建者 Adara

Feb 26, 2018

It's a course full of good advice. However, the content of the last 2 weeks is too general and don't provide all that many examples. It is a recommendable course if you want to improve your writing in order to increase the chances of publishing a scientific article.

創建者 subhash kumar

Jun 19, 2017

Brilliant course

創建者 María Lorena Garcia

Jun 16, 2017

Excelente curso, las explicaciones fueron muy claras.

創建者 Artur Kolpakov

Jun 12, 2017

Very clear and informative.

創建者 ∞

May 18, 2017

46€ later and more than 20 days stuck with no one reviewing my submission, I am wondering why I should not give up this hell.

創建者 Anna Beatris

Jan 04, 2017

My name is Anna Beatris and I am a postgraduate student at the Budapest University of Technology and Economics.

The course is hugely important. In particular, I liked the peer-review assignment. Having someone else read my work really helped me a lot. If nothing else, it gave me a break to refresh my mind before I came back for more editing.

More specifically, participating in peer review has helped me:

· Learn how to read carefully, with attention to the details of a piece of writing;

· Learn how to strengthen my writing by taking into account the responses of actual readers;

· Make the transition from writing primarily for myself or for an instructor to writing for a broader audience.

創建者 Altynay

Oct 20, 2016

I like the recommendations and detailed explanations made by the instructor. Although I have attended many online and life courses on scientific and academic writing there is always something new to learn and master. The take-offs are likely to be used.

創建者 Marc Praer

Sep 05, 2016

I found the course very interesting but was rather skeptical at first as I have tried several different other courses on science writing before. This course has definitely made a difference. I thank the instructor and the team for such a good job.