Chevron Left
返回到 Python Project: pillow, tesseract, and opencv

學生對 密歇根大学 提供的 Python Project: pillow, tesseract, and opencv 的評價和反饋

4.0
1,722 個評分

課程概述

This course will walk you through a hands-on project suitable for a portfolio. You will be introduced to third-party APIs and will be shown how to manipulate images using the Python imaging library (pillow), how to apply optical character recognition to images to recognize text (tesseract and py-tesseract), and how to identify faces in images using the popular opencv library. By the end of the course you will have worked with three different libraries available for Python 3 to create a real-world data-analysis project. The course is best-suited for learners who have taken the first four courses of the Python 3 Programming Specialization. Learners who already have Python programming skills but want to practice with a hands-on, real-world data-analysis project can also benefit from this course. This is the fifth and final course in the Python 3 Programming Specialization....

熱門審閱

PM

2020年6月23日

This last course is much more challenging than the prior four, but provides a very good launch pad for taking what you've learned and getting you actually using the skills in building Python code.

RF

2021年4月1日

This course gave great insight in how to approach a new library which I believe is one of the most powerful skills a programmer can have. Keep up the great work that you guys have been doing.

篩選依據:

301 - Python Project: pillow, tesseract, and opencv 的 325 個評論(共 430 個)

創建者 Ian M

2020年9月24日

This course was not designed well from a pedagogical standpoint. I learned a ton, which was the main goal, but it was brutal and so tedious that it kind of tainted the Specialization for me. It wasn't because it was difficult -- I appreciated that. It was the fact the instructor literally reads (without inflection or emotion) the lectures to you, as the text scrolls across the screen. It would be better without him reading. I like reading. I hate being read to. (Apologies to my daughter.)

Also, some of the lessons are neat but redundant and don't really build on each other. The two assignments are difficult and challenging, and I LOVED that! The problem was, it took me forever to get through the content, because of the annoying being read to.

If possible, I recommend recreating this. Get rid of the videos. Have brief introduction videos at the start of the modules, and then just let students read through the module Jupyter Notebooks. The reading is horrible!!! It's not necessarily the instructor's fault. I'm not bashing him. It's just bad pedagogy.

Thanks, though, for challenging me. If this had been a cakewalk, I would have given it 1 Star. This course had the most challenging assignments in all of the specialization. That was great.

創建者 İlke G

2022年8月8日

The first four courses in this specialization is great. The last course is aimed to be a big project where we'll put our knowledge to the test, but it failed. This course basically gives you very little knowledge on the mentioned libraries and definitely does not teach you them. The instructor shows you how to use any library, gives very quick examples and shoves you off the tree like a mother bird. I agree that this project is a nice challenge for anyone who has elementary experience in Python and maybe uses other libraries. But this is too early to introduce right after our introductory courses.

I do not recommend this course to anyone. But if you really need it for the specialization complete, I recommend to spend some time on internet to learn these libraries. Get comfortable with them and then enroll the course.

Overall, it is not possible to finish this course but if you didn't use libraries before or if this will be your first big project, it will be frustrating, time-consuming, but doable.

創建者 Ahmed A

2020年9月27日

Now here is the thing, this last course is basically: Here are these third party libraries and their documentations, use them to do this make this program.

On one hand, yes. This is meant to be one last hard test for your Python knowledge. On the Other hand, you do not really learn anything from here. You will find yourself surfing stackoverflow and github.

I mean, I guess this is kind of the point ?...

But It is kind of frustrating and annoying, and after searching the web you end up cutting and pasting most of the code and not writing much, if any, yourself anyways. I can see the point of this course, I really do, But I believe it is in a grave need of redesign.

Please bare in mind that most people end up here mainly for the specialization certificate and kind of expect some sort of reward for their hard work in the previous courses. And there is not enough info here for most people to try and brute-force it on their on, which ends in the inevitable dreaded search -copy - paste Algorithm.

創建者 András B

2022年6月27日

The lectures and labs in this course are informative, but the format could and should have been much better. Some examples for potential improvements include shorter and better structured lectures, quizzes and a few additional short assignments (similarly to other courses in this specialization). The final project was very time-consuming, in such a way that did not make much sense. The task was to guess some parameter settings that lead to a specific pre-defined, but barely acceptable result for face detection. In this case, an improvement could have been to specify a minimum number of faces to be detected in each image for a passing grade (while keeping the number of false positives at 0 or below a certain threshold), and give extra points for further correctly detected faces. Overall, I have learned a lot in this course, but the gain for the time investment could have been larger with a better prepared course.

創建者 Kuan-Chih W

2020年5月28日

This course is challenging, though the specialization is labeled as beginning level. This last course, comparing to the previous four courses in this specialization, is somehow poorly structured and less systematically. The instructor is trying to show students how the real programming world is. But just reading the script from the screen with super fast pace and keeping telling students to read documentation or to look up online on their own is a little irresponsible.

And the submitting / grading mechanism for last project is really poor. I do not know how good I did after receiving the reviewing grades.

However, this course did force me to learn a lot more by exploring the docs and webs.

創建者 RICARDO H R

2020年11月24日

The content of the exercises and labs is nice, labs are challenging enough and they force you to start getting into reading documentation and building your understanding on how to approach programming problems but the videos are usuless, 90% of the videos are the instructor reading exactly what is in the Jupyter Notebbok and nothing elses, feels like a waste of time.

Also to note is that the person in charge of the Discussion Forum only replies to tell people what to or not to ask on the forums instead of helping the students, 90% of his answers tell people to stop asking the same question and he uses his time to tell them that instead of just helping them which I find useless.

創建者 Wayne K

2021年6月23日

I think 3 stars may have been a bit generous. I've now earned 12 certificates in Coursera and this has been my least favourite so far. The instructor was clearly very knowledgable but very little explanation of concepts, or alternative approaches was offered. While final assignment, which covered OCR and Face detection, was very interesting to me personally, it didn't seem to have much to do with the rest of the specialisation and should probably be a standalone course for those interested in digital photography etc.

A big anti-climax to finish off an otherwise excellent specialisation.

創建者 Rich T

2020年11月19日

Much harder course than the other four in the specialization because there isn't really teaching. They tell you how to utilize new libraries and encourage (force) you to find documentation to support your own project/assignment. Prepare to spend much more time than the other classes. Trust me, it's normal to feel helpless at the beginning. I don't know that I am better at Python because of this class, but I can see how some individuals would thrive in this environment.

創建者 Pham M Q

2022年6月1日

The content is not really relevant to the previous 4 courses. Also there is no practice problem like Runestone as they have provided before, and you jump right to the lab assignment which brings a lot of confusion. The tutor is not good as Paul Resnick and Steve Oney, and the assistant staff in the forum just not friendly to support students. Overall still good content and interesting topic on image library, but need a more updated way of delivering knowledge.

創建者 Amit J

2020年3月26日

Though the material covered was good and it worked as applied course for using all the techniques learned in the previous courses of the specialization, the information given was not proper and that required a lot of wasted time on learners side. A special blot was the final project, where even submission and peer review framework was not properly set resulting in a lot of frustration and productivity loss.

創建者 Péter I T

2020年5月10日

The 3-star is because to solve the assignment takes tremendous time due to the slowness of the library/tool. Maybe, the task is not appropriately sized. Also, copying the code is not straight forward due to the different end line characters, so it becomes unreadable at first.

I would expect to be able to work independently in my own environment, quickly and hassle-free submission for the solution.

創建者 Yue C

2020年7月17日

This course is too cheap to buy a submit button in Jupyter Notebook, which means when you submit your assignment, you need to pretty much manually adjust your codes line breaks if you are on a Mac and don't want to spend hours Google about VIM just to submit your assignment. Other than that, it's a decent introduction to some popular Python libraries.

創建者 Jing L

2020年8月22日

This course is not well organized compared with the previous four courses. Students need to check documentations and even search on internet communities for possible solutions. Lecture videos are not very well structured, you need to write the code and check the documentations carefuly in order to figure out why such function is called.

創建者 Yiwen C

2020年8月13日

The assignments are fun to do, but the lecturer isn't great and there are many unnecessary difficulties to the students like invalid files used in the assignment, terrible way to submit the final project, etc. The discussion forum is full of complaint from the students, so hopefully those feedback can be taken seriously.

創建者 Brody E

2020年7月14日

This course makes you figure stuff out on your own, which is important. However, I do think there is a lot of stuff skipped, and I do think there are better methods than what is presented here. All in all, it can angry some to pay for a course where there is little actual teaching/showing what to do.

創建者 Deleted A

2021年10月2日

T​his is a lab, not an academic course. It does not present in-depth knowledge of these modules,. You'll learn as well from other sources, like pyimagesearch.com which has far more explanations on opencv and training models.. Not quite a waste of time, but a dissapointment.

創建者 Raffaele R

2020年4月28日

I personally liked much more other courses of the specialization. There are no intermediate exercises in this one, and I find the instructor not as effective as the previous ones. All in all, it gives a good approximation of what it means to struggle with daily projects.

創建者 Mariana N

2020年6月22日

Not good compared to previous courses in this specialisation. Lots of omissions (such as selecting a library not available for Windows). At least the omissions encouraged us to self-educate more in order to fix the errors, but that's not how a course should be taught.

創建者 Sohaib Z

2020年3月28日

Previous courses of this specialization were best taught.

But in this course the instructor moves forward throughout the course very quickly , It was difficult to move with this pace.

Although from this course we also learn something new but in difficult manner.

創建者 Atul

2020年5月7日

It was difficult not because there is a learning involved. Seems that Image libraries are not documented well. This course could be planned better. May be choice of final project - business application use case along side OCR will make it better.

thanks Atul

創建者 KEERTHIRAJ G

2020年12月30日

please explain deeply and please teach some projects then give project as assignment to students.

we don't have enough knowledge about how to create project and actually how its work.

you give lot of practice exercises easily but give a project like hell.

創建者 James C

2020年10月25日

Very different than previous courses in the specialization. Tooling switched to Jupyter lab and pace increases significantly. Final project is quite challenging with some frustrating tooling issues upon submission of the code.

創建者 Shivam R

2020年7月21日

These course is more difficult with less theory, I think the course should be in a certain increasing level of project , not like only one project with high difficulty. Anyways the instructor is good and really Hard working

創建者 mohammad z

2020年10月30日

I hope to improve the materials of this course to make it cover the the assignments and project questions, where I made more effort to find the solutions by searching in web instead of using the included materials.

創建者 Vincent R

2020年2月17日

I understand the concept of the capstone project but there are too many issues outside of the course itself (setting Jupyter notebook, submitting project) to make it really enjoyable for a beginner