Chevron Left
返回到 The Introduction to Quantum Computing

學生對 圣彼得堡国立大学 提供的 The Introduction to Quantum Computing 的評價和反饋

4.3
275 個評分
88 條評論

課程概述

"Quantum Computing" is among those terms that are widely discussed but often poorly understood. The reasons of this state of affairs may be numerous, but possibly the most significant among them is that it is a relatively new scientific area, and it's clear interpretations are not yet widely spread. The main obstacle here is the word "quantum", which refers to quantum mechanics - one of the most counter-intuitive ways to describe our world. But fear not! This is not a course on quantum mechanics. We will gently touch it in the beginning and then leave it apart, concentrating on the mathematical model of quantum computer, generously developed for us by physicists. This doesn't mean that the whole course is mathematics either (however there will be enough of it). We will build a simple working quantum computer with our bare hands, and we will consider some algorithms, designed for bigger quantum computers which are not yet developed. The course material is designed for those computer scientists, engineers and programmers who believe, that there's something else than just HLL programming, that will move our computing power further into infinity. Since the course is introductory, the only prerequisites are complex numbers and linear algebra. These two are required and they have to be enough. Happy learning!...

熱門審閱

HH
2020年5月10日

The course was very insightful. The only problem I faced was that the concepts were not neatly explained, I had to go back in the videos many times to understand. But an amazing course overall.

BP
2020年2月23日

Heavily Packed course..Touched the tip of a huge iceberg named "Beauty of Mathematics" from this course..Thanks to Coursera and the team for this insightful journey of 5 weeks with you.

篩選依據:

1 - The Introduction to Quantum Computing 的 25 個評論(共 88 個)

創建者 Radomil R

2019年5月7日

The guy is bit hard to understand, which coupled with the pace of delivery (slow and monotonous) and his propensity to take figurative detours (i.e. sheep counting in chapter 2, couldn't be more appropriate!) will send you to sleep.

創建者 Oke U

2019年8月21日

VERY disappointing quality course. I've taken many Coursera courses over the past 6 years and was initially eager to start this course, as quantum computing is one of my areas of interest.

However, this is the lowest quality course I've experienced so far. Instructor lacks any presentation energy - seems always tired, and is mumbling at some points, making it hard to understand his explanations. Several times I see him writing/annotating something in the video inset, and yet those annotations DO NOT APPEAR on the slides (main view) so it's very difficult to understand what he's trying to explain.

Finally, the quiz questions seem WAY harder than any material covered by him in the lectures. It's as if he gives students just very general information in the slides, and then throws difficult questions out there in the quiz - questions that can *barely* be solved using the information in the slides. The only reason I was able to get through the quizzes is because I have a background in electronic engineering and physics. Those students coming to this course without a physics background may find it very hard/impossible to get through the quizzes based solely upon the material presented in the slides.

Coursera, you've definitely dropped the ball on this one.

Please. You HAVE to do better that this.

創建者 Gordon L W C

2019年6月7日

The course is very informative. But the mathematics is quite hard to follow even for a Physics undergraduate like me. The prerequisite of linear algebra actually means the knowledge of Hubert space and other advanced concepts which I think is quite complex for most non-science students. Also the quiz is quite challenging without the necessary guidance. It sometimes takes me multiple trial to see what is the correct answer. I think it would be much nicer if there are additional resources that we can read on for the harder questions in the quiz.

創建者 Piotr Y

2019年11月11日

The first three weeks are quite interesting ones. Thank you very much to the lecturer for this exciting material. The lessons are well-groomed and I've been able to learn a lot of interesting things during them. However, the next two last weeks are just pure math symbolic manipulations with very tenuous physical sense and very little insight about what is going on. Tests questions are remotely linked to the lecture content and usually about general Mathematical knowledge. All in all I consider this course as a Math refresher and a useful bootstrap module which allows to gently read and understand more advanced literature about quantum computing in particular and quantum physics in general.

I'm giving this course only one star because I would quite strongly advice you against this lesson while the material for the last two weeks stays as is. I've passed this course with 99.2% (100% at all the first weeks, 96% at the last one) so this review doesn't come from somebody sad or angry to have failed.

創建者 diemilio

2019年10月15日

Weeks 1, 2 and 3 are a great introduction to Quantum Computing! The instructor covers very clearly all of the subjects related to QC. I wish the background material could be either explained more clearly, or some additional references be provided. The exams during these weeks are difficult, but working through them enhances your understanding of the subject.

Weeks 4 and 5 are a completely different story. Unfortunately, it is as if the instructor completely forgot that the only prerequisites listed for the course were complex numbers, and linear algebra. If you are a slow learner (like I am), you better be prepared to spend at least an additional 10 hours per week searching for additional references to fully understand the material covered. Every topic related to QC the instructor covers extremely well; it is the supporting material and the mathematics needed to understand it that requires extra time. I think that there are other very interesting introductory subjects that could've been discussed (like quantum teleportation and error correction), instead of spending so much time on proofs and formalisms of the algorithms; those could be covered in a more advanced course.

In summary, I recommend this course if you have a good background in classical algorithms and/or math, or are willing to spend the extra time figuring out certain subjects that aren't clearly explained.

創建者 Juan M R

2019年4月30日

This course is mind-blowing and will drop you outside the box.

Course instructor Сысоев Сергей Сергеевич is a Russian, a world-class science man who will show you why the future belongs to quantum computers.

At the start this not make any sense and sound crazy, but there's a point when you understand the fact about how a qubit work, and different between qubit and bit.

After understanding the power of a quantum computer the future just looks so different as before.

This logic of branches and merges of possibilities in a quantum mechanism it is the gate of the gates.Th

If you mix the power of this whit anything, anything, the result is going to be disruptive, like medicine, finance, communications etc.

The humans will reach another state of development once we understand this better.

I will really like to say thanks to Saint Petersburg Uni and Coursera for put this course online.

The effort and quality in this course is extraordinary like audios, videos, examples, and neutral speak

創建者 Martin V

2019年5月10日

I consider the course very interesting from perspective of theoretical mathematics and at the same time practical from perspective of quantum computers programming.

The course is very nicely filling the gap between layman literature on quantum computing and scientific articles, or in other words, it is a "bridge" from amazament by quantum computers and simple knowledge that they exist to possiblity to use them for solving practical problems.

I appreciated "printed" materials which allowed me to follow the instructor's presentation easily. Moreover, the instructor has apparently very good command in English and he explains even very intracate aspects of the quantum computing comprehensibly. It was very important for me because English is not my native language.

創建者 Bhanu P

2020年2月24日

Heavily Packed course..Touched the tip of a huge iceberg named "Beauty of Mathematics" from this course..Thanks to Coursera and the team for this insightful journey of 5 weeks with you.

創建者 Marco G

2019年7月25日

More time should have been spent on explaining the blocks and the algorithms.

創建者 Larry O

2019年9月3日

I disliked this course. It's quantum computing, so "difficult" is to be expected, but the material was made more challenging by the structure and delivery of the lectures. The pacing was frustrating, with some lectures often being too simplistic or digressive and then a sudden rush over important and complex math. The quizzes required some techniques that hadn't been explained (or at least not well-explained) in the lectures, I'm still not sure if I solved them in the "appropriate" way. Only reason I'm giving it two stars and not one is that the technical content is fundamentally solid.

創建者 Faizy

2019年10月18日

Good course for the beginners, who want to dive into the mysterious world of quantum computing.

thankyou coursera & Sergey for his great effort...a big thumbs up

創建者 Henk M

2019年7月28日

Great introduction and very clearly explained

創建者 Learner | V | C

2019年5月8日

A new glance at the universe, thank you!

創建者 Joe L

2019年3月5日

The math is brutal in places, but the course is generally clear, explanations are good, and the instructor is engaging.... could be improved by more time spent on the nature of quantum oracles, a little more review of the math needed

創建者 kasra a

2019年5月19日

It's a really good course. The only problem is that the instructor is not very fluent in english.

創建者 José R T M

2019年9月16日

Hard to undestand and monotonous. The course if just informative, but it requires a lot of background on many topics to be finished.

創建者 Vitor L d O S

2020年3月5日

The professor is a little bit confuse and the course sometimes were structured badly

創建者 Mingcheng D

2020年9月14日

Please re-evaluate what students actually need and want to learn as a newbie!!!!!!

Please be aware that most students are not coming for math but for introductions !!!!!!!

Please elaborate more on a high-level concrete overview/summary on important concepts before deep diving into math !!!!!!!

Please make sure your explanation makes sense not only for yourself but also for more people !!!!!!!!

Please make sure the tests are well covered by the slides and notes, otherwise, share guidance!!!!!!!

Please do not ignore the questions from students !!!!!!!!

Please extend the duration of this course !!!!!!!!!

Please update the prerequisites of this course !!!!!!!

創建者 Thiago C

2020年7月13日

The course has a very interesting topic, however the quizzes are not aligned with the content provided during the video classes. There should be information regarding the pre-requisites at the description of the course informing students of what background knowledge they should have before enrolling to this course.

In overall this course is very demotivating for beginners who are interested in learning more about QC. if the course is designed this way on purpose, then it should not be considered a beginner's level course.

創建者 Abhirami P A

2020年5月17日

it could be delivered a bit more energetically.The way of presentation is very dull and doesnt hook up students into the lecture due to the style of delivery.

創建者 Armando P

2019年8月16日

I'm having a lot of fun. I graduated on physics 25 years ago but I have spent most of my life writing software. This course has given me the opportunity to undust some skills I used to have and, connect the dots between everything done until today ( classical computing ) and this new world that is coming. Now that you understand my motivation, here goes my review: The course is very good, clear, solid. Even for the people who don't have a background a physics. I'm struggling trying to finish the exercises before the deadline, so I think the sense of achievement will be great once done. As the professor said: Be ready to work hard! Thanks to everybody who put time on this initiative!

創建者 Kumar H

2019年12月17日

This course is good from the perspective of topic it cover but need a lot of extra reading even though I have bachelor in theoretical physics and had strong foundation in quantum mechanics and computational science. However, the Russian version is much richer than English version. The quantum computing and quantum engineering is emerging field and there is need of more elaborated course with a recapitulation section of necessary background. But I enjoyed even though I struggled in few section (section 3 and section 4) to grasp the concept and finally within 3 days was able to finish all the requirements with 100% aggregate in all section.

創建者 Vansh J

2020年1月2日

The Course is extremely well-versed and helpful. Initially, I Struggled a bit with the lector's pronunciation but the subtitles and transcripts made it easy. The the questions on the test were difficult, no doubt, but also stimulating. Overall, A resourceful course to enter the World of Quantum computing via proper mathematics rather than emphasising on the eye-catching quantum weirdness.

創建者 Tommaso B

2019年5月26日

Superb course. Loved the maths. Possibly an improvement is to have some coding as well to supplement. The lecturer was very professional although quite frankly I sometimes could not understand what he was saying as missed steps (a lot of the maths was so trivial for him but it's less so for someone who has never seen it). Still, I'd happily give a 5 star :)

創建者 Toon L

2019年12月10日

I like this course. It is a bit steep (Mathematical wise) but it presents the topic and it's most important applications well. Also the reference to a real DIY quantum computer was interesting to see as well. I can recommend this course to everyone who like to prepare for this exciting quantum computing future! Toon Leijtens