Chevron Left
返回到 生活中的数据科学

學生對 约翰霍普金斯大学 提供的 生活中的数据科学 的評價和反饋

4.4
2,271 個評分
273 條評論

課程概述

Have you ever had the perfect data science experience? The data pull went perfectly. There were no merging errors or missing data. Hypotheses were clearly defined prior to analyses. Randomization was performed for the treatment of interest. The analytic plan was outlined prior to analysis and followed exactly. The conclusions were clear and actionable decisions were obvious. Has that every happened to you? Of course not. Data analysis in real life is messy. How does one manage a team facing real data analyses? In this one-week course, we contrast the ideal with what happens in real life. By contrasting the ideal, you will learn key concepts that will help you manage real life analyses. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on doing data science in real life. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know how to: 1, Describe the “perfect” data science experience 2. Identify strengths and weaknesses in experimental designs 3. Describe possible pitfalls when pulling / assembling data and learn solutions for managing data pulls. 4. Challenge statistical modeling assumptions and drive feedback to data analysts 5. Describe common pitfalls in communicating data analyses 6. Get a glimpse into a day in the life of a data analysis manager. The course will be taught at a conceptual level for active managers of data scientists and statisticians. Some key concepts being discussed include: 1. Experimental design, randomization, A/B testing 2. Causal inference, counterfactuals, 3. Strategies for managing data quality. 4. Bias and confounding 5. Contrasting machine learning versus classical statistical inference Course promo: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9BIYmw5wnBI Course cover image by Jonathan Gross. Creative Commons BY-ND https://flic.kr/p/q1vudb...
突出顯示
Statistics review
(44 條評論)

熱門審閱

SM
2017年8月19日

A very good and concise course that helps to understand the basics of the Data Science and its applications. The examples are very relevant and helps to understand the topic easily.

ES
2017年11月11日

Highly educational course on the realities of data analysis. Many good tips for your own analyses as well as for managing others responsible for coherent and accurate analyses.

篩選依據:

1 - 生活中的数据科学 的 25 個評論(共 275 個)

創建者 Peter E

2017年3月12日

Brian Caffo does a terrific job teaching some of more advanced material, I very much appreciate his jokes and humor, as well as his helpful explanations of the material.

創建者 Paul F

2018年2月12日

Another excellent Executive Data Science course. Brian gives clear and concise explanations of the ideal versus real world of the data science workplace.

創建者 Liping L

2019年1月29日

This is a recommended course where you understand what are the requirements for a data engineer, data manager and data scientis

創建者 Sohail B

2017年9月23日

Brief Profile: Sohail Butt

I am a man of 58 years old and having an experience of almost 30 years of Business Management of Pharmaceutical & Nutraceutical Industries of Pakistan. Presently I am having my own Consulting Company " AIMMS CONSULTING" and extending my services as Management Consultant to different companies of said sectors.

I am of the conviction that learning is never ending and have a habit of learning new ideas about my favorite subject about Data Science. Although I have the limited usage of this subject in my working areas but I love to know about new areas of different specialties.

I really appreciate highly the efforts of Mr. BRIAN CAFFO and enjoyed the course material and videos presentation of this course. Mind blowing approach was adopted especially in the basic components of Data Science in Real Life.

SUGGESTION:

MY PERSONAL HUMBLE REQUEST, Please make also the important components of course material as a part of this Certificate with % AGGREGATE so that it has a much more worth & impact for the courses participated.

A separate Transcript must be issued with having Aggregate % Score and important Components of participated course.

Hard Copy of this certificate mail to my home address in Pakistan. Please use my credit card,I am ready to pay all expenses in this connection.

Thanks & best wishes to all Coursera Team.

創建者 Sandip M

2017年8月20日

A very good and concise course that helps to understand the basics of the Data Science and its applications. The examples are very relevant and helps to understand the topic easily.

創建者 Elliot S

2017年11月12日

Highly educational course on the realities of data analysis. Many good tips for your own analyses as well as for managing others responsible for coherent and accurate analyses.

創建者 Robert A

2016年2月4日

Brian, Jeff, and Roger: Thank you very much for all the data science courses, really great. I generally rate them 5 stars. But for this one, I'm giving 3 stars, not because the content is not good (it is; it provides good practical and experiential information), but rather because the material seems repetitive at times either within the same course or with topics in the other courses. Also, the sequencing and lectures seem sometime a bit disjointed.

May I humbly suggest an idea: Integrate the key points of this course relating to real-world examples and the sharing of real-world experiences into one of the other courses.

Thank you.

Robert Al-Jaar, PhD

robert.aljaar@rassociates.biz

創建者 tommy c

2016年5月23日

great for existence human and android based life-form simulation internal lifestyle...

The course improves life within the simulation 10 fold at least(when combined with the other specialization courses) ...

Perfect learning tool for those who have worked professionally in research field sin our simulation and yet now have a touch of "the turrings" or you know : CBI...

Special thanks to the designers of the course.

Top scores for coursera.org &John Hopkins ...

創建者 José A R N

2016年9月30日

My name is Jose Antonio from Brazil. I am looking for a new Data Scientist career.

Please, take a look at my LinkedIn profile: https://www.linkedin.com/in/joseantonio11

I did this course to get new knowledge about Big Data and better understand the technology and your practical applications.

The course was excellent and the classes well taught by teachers.

Congratulations to Coursera team and Instructors.

Regards

創建者 Punam P

2020年4月16日

Very nice and helpful course to understand how data science helpful in different perspective in our daily life. It helps me lot. Thanks to Team of Course and Coursera team.. Special thanks to Resp.Professor Brian Caffo for boosting the knowledge through different modules. I also Thank to Johns Hopkins University.. Always ready to do lots of course to enhance my skill in Data Science field.

創建者 Scott R H

2016年6月5日

Great information. For real newbies like me, might help to review basic concepts a few times (e.g. what does "p" mean? I know it was explained, but didn't grasp it the first time, helps if I hear it a few times, etc.) But, hey, you guys have done a fantastic job pulling all this together and teaching it at the 30,000 ft. view level. So great job.

創建者 Rumanti D P

2020年11月2日

At first it was hard to follow, because so many terminology I could not understand as from a non-data science person. But after week 2, it's super easy and Brian delivers it with passion plus so many anecdotes regarding to topics. Which really helps me digesting those "unknown" terms. Great job, I'm so pleased with this course!!

創建者 Jan R

2016年3月28日

Excellent course! The only thing I would say is that many managers from the corporate field simply would find it too "academic". But this was a huge plus for me - and I think the course will serve extremely well also to anyone who works in academic research and has to handle some real-life data.

創建者 HYUN K

2017年3月13日

This class was bit more difficult than the previous ones and it requires really focused attention on understanding the subject matter. The course is intended to improve your understanding in subjects of surrogate variables, and how to become a better database manager. Excellent course!

創建者 Bose, M

2020年12月11日

Its an exceptional course. A must pursue course for every manager either as new learning or refresher of knowledge.

A great thanks to course trainers. Their teaching approach is very target oriented to put the concepts in student brain in simpler and efficient way.

創建者 Marzia N

2020年8月12日

I liked this course most of all the courses of this specialization course. The only difficulties I faced was all the examples were related to biomedical science, maybe a more general example would do better consideration for learners from other domains like me.

創建者 Joseph G

2016年12月28日

The other courses in the exec series are a little simple. This started to address some core analysis issues and how to address them in a real life situation. A good reminder and thought provoker on what should be trying to do within the enterprise

創建者 David G V

2020年11月2日

The course is very short and concise. It guided me on what aspects of statistics I can work on to improve my skills in statistical analysis and quickly assess some statistical studies of other people either for work or leisure purposes.

創建者 Julien N

2018年2月20日

I really liked the approach of this class --comparing pure theory with what could possibly happen in real life!

This gave us a nice palette of problems and some tips about corresponding techniques / tools that can be used to solve them.

創建者 Allen J M A

2017年10月19日

Very engaging topic. The course will provide a very good and practical application of data science in real-world scenarios. The course materials are quite enough to gain understanding on the different topics presented. Kudos JHU!

創建者 bojana m

2016年6月26日

Necessities: practical tools and techniques for managing real life issues with data cleanliness, interpretation of results, report writing, version control. All of them complete necessities for real life commercial projects.

創建者 pamandeep s g

2015年11月17日

The course is a good compilation of essential concepts to avoid pitfalls during analysis. Most material is given a short intro only, so a good data science background is needed to appreciate the material presented here.

創建者 Carlos A H

2019年6月30日

Excellent overview of implementing practical data science; however, an area of improvement is emphasizing machine learning as a practical solution for finding answers especially with large and complex data sets.

創建者 JOHN W E

2020年4月29日

Brian is an amazing teacher. He just miniaturized the basics of data science in a week and I could still understand better all the necessities of it, Thank you for making such a course. I highly appreciate it.

創建者 ARVIND K S

2020年6月4日

Exceptional course in conveying a real life situation, vastly different from an ideal one. The course puts you up to speed in handling such situations with aplomb.